Work Area: Trademark law

Latest content

Madrid Protocol – recent developments and practice tips

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

The Madrid System, which is administered by the WIPO, is a cost-effective option for trademark owners who want to obtain trademark rights in many important commercial jurisdictions quickly and efficiently by securing an international registration in accordance with the provisions of the Madrid Protocol (which all Madrid members have now joined) and the provisions of the Madrid Agreement.

29 July 2021

Greece

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

Greece’s long-anticipated new trademark law was enacted on 20 March 2020. Law 4679/2020 has finally transposed EU Directive 2015/2436 into Greek law and brings the treatment of national trademarks in line with EU trademarks (as regulated by EU Regulation 2017/1001).

29 July 2021

Spain

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

Distinctive signs are principally governed by the Trademark Act (17/2001), which was partially modified by Royal Decree-Law 23/2018 in order to incorporate EU Directive 2015/2436, and it is complemented by Royal Decree 687/2002, which was also modified by Royal Decree 306/2019 in order to adapt to the Trademark Act as amended.

29 July 2021

Israel

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

While the Trademark Ordinance predominantly provides protection for registered trademarks, it also protects unregistered well-known trademarks.

29 July 2021

Our responsibilities beyond intellectual property

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

A resounding call from INTA to our key constituents – our members around the world – has centred on the idea that the role of the trademark practitioner is evolving.

29 July 2021

Opposition – an underestimated weapon

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

In the context of protecting trademark rights, an opposition is an underestimated tool to stop infringing activities from the beginning – even before infringing products and services appear on the market.

29 July 2021

Poland

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

Poland’s legal regime of national trademark rights is regulated mainly by the Industrial Property Law (30 June 2000).

29 July 2021

Japan

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

The Trademark Act and its related regulations govern the registration and protection of trademarks in Japan.

29 July 2021

Protection of titles under copyright law and trademark law

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

“A title is designed to catch the eye and to promote the value of the underlying work” (Mattel Inc v MCA Records Inc, 296 F.3d 894 (9th Cir 2002)).

29 July 2021

China

Featured in World Trademark Review Yearbook: A global guide for practitioners 2021/2022

Different legal provisions have different requirements for the extent of use to establish unregistered trademarks.

29 July 2021

Get unlimited access to all WTR content