Search results

Selected filters:

International
Online

Article type

Topic

Sector

1,374 results found for your search

Sort options
20 October 2019

USPTO fees proposals backlash; online brand protection takeaways; Amazon pushes back over anti-counterfeiting criticism; Ethiopia’s counterfeiting hotspots; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

15 October 2019

Alibaba commended, PIPCU needs you, RPMs review update: takeaways from Brand Protection Online Europe

WTR held its inaugural Brand Protection Online Europe in London yesterday, which featured speakers from brands including Alibaba, PayPal, Superdry and Tommy Hilfiger. We share a variety of takeaways from the day.

14 October 2019

No remedy for failure to prove bad faith at time of domain name registration

A recent UDRP decision involving the domain name ‘aizel.com’ highlights the importance of proving bad faith at the time of registration of a domain name, especially when the complainant’s trademark did not yet exist at that time.

09 October 2019

UDRP complaint has more holes than Swiss cheese

A WIPO panel has refused to order the transfer of the domain name ‘solothurn.com’ because the complainants – three entities related to the Swiss city of Solothurn – had failed to establish the first element under the UDRP.

06 October 2019

TGI Fridays exclusive; new Amazon IP initiative; inside the McDonald’s brand portfolio; counterfeiting hotspots; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the last seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

01 October 2019

Enforcement in an era of data privacy and redacted WHOIS

Brand experts offer insight and practical guidance on how to ensure that enforcement efforts are not adversely affected by reduced access to data.

30 September 2019

Trademark owners beware: domain name registration may be justified by previous distribution relationship

A recent UDRP decision concerning the domain name ‘embryolisseusa.com’ is instructive for trademark owners intending to engage distributors for the sale of their goods/services.

29 September 2019

Suspicious specimens headache continues; building the Batman brand; unauthorised Greta Thunberg and Extinction Rebellion applications; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the last seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

27 September 2019

INTA’s Brands Manifesto, Liverpool trademark blow, fighting scammers: news digest 

In our latest news digest, we look at INTA’s release of a Brands Manifesto, the Paraguay IP Office conducting another counterfeit crackdown, fee changes in New Zealand, and much more.

20 September 2019

Air New Zealand’s CEO on controversial application, praise from Peppa Pig and a blow for adidas: news digest 

In our latest news digest, we look at the backlash centred on a SAGA-branded customer brochure, the latest on Air New Zealand’s controversial Kia Ora application, a China IP firm reportedly mulling a sale, and much more.

19 September 2019

Charming Charlie brand set for resurrection with trademarks and data central to strategy  

Last week CJS Holdings won an auction for the Charming Charlie IP portfolio, prevailing with a $1,125,000 bid. The sale, and plans to resurrect the retail brand, offer a number of strategic takeaways for trademark professionals.

19 September 2019

Adultblocks, benchmarking, and second round of gTLDs: brand protection learnings from Foresight 2020

Last week, a seminar was hosted at INTA’s headquarters in New York titled Foresight 2020: State of the Union in the Domain Name Industry. We present takeaways from the event in this exclusive guest post.

18 September 2019

When it comes to counterfeiting, it is time to talk as well as fight

A new report has revealed that almost two-thirds of consumers expect brands to do more to protect them from exposure to counterfeit goods when shopping online. In our latest opinion column we argue that the findings highlight how important it is that companies do not shy away from talking about counterfeits.

17 September 2019

Raiding the raiders, Philippines filings soar and USPTO fees proposal: news digest 

In our first news digest of the week, we look at the rising demand for Chinese trademarks, a swoop on fake Oakland Raiders merchandise, efforts to tackle counterfeit vaping products, the Swiss Parliament’s move to endorse new anti-piracy legislation, and much more.

15 September 2019

Zippo’s approach to enforcement; counterfeiting hotspots in Brazil; creating law firm diversity programmes; WTR Industry Awards nominations window opens; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the last seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.