Technology

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more.

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up
20 Nov 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more.

19 Nov 2018

Netflix tops simplicity ranking as ease of use identified as driver of brand value  

New research has named Netflix as the world's ‘simplest’ brand, with the company leapfrogging Aldi, Google and Lidl to take top spot.

Latest

View all
9 Nov 2018

Rights holders beware: criminal raid action deemed to be act of unfair competition

In a ground-breaking decision, the Turkish Court of Appeals has held that a criminal raid action constituted an act of unfair competition and that the complainant should pay compensation to the defendant for damages incurred due to the raid. Read more

8 Nov 2018

“The role of brand protection is expanding” – technology and security risks causing strategies to evolve

A new study highlights the growing need for brand protection practitioners to work more closely with IT and security departments. Read more

8 Nov 2018

CJEU confirms that categorisation as "colour mark" at time of filing is relevant when assessing validity

The Court of Justice of the European Union has confirmed that the categorisation of a mark as a “colour mark” at the point of filing is relevant when assessing its validity. Read more

5 Nov 2018

 "Close call" involving recurrent online sales triggers minimum contacts, specific jurisdiction

The US Court of Appeals for the First Circuit has confirmed that a foreign company subjected itself to specific personal jurisdiction in a trademark dispute where that company had sizeable continued online sales to US customers. Read more

News

View all
2 Nov 2018

Azerbaijan pledges IP reforms, plain packaging in Singapore, and Ecuador plans mediation center: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the JPO offering a souvenir certificate for long-time rights holders, fashion brands stepping up their tech game, a new director at the Tunisian IP Office, and much more. Read more

30 Oct 2018

Singapore eyes IP litigation fast-track, Samsung hits Galaxy snag, and fake remembrance poppies: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at claims that an Amazon reviewer was banned after calling out a fake product, the US government weighing in an ICANN debate, how applicants are embracing e-filing in China, and much more. Read more

26 Oct 2018

Nepal drafting new IP law, Burberry settles Target dispute, and China working to eradicate trademark hoarding: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a video game legend recalling a controversial trademark dispute from the 1990s, a poll about the perception of plain packaging, a Brexit update, and much more. Read more

19 Oct 2018

Facebook’s WHOIS access woes, DPMA’s IP workshop for refugees, and Santa-Cruz leaves INAPI: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the Croatian president talking up nation branding, Gucci voicing “reluctance” to work with Alibaba and JD.com, brand owners readying themselves for motion marks, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
2 Nov 2018

Brand valuation: deciphering the trends and what it means for businesses

We analyse current brand valuation trends and explain why trademark counsel should pay more attention to the rapidly growing valuation industry. Read more

31 Oct 2018

Meitu afforded well-known trademark protection despite registering loss in association with core mark

China’s Supreme People’s Court has confirmed that the core mark of technology company Meitu should be recognised as well known. The case shows that the nature of the relevant industry may affect the determination of whether a mark is well known. Read more

29 Oct 2018

Amazon TLD moves forward but work remains before ‘.amazon’ becomes a reality

The ICANN board has decided that Amazon’s application for the ‘.amazon’ TLD should be moved from the ‘will not proceed’ designation, paving the way for future delegation of a string that has been in limbo for five years.  Read more

29 Oct 2018

Federal Court: official marks not an absolute defence to infringement in Canada

In Quality Program Services Inc v Canada, the Federal Court of Canada has held that official marks do not insulate their holders from claims by third parties.   Read more

Research

View all
25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more

19 Feb 2018

France’s burgeoning tech sector could overtake UK, but filings remain flat: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, World Trademark Review inspects the trademark landscape in France. We delve into the country’s filing trends and analyse how its leading brands have performed in recent years. Read more

5 Oct 2017

The Gleissner Files: investigation reveals massive scope of entrepreneur’s global trademark and domain portfolio

The vast domain name and trademark portfolio of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner can be revealed following an extensive investigation by World Trademark Review. Read more