Sector: Travel & Leisure

Latest content

Why all eyes should be on the US Supreme Court for NCAA v Alston

Late last week, oral arguments were heard at the US Supreme Court in National Collegiate Athletic Association v Alston. Although not focused on intellectual property, the case could throw the spotlight firmly onto the issue of player image rights and payments, making it one to watch.

05 April 2021

General Court considers concept behind TIME

In this dispute involving the marks THE TIME and TIMEHOUSE, the EU General Court rejected the argument that the EUIPO had erred in failing to apply the counteraction theory, under which conceptual differences may counteract visual and phonetic similarities.

01 April 2021

That’s so metal: Ninth Circuit confirms standard of review for finding unclean hands on summary judgment

In a dispute over the use of the mark METAL, the US Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has considered for the first time the standard of review to be applied when a district court concludes that a party has acted with unclean hands.

24 March 2021

Heartfulness creator fails to prove that mark functions as source indicator

The EU General Court has confirmed that Sahaj Marg Spirituality Foundation’s mark HEARTFULNESS - which was created by Sahaj Marg to designate a relaxation and meditation technique - was descriptive and lacked distinctiveness.

23 March 2021

RE:PLAY decision: appointed person confirms that appeal is not a replay of opposition

This decision of the appointed person on appeal from the UKIPO highlights that parties should ensure that they file sufficient evidence in support of their assertions at first instance.

19 March 2021

WTR Brand Elite analysis: February 2021

Featured in Stock market performance

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices.

18 March 2021

Second Circuit: agreement to one is not consent to all

In a case involving the unauthorised use of professional models’ photographs in promotional materials for gentlemen’s clubs, the US Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit has held that the district court had erred in its interpretation of “consent”.

17 March 2021

Virgin brand value spat shows that reputation matters; now is the time for trademark professionals to make themselves part of the discussion

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on a high-profile licensing dispute between Virgin and Brightline, which highlights the growing interest in brand valuations.

13 March 2021

Taylor Swift takes on Evermore Park; Pakistan joins Madrid System; LVMH buys Jay-Z brand – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Danone expanding its brand portfolio, USPTO seeking public feedback on the Trademark Modernisation Act, and much more.

26 February 2021

Reaction to Peloton genericism lawsuit; counterfeits seized in Louisville; Daimler trademark issue – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at ACG lobbying for increased UK consumers protection against counterfeits, Dr. Martens teaming up with the owner of Hello Kitty again, and much more.

23 February 2021

Get unlimited access to all WTR content