Technology

The evolution of Airbnb’s trademark strategy, and what it means for law firm collaborations

Alica Del Valle, lead counsel for IP, marketing, PR and content at Airbnb, expands on the Silicon Valley company’s fast-changing trademark strategy, what it demands from law firm partners and the creation and protection of its Chinese brand, Aibiying.

The evolution of Airbnb’s trademark strategy, and what it means for law firm collaborations
6 Feb 2019

Apple and Monster named "biggest trademark bullies" but take ranking with pinch of salt

In our latest opinion column, we examine a new list of the biggest “trademark bullies”, which may generate discussion but should be treated with caution.

1 Feb 2019

Super Bowl fakes crackdown, Burger King trolls McDonald’s trademark loss, and Monaco joins TMview: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how Africa lacks anti-counterfeiting tools, how a growing proportion of companies are affected by infringement, Bulgaria bolstering its digital trademark offering, and much more.

Latest

View all
31 Jan 2019

L’Oreal revealed as top filer of EU trademarks in 2018 as applications to EUIPO rise 5%

In an exclusive guest post, Robert Reading from CompuMark reveals the top corporate filers at the EUIPO in 2018 and looks at some of the key trends from the registry in the past 12 months. Read more

29 Jan 2019

The Gleissner Files 2019: brand owners warned as IP office reveals staggering number of trademark applications

A major investigation by WTR can reveal that entrepreneur and serial trademark filer Michael Gleissner has stepped up his IP activity in recent months, with over 100 applications filed so far this year. Read more

25 Jan 2019

Toy industry shows positive brand growth as companies adapt to reach untapped markets

The toy industry has weathered shifts in the market better than traditional retailers, with brands expanding globally and entering the entertainment space. Read more

25 Jan 2019

JPO apologises for data leak, Brunei joins TMview, and Absolut accused of trademark bullying: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the Japan Patent Office apologising after an accidental data leak, a sauce company suing Wendy’s, counterfeit fans reacting to Alibaba’s latest Taobao claims, and more. Read more

News

View all
22 Jan 2019

Amazon named most valuable brand in the world, as streaming giants Netflix and iQiyi see massive growth

Amazon has solidified its position as the world’s most valuable brand in the latest Brand Finance Global 500 report, with Microsoft and Huawei seeing significant year-on-year growth. Read more

14 Jan 2019

Amazon and Toyota CEOs top male-dominated brand ambassador ranking

New study ranks corporate CEOs as brand ambassadors, with Amazon’s Jeff Bezos topping the list. The research highlights the gender disparity that exists at the higher echelons of company management. Read more

4 Jan 2019

Brands warned over legal issues on alleged “scam” gambling platform MysteryBrand

A recently launched gambling website, which uses branded products to promote randomised ‘mystery boxes’, could also be in breach of several laws and should be on the radar of trademark counsel, according to legal experts. Read more

27 Nov 2018

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
23 Jan 2019

General Court finds proper reasons for non-use and saves C=COMMODORE registration

In a rare decision, the EU General Court has found that C=Holdings BV, the owner of the mark C=COMMODORE, had proper reasons for non-use of the mark. Read more

22 Jan 2019

Cracking the bad-faith code: U-LI case provides guidance on establishing bad faith

The decision of the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore in Tan Buck Hai v United U-LI Projects Pte Ltd offers a unique opportunity to understand the kinds of situations which will fall within the ground of bad faith.   Read more

11 Jan 2019

Preliminary injunctions granted against Blablatel Mobile for parallel imports

In a dispute between two mobile phone companies, the EU Trademark Court Number 1 of Alicante has confirmed that importing goods that were originally intended to be marketed outside the European Economic Area without the trademark owner's consent constitutes infringement. Read more

19 Nov 2018

Netflix tops simplicity ranking as ease of use identified as driver of brand value  

New research has named Netflix as the world's ‘simplest’ brand, with the company leapfrogging Aldi, Google and Lidl to take top spot. Read more

Research

View all
25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more

19 Feb 2018

France’s burgeoning tech sector could overtake UK, but filings remain flat: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, World Trademark Review inspects the trademark landscape in France. We delve into the country’s filing trends and analyse how its leading brands have performed in recent years. Read more

5 Oct 2017

The Gleissner Files: investigation reveals massive scope of entrepreneur’s global trademark and domain portfolio

The vast domain name and trademark portfolio of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner can be revealed following an extensive investigation by World Trademark Review. Read more