Trademark law

USPTO protest letter passes 80 signatories; KIPO face mask warning; Inter Milan scores win – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the Benelux IP Office adding its trademark image data to the EUIPO’s TMview platform, Greece being identified as a transit point for counterfeit cosmetics, and much more.

USPTO protest letter passes 80 signatories; KIPO face mask warning; Inter Milan scores win – news digest
10 Feb 2020

Searching industrial designs: how AI is changing the game

In this guest post, Dr Robert Stutz, partner at Beutler Künzi Stutz, explores how AI technology is powering new ways to search industrial designs faster, more effectively, and at a lower cost.

6 Feb 2020

EU countries criticised for diverging IP policies in latest US Chamber of Commerce IP Index

The index appraises the global IP environment, with the US regime regarded as the gold standard, providing insight into the fracture lines that exist between EU and US policy, as well as current sentiment towards China’s trade efforts.

Latest

View all
16 Feb 2020

WIPO director general race exclusive, USPTO email backlash, WTR 1000 2020 revealed, and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

9 Feb 2020

Corona beer-coronavirus mix-up, David Gooder announced USPTO commissioner for trademarks, Gleissner launches brand consultancy firm, and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

2 Feb 2020

Corsearch announces brand protection acquisition, SkyKick decision reaction, Michael Gleissner latest, INTA president interview, and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

30 Jan 2020

“Justice has been done” – H&M prevails in long-running two-stripes trademark battle

In what could be the end of the oldest pending two-stripes legal case in the European Union, H&M has been victorious against adidas in a trademark dispute in the Netherlands, with what one attorney describes as a “far-reaching decision”.  Read more

News

View all
29 Jan 2020

Sky v SkyKick: “sigh of relief” or “sting in the tail”? Legal experts react to CJEU’s long-awaited decision

The Court of Justice of the European Union has handed down its long-awaited decision in Sky v Skykick. WTR speaks with multiple industry experts to get their take on this important decision. Read more

26 Jan 2020

The world’s most valuable brands, Sussex Royal trademark spat, Alibaba reveals IP enforcement data, Brexit uncertainty revealed, and much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

24 Jan 2020

Not blocked – Meghan, Harry and a tale of trademark misreporting

As four more notices of threatened opposition are filed, the trademark activity of Prince Harry and Meghan Markle continues to pique the interest of the mainstream media. What has been particularly troubling is the significant inaccuracies in much of the coverage. Read more

24 Jan 2020

Beanie Babies counterfeit video, ‘Amazon Pharmacy’ filing, crowdfunding trademark litigation: news digest

 In our latest news digest, we look at the USPTO welcoming new members to the TPAC, Gowling WLG expanding its trademark offering in China, consumer cynicism over environmental claims, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
23 Jan 2020

A third of companies admit uncertainty over post-Brexit trademark strategy

A new study has revealed that a third of UK and European businesses remain uncertain of what their trademark registration strategy will be after the UK leaves the European Union. Read more

21 Jan 2020

“UK will become paradise for free riders”: CJEU referral highlights potential Brexit IP schism

Four questions have been referred to the CJEU which could lead to a landmark judgement on a trademark owners’ rights to stop resales. The decision may further enlarge the gulf between the UK and the EU's position on exhaustion post-Brexit. Read more

16 Jan 2020

How the amicus briefs could sway the US Supreme Court in anticipated ‘booking.com’ ruling

Three amicus curiae briefs have been delivered to the US Supreme Court ahead of its long-anticipated ruling in USPTO v Booking.com. WTR spoke to two experts to see how these briefs may influence the United States' highest court. Read more

10 Jan 2020

New law on trademarks and GIs brings important changes

Bulgaria's new law on trademarks and geographical indications entered into force on 17 December 2019. It brings significant changes to certain aspects of substantive and procedural law, including new absolute and relative grounds for refusal and cancellation. Read more

Research

View all
10 Aug 2018

Food delivery marks on the rise, as Starbucks leads the way in restaurant brand filings: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report we look at the food service industry. We reveal that Starbucks has the most robust trademark portfolio in the industry, the rise in 'food delivery' applications, and more. Read more

29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

17 Mar 2018

Argentina’s emergency trademark law amendments and reassuring filing figures; exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review examines the IP profile of Argentina, exploring the potential impact of the new emergency decree on trademark law, while providing a thorough breakdown on filings at the Argentine register. Read more

8 Jan 2018

More information about Gleissner trademark activity emerges as business owner voices frustration

Business owners have spoken to World Trademark Review about their anger and confusion over the mysterious trademark activity of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner.  Read more

Insight

View all
26 Dec 2019

EU regulations smooth the way for FMCG labelling rules

The publication of the EU Regulation on the Provision of Food Information to Consumers has created a bridge between EU labelling rules and the introduction of new obligations to meet the growing demands of the most discerning customers of fast-moving consumer goods. Read more

30 Sep 2019

ECJ case law displays nuanced understanding of comparative advertising

A case from the European Court of Justice offers invaluable guidance for what is acceptable in comparative advertising, especially when it comes to comparing the prices of goods sold in different types and sizes of outlet. Read more

30 Sep 2019

China's Anti-unfair Competition Law: cracking down on malicious infringement in advertising

Recent amendments to China’s Anti-unfair Competition Law have seen legal compensation rise from Rmb3 million to Rmb5 million, which goes some way to addressing the significant cost of stopping infringement. Read more

30 Sep 2019

Building an effective enforcement strategy to fight unfair competition in advertising

In the fight against unfair marketing practices, businesses operating in Russia would be well advised to understand the correlation between unfair advertising and unfair competition and to take account of the relevant legal provisions so as to build up an effective enforcement strategy. Read more

Find an expert

Christian Thomae
Head of Trademarks
Mexico City, Mexico
Dumont