Technology

NFTs – the next generation: how cartoon apes could change the face of digital ownership

The Bored Ape Yacht Club has got lawyers scratching their heads over what native intellectual property in the non-fungible token space means for the future of IP rights.

NFTs – the next generation: how cartoon apes could change the face of digital ownership
Microsoft soars as tech brands continue upwards march in latest <em>WTR </em>Brand Elite results
22 Nov 2021

Microsoft soars as tech brands continue upwards march in latest WTR Brand Elite results

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices.

Shell ditches ‘Royal Dutch’; INFORM Consumers Act applauded; EUIPO adjusts attachment pilot – news digest
19 Nov 2021

Shell ditches ‘Royal Dutch’; INFORM Consumers Act applauded; EUIPO adjusts attachment pilot – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Authentic Brands Group buying a UK photography archive, 10 million adverts for counterfeit goods being removed, and much more.

Latest

View all
18 Nov 2021

Enforcement tips from Starbucks; Mastercard recognised for bettering society; judges look to the future – INTA 2021 report

WTR offers more highlights, learnings and observations from the midway point of INTA's 2021 Annual Meeting. Read more

16 Nov 2021

Cleveland Guardians settlement; Nike postpones Travis Scott collaboration; sugary plain packaging called for – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Vans suing Walmart over “poorly made” copycats, Justin Bieber teaming up with Tim Hortons, and much more. Read more

16 Nov 2021

“The change starts with you” – INTA embraces diversity message in 2021 Annual Meeting opening ceremony

The 2021 INTA Annual Meeting kicked off with an inspiring message to delegates on the importance of diversity, equity and inclusion and becoming a brand steward. Read more

12 Nov 2021

Amazon and Weber lawsuit team-up; Tiffany and Supreme collaboration; anti-counterfeiting supporting sustainability – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the South African IP office warning of email issues, a major new e-commerce platform launching in Kenya, and much more. Read more

News

View all
2 Nov 2021

Squid Game streamer dilemma; Meta PCs changes name to Facebook; Walmart and Gap reunite – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at counterfeiting increasing by 56% in the Philippines, WIPO launching a young experts programme, and much more. Read more

29 Oct 2021

Amazon backs INFORM Act; INTA unveils capsule keynotes; Mattel expands Disney licensing – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the UK government launching a consultation on AI and IP, Jessica Simpson regaining control of her self-titled brand, and more. Read more

29 Oct 2021

Who are the world's in-house trademark stars? Not long left to nominate for WTR Industry Awards

There's only a short time left to ensure that the critical work undertaken by corporate trademark professionals is recognised in the 2022 WTR Industry Awards and the next edition of WTR 300.  Read more

27 Oct 2021

Stellar speaker line-ups revealed for upcoming WTR events in Europe and the US

WTR is pleased to unveil the speaker line-up for its upcoming series of one-day events in London, San Francisco, Chicago and New York this December. Read more

Analysis

View all
6 Nov 2021

Demands for corporate environmental action are here to stay, bringing both opportunity and risk

COP26 and efforts to avert a climate change catastrophe have dominated media headlines this week. Greenwashing accusations have also been made, sending a warning to companies. Read more

28 Oct 2021

Energy companies buck the negative trend in the latest WTR Brand Elite results

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices Read more

7 Oct 2021

Online marketplaces in India that should be on counterfeit enforcement radars – part two

Continuing our focus on online marketplaces in India that brand owners should monitor, local experts also reveal common enforcement mistakes and how they can be overcome. Read more

6 Oct 2021

Online marketplaces in India that should be on counterfeit enforcement radars – part one

In the latest instalment identifying the digital marketplaces that brand owners should monitor as part of their global anti-counterfeiting efforts, we head to India. Read more

Research

View all
7 Jul 2021

The China Trademark 50

Tencent owns the largest number of active Chinese trademarks with a portfolio of 37,205 applications. This is nearly 15,000 more than second-place Beijing Jingdong Triple Bai Lu Pick Up of E-commerce Limited. Read more

7 Jul 2021

The US Trademark 50

The owners of the 50 largest US trademark portfolios collectively held 58,811 active assets in 2020. Together these entities filed 5,557 applications over the course of the year, down 4% from the previous year. Read more

7 Jul 2021

The Europe Trademark 50

The top 50 owners of the largest active European trademark portfolios together filed 15% fewer marks last year than they did the year before, dropping from 11,427 applications down to 9,902. Read more

11 Sep 2020

Russia exhibits strong filings growth on the back of changes to its intellectual property system

Back-end work continues to improve the registry and trademark landscape. Subsequently, there has been a noticeable uptick in local brands pushing for the protection of their rights. Read more

Insight

View all
23 Jun 2021

Five core technologies every IP practice can rely on

A rundown of the core technologies keeping the IP practices of WTR’s Global Leaders operating at full pace. Read more

18 Jun 2021

"There's so much more that we can do to help brands": Corsearch and Incopro CEOs on what acquisition means for future offerings

Online brand protection provider Incopro has become the latest in a series of acquisitions by Corsearch. We sat down with CEOs Tobi Hartmann and Simon Baggs to learn more about the deal, including what it means for customers, future tech offerings and brand advocacy work. Read more

23 Apr 2020

Protecting electronics and consumables across the globe

As new technology constantly changes how counterfeiters interact with consumers the global nature of the crime has made it especially challenging for brand owners to track distribution channels. Read more

16 Jan 2020

Online brand protection takeaways: tales from the trenches

Throughout 2019 WTR hosted a number of events that provided practical, strategic brand protection takeaways. Below are some of the key action points and insights. Read more