Sector: Food and Beverage

Latest content

Brand protection at the India border: insights and strategies from the front line

In the next edition of our series focusing on brand protection at the borders of various countries, we head to one of the busiest in the world: India.

25 January 2024

General Court scrutinises complementarity of Class 33 goods and Class 35 services

The decision examines the criteria for assessing the similarity between goods and services, providing clarity on a widely-debated issue.

25 January 2024

General Court confirms lack of likelihood of confusion between SNACK marks

The court notably found that the only visual similarity between the signs at issue was the presence of the non-distinctive element ‘snack’.

17 January 2024

Legal Updates you may have missed: the difficulties of proving genuine use of an EU trademark

To complete our series highlighting recent Legal Updates that you may have missed, we look at cases demonstrating the challenges faced by trademark owners seeking to prove genuine use in the European Union.

15 January 2024

Bulls bounce back: mixed success in PIZZA TEXAS BULLS appeal

The High Court found that the hearing officer had made an error of law in invalidation proceedings brought by the National Basketball Association.

15 January 2024

Protected food names are in demand: what do producers need to know?

Clear guidance on the value of protected food and drink name status is vital to ensure businesses have the right amount of protection and are prepared to use it when needed, argues this week’s Saturday opinion.

13 January 2024

Pierre Hermé unsuccessful in opposition against HOUSE OF HERME

Renowned French pastry chef Pierre Hermé failed in his attempt to prevent the registration of HOUSE OF HERME for services in Classes 35 and 43.

12 January 2024

Legal Updates you may have missed: food and beverage success stories

We continue our series highlighting recent Legal Updates that you may have missed by looking at success stories in the food and beverage sector - with three of the four cases reviewed involving GIs for alcoholic beverages.

10 January 2024

BabyMonster prevails over Monster Energy; Superdry sues Man City; Trademark Terminal website for sale – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA seeking responses for its Gender Indicator Study, a retired rugby player facing a trademark opposition, and much more.

09 January 2024

Legal Updates you may have missed: three fails - and one win - for non-traditional trademarks

Each quarter WTR runs a series of pieces highlighting recent Legal Updates that you may have missed. To kick off the latest series, we look at cases where rights holders in various industries have attempted to register or defend their non-traditional trademarks.

08 January 2024

Unlock unlimited access to all WTR content