Sector: Internet and Online

Latest content

UDRP: the pivotal role of substantial evidence

UDRP complaints should be thoroughly substantiated and not contain bare assertions.

07 November 2023

Online brand protection in 2023: why trademark professionals should participate in our short survey

WTR has launched the 2023 edition of our groundbreaking survey aimed at shedding light on the current state of online IP protection.

03 November 2023

WTR Brand Elite analysis: September 2023

Featured in Stock market performance

The WTR Brand Elite fell seven points in September, hitting its lowest value since 1 January 2023. However, the brands that experienced the biggest drop in value have reason to remain optimistic.

30 October 2023

It's... Rebekah Vardy's (filing) - the Wagatha Christie saga takes a new stage at the UKIPO

Celebrity gossip and intellectual property collided when it emerged that the trademark WAGATHA CHRISTIE had been registered and that WAGATHA was a pending application.

30 October 2023

iPhone battle heads to Brazil Supreme Court; Macy’s metaverse store; Thom Browne v adidas update – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at New Jersey becoming the final US state to relinquish the TACO TUESDAY trademark, Europol hosting an IP Crime Conference, and much more.

27 October 2023

Specialist Chapter: Benelux Sees Surge in Post-Pandemic Trademark Filings

Featured in The Trademark Prosecution Review 2024

Trademark and design filings in the Benelux remained strong throughout the pandemic years, making it more crucial than ever to have a robust understanding of the unified trademark law and how to enforce rights.

27 October 2023

“There is new revenue available”: what to look for when licensing to video game developers

A burgeoning market offers brands an almost cost-free revenue stream and the opportunity to maximise audience reach.

26 October 2023

Starbucks launches pumpkin spice latte NFTs; Ozempic counterfeits rise; Unilever settles dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at X removing the New York Times verification badge without explanation, a Reebok dispute proceeding to trial, and much more.

24 October 2023

Why it is more crucial than ever for corporate trademark departments to promote themselves

As the deadline to nominate for the 2024 WTR Industry Awards approaches, our Saturday opinion column discusses why it is paramount for IP departments to promote themselves as their own brand.

21 October 2023

Winning special trademark use rights is the key to large-scale monetisation of generative AI

In his latest column, Cameron Shackell looks at the potential impact for trademarks when generative AI platforms begin to monetise – and why regulators need to take urgent action.

20 October 2023

Unlock unlimited access to all WTR content