Technology

Trump riffs on Game of Thrones (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how a slew of fake Amazon reviews are boosting brands, the Martha Stewart brand selling, KIPO assisting in IP crime enforcement, EU judges getting darknet training, and much more.

Trump riffs on <em>Game of Thrones</em> (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest
16 Apr 2019

Trump rebrand advice, INTA to offer free trademark legal services, and P&G sells two brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO unveiling details of its World IP Day event, the IP Office of the Philippines seeking to amend the country’s IP code, a ranking of most relevant brands, and much more.

12 Apr 2019

Serial trademark filer Ikuhiro Ueda speaks out: “I am the best troll”

Yesterday we reported on notorious trademark filer Ikuhiro Ueda, who has personally filed over 100,000 trademark applications. Today, in an exclusive interview with WTR, Ueda claims his filings are part of an ambitious plan to overhaul the global IP system.

Latest

View all
18 Apr 2019

Latest free-to-view intelligence on protecting brands in the online environment now available

WTR has published the sixth edition of Online Brand Enforcement: Protecting Your Trademarks in the Electronic Environment. Available now, the free-to-view publication offers the latest guidance on brand management best practice. Read more

11 Apr 2019

Video game industry may face digital overhaul, but Nintendo can always call upon Mario

Big Tech has dipped its toes into the industry, posing a risk to traditional manufacturers. We take a deep dive into one of the market’s biggest players, Nintendo, to understand how its brands have helped the company sustain its success. Read more

11 Apr 2019

The Ueda Files: the world’s most prolific trademark filer and a conundrum for brands

An incredibly prolific trademark filer in Japan, Ikuhiro Ueda, is causing headaches for brands, according to experts. In an exclusive investigation from WTR, we reveal the staggering scope of this portfolio-building exercise. Read more

9 Apr 2019

IPONZ fee changes, Estonia new online trademark system, and Game of Thrones at INTA Annual Meeting: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Stella McCartney prevailing in a trademark dispute, Lego being named the United Kingdom’s favourite brand, the Mexican Industrial Property Office announcing a new electronic notification service, and much more. Read more

News

View all
2 Apr 2019

Sudan dissolves Appeal Committee, WIPO AI image search, and most admired Canadian brand: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at energy drink giant Monster issuing a statement as the VPX spat escalates, a Harry Potter trademark being rejected by the USPTO, a victory for Swatch, and much more. Read more

2 Apr 2019

WTR Industry Awards: the 2019 shortlisted teams and individuals unveiled

WTR is pleased to reveal the shortlist for the 2019 WTR Industry Awards. Among the corporate teams featured on this year’s shortlist are those from Audi, Groupon, John Deere, Netflix, Pfizer, Treasury Wine Estates and Under Armour. Read more

28 Mar 2019

Lessons in brand evolution: what will set the winners apart from the losers

This week Apple announced its foray into the credit card market, illustrating how iconic brands can pivot to expand into new offerings. This guest post explores the history of brand evolutions and predicts what the future of branding will look like. Read more

22 Mar 2019

Honeywell drops ‘.brand’, Canada joins Madrid, and IACC cracks down on iOffer: news digest

In our latest news digest, we look at Disney powering up its brand with its 21st Century Fox acquisition, Chinese supermarkets removing fake Starbucks items from shelves, a football club losing a trademark fight, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
5 Apr 2019

How South Africa’s predicted economic upswing will create opportunities for brands and their advisors

The country is seeing increased interest from international entities - particularly from the US; this will likely grow in scale as not only the South African economy develops, but as other emerging markets on the African continent grow.  Read more

5 Apr 2019

“Chinese superstars also dress in replicas” – perspectives from a counterfeiter in China

In a bid to shed light on the mindset of counterfeit sellers, WTR has spoken to a seller of replica goods in China about their background, motivation and strategies, offering a rare insider glimpse into this often shadowy industry.  Read more

1 Apr 2019

General Court emphasises functionality in establishing a “close connection” and similarity

In Xiaomi Inc v EUIPO, Chinese electronics company Xiaomi has claimed a partial win in front of the EU General Court in a case relating to a conflict between two identical figurative trademarks. Read more

29 Mar 2019

Data analysis reveals that top 50 US applicants have significantly decreased filings over past decade

While the volume of applications filed at the USPTO has steadily increased in recent years, the top 50 US applicants are filing fewer trademark applications each year, with a significant decrease visible over a 10-year period. So what is going on? Read more

Research

View all
15 Mar 2019

What Turkey’s domestic economic difficulties mean for brands and their advisers 

Political and economic circumstances have made it difficult for domestic brands to build value, which could prove to be a setback for future growth. However, this could also create opportunities for law firm practitioners. Read more

22 Feb 2019

Time to place your bets? Casino gaming companies dominate EU and US trademark registers

Online gaming has driven significant growth in the gambling industry and key players are capitalising on intellectual property to protect their innovations. Read more

25 Jan 2019

Toy industry shows positive brand growth as companies adapt to reach untapped markets

The toy industry has weathered shifts in the market better than traditional retailers, with brands expanding globally and entering the entertainment space. Read more

25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more