Technology

Deep dive into Apple counterfeit fight, Skripal poison pair trademark, and most valuable UK brands: news round-up

In our latest edition, we look at China and Singapore partnering up for an IP initiative, another trademark scam highlighted, a German court dealing a blow to ICANN, and much more.

Deep dive into Apple counterfeit fight, Skripal poison pair trademark, and most valuable UK brands: news round-up
18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more.

22 Jun 2018

“Successful strategy is rooted in looking forward”: Amazon on protecting the world’s most valuable brand

Exclusive insights from Dana Brown Northcott, Amazon.com’s associate general counsel, intellectual property.

Latest

View all
21 Sep 2018

Success for Apple as General Court finds certain degree of similarity between APO and APPLE marks

In a victory for Apple Inc, the EU General Court has annulled a decision of the Fourth Board of Appeal of the EUIPO in which the latter had found that the figurative mark APO was not similar to Apple’s earlier marks. Read more

21 Jun 2018

Bitcoin, CNN and Elon Musk under attack: how scammers are stepping up their game

​​​​​​​An investigation from World Trademark Review has explored the evolving tactics of misleading and often malicious websites that pose as articles from well-known news outlets, with common trends including the use of cryptocurrency and Elon Musk to lure in users. Read more

21 Jun 2018

“Ruthlessly prioritise”: trademark management tips from Facebook

Exclusive insights from Kat Johnston, director and associate general counsel, intellectual property, at Facebook Read more

20 Jun 2018

“Be willing to let go of absolutes”: Microsoft’s Elena M Grimme on the management of marks

An exclusive interview with Elena M Grimme, In-House Counsel of the Year at this year’s WTR Industry Awards. Read more

News

View all
1 Jun 2018

USPTO proposes paperless future, law firm inequality and liquid crystal anti-counterfeiting: news round-up

In our latest trademark industry news round-up, we look at a notice of proposed rulemaking from the USPTO, Twitter prevailing in a trademark dispute and research exploring law firm gender inequality. Read more

11 May 2018

NBA star to deliver USPTO event keynote, Frida Kahlo lawsuit, and Google named most loved US brand: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the keynote speaker at the USPTO's National Trademark Expo in July, why Amazon’s Alexa has been named the “biggest challenge for brands since the Internet”, and much more. Read more

4 May 2018

adidas and Nike revealed as most visible brands on social media platforms

The brand logos which appear the most on Instagram and Twitter have been revealed, with sports brands adidas and Nike leading the pack. The results also reveal which brands are perceived the most positively and negatively, as well as those most targeted by fraudsters. Read more

19 Apr 2018

WTR Industry Awards 2018: the shortlist revealed

The WTR Industry Awards 2018  honour leading trademark teams and individuals across a range of sectors. We reveal the shortlist. Read more

Analysis

View all
16 Jun 2018

"Adapt or die": seven ways the trademark industry could be transformed in the next decade

During a session at this week’s ECTA Annual Conference, experts made some bold – often startling – predictions on where they see the trademark industry in 10 years. While some were unsurprising, such as the rise in AI, there were some very unexpected suggestions. Read more

13 Jun 2018

WTR Industry Award winner profile: Apple

A behind the scenes look at Apple, winner of this year’s WTR Industry Award for Technology and Consumer Electronics Team of the Year. Read more

8 Jun 2018

General Court considers bad-faith claim where parties had previous business relationship

The EU General Court has considered a bad-faith cancellation action in which the parties had entered into certain business negotiations, but had not established clear contractual undertakings with regard to the mark at issue. Read more

4 Jun 2018

When reality and video games collide

The treatment of the borrowing of real-world elements in video games depends on the nature of the underlying rights – creating a complicated environment for rights holders to navigate. Read more

Research

View all
25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more

19 Feb 2018

France’s burgeoning tech sector could overtake UK, but filings remain flat: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, World Trademark Review inspects the trademark landscape in France. We delve into the country’s filing trends and analyse how its leading brands have performed in recent years. Read more

5 Oct 2017

The Gleissner Files: investigation reveals massive scope of entrepreneur’s global trademark and domain portfolio

The vast domain name and trademark portfolio of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner can be revealed following an extensive investigation by World Trademark Review. Read more