Technology

Amazon overtakes Microsoft to top intangible value ranking; research calls for “revolution” in accounting

Amazon.com has overtaken Microsoft as the company boasting the highest level of intangible value. However, the picture is different when only disclosed intangible value is considered.

Amazon overtakes Microsoft to top intangible value ranking; research calls for “revolution” in accounting
16 Oct 2018

Louis Vuitton takedown spree, Poundland relaunches Twin Peaks bar, and a proposal for next round of ‘.brand’ TLDs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Malaysian minister promoting the Madrid Protocol, food conglomerates moving to revamp their portfolios, and more.

12 Oct 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more.

Latest

View all
9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more. Read more

9 Oct 2018

Success for Puma: General Court orders Board of Appeal to re-assess degree of reputation of PUMA marks

In Puma SE v EUIPO, the EU General Court has provided useful guidance on the scope of protection of marks with an exceptionally high reputation. Read more

8 Oct 2018

Korean brands under scrutiny as antitrust watchdog turns attention to trademark revenues

South Korea’s Fair Trade Commission has revealed that the “trademark usage fees” of the country’s largest chaebols (conglomerates) exceeded W1 trillion ($884.5 million) last year – the first time that monetary barrier has been broken.  Read more

2 Oct 2018

“The INPI facilitates the life of companies” – exclusive interview with new director general of French IP office

Pascal Faure, the new director general of INPI, reveals his immediate priorities in the role, including the introduction of new measures that will “strengthen the examination of trademarks” in France. Read more

News

View all
21 Sep 2018

Deep dive into Apple counterfeit fight, Skripal poison pair trademark, and most valuable UK brands: news round-up

In our latest edition, we look at China and Singapore partnering up for an IP initiative, another trademark scam highlighted, a German court dealing a blow to ICANN, and much more. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more. Read more

1 Jun 2018

USPTO proposes paperless future, law firm inequality and liquid crystal anti-counterfeiting: news round-up

In our latest trademark industry news round-up, we look at a notice of proposed rulemaking from the USPTO, Twitter prevailing in a trademark dispute and research exploring law firm gender inequality. Read more

11 May 2018

NBA star to deliver USPTO event keynote, Frida Kahlo lawsuit, and Google named most loved US brand: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the keynote speaker at the USPTO's National Trademark Expo in July, why Amazon’s Alexa has been named the “biggest challenge for brands since the Internet”, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
21 Sep 2018

Success for Apple as General Court finds certain degree of similarity between APO and APPLE marks

In a victory for Apple Inc, the EU General Court has annulled a decision of the Fourth Board of Appeal of the EUIPO in which the latter had found that the figurative mark APO was not similar to Apple’s earlier marks. Read more

22 Jun 2018

“Successful strategy is rooted in looking forward”: Amazon on protecting the world’s most valuable brand

Exclusive insights from Dana Brown Northcott, Amazon.com’s associate general counsel, intellectual property. Read more

21 Jun 2018

Bitcoin, CNN and Elon Musk under attack: how scammers are stepping up their game

​​​​​​​An investigation from World Trademark Review has explored the evolving tactics of misleading and often malicious websites that pose as articles from well-known news outlets, with common trends including the use of cryptocurrency and Elon Musk to lure in users. Read more

21 Jun 2018

“Ruthlessly prioritise”: trademark management tips from Facebook

Exclusive insights from Kat Johnston, director and associate general counsel, intellectual property, at Facebook Read more

Research

View all
25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more

19 Feb 2018

France’s burgeoning tech sector could overtake UK, but filings remain flat: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, World Trademark Review inspects the trademark landscape in France. We delve into the country’s filing trends and analyse how its leading brands have performed in recent years. Read more

5 Oct 2017

The Gleissner Files: investigation reveals massive scope of entrepreneur’s global trademark and domain portfolio

The vast domain name and trademark portfolio of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner can be revealed following an extensive investigation by World Trademark Review. Read more