Search results

Selected filters:

Online
United States of America

Article type

Topic

Sector

194 results found for your search

Sort options
25 June 2019

Amazon top-level domain back in limbo as governments rail against e-commerce giant and ICANN

Amazon’s application for the ‘.amazon’ top-level domain is back on hold after the Colombian government lodged a request for ICANN to reconsider its decision to proceed with the applications. 

21 June 2019

Beto on trademarks, USPTO warned over cyber risk, and 3M puts brakes on opposition: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at Vietnamese IP laws being updated, esports teams seeking out sponsors in Cannes, beauty brands fighting over a make-up mark, an engineer venting over counterfeits, and much more.

19 June 2019

Fraudulent specimens at the USPTO: five takeaways from our investigation – share your experience

Five takeaways from our in-depth investigation into suspicious specimens at the USPTO, and we ask readers to share their experience on the topic and any suggestions to help combat the issue.

18 June 2019

One week in May: research reveals suspicious specimens still rampant at USPTO

The USPTO has introduced numerous steps over the past two years to combat improper specimens on trademark applications. A new investigation from WTR finds that suspicious specimens remain widespread and applicants are evolving their tactics.

13 June 2019

Gab, Parler, Thinkspot: brands warned of IP risks on new anti-censorship social networks

New social media platforms pledging to be “censorship-free” are garnering significant audiences who seek an alternative to Twitter and Facebook. Research from WTR finds that these platforms could be uniquely challenging for rights holders.

07 June 2019

First INTA 2020 reception invite, Tom Brady fumbles trademark application, and Toys “R” Us brand returns: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at highlights from the USPTO’s anti-counterfeiting conference, Alibaba’s plan to use blockchain technology for its IP protection system, and much more.

31 May 2019

Natura attempts to further consolidate Brazilian cosmetic market with a bid for Avon

In this week’s exclusive data analysis, we explore how Natura’s keen understanding of its consumer base, combined with previous acquisitions, has it poised to take on international expansion.

28 May 2019

Why complaints that new gTLD pricing ‘.sucks’ may have been over the top

A recent academic study exploring the need for updated regulation governing domain names in the United States has suggested that, with many brand owners adopting a laid back, wait-and-see approach to registrations, initial complaints surrounding the high costs of the ‘.sucks’ domain name may have been overblown.

17 May 2019

INTA Annual Meeting is a record-breaker, Brexit energy drink denied, and Florida Man trademark spat: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new study that finds 25% of online purchases are for fakes, the EU General Court ruling on a NEYMAR mark, counterfeit containers seized in Malta, tips on making a brand matter, and much more.

16 May 2019

Alibaba issues IP protection report; expands on future plans in exclusive interview

Alibaba has released its IP Protection Annual Report, revealing that it provided 1,624 IP-related leads to law enforcement in 2018. Speaking to WTR, Alibaba Group's Matthew Bassiur reveals some of the company's ambitious future brand protection plans.

10 May 2019

USPTO trials software to tackle fake specimens; downgrades growth expectations

USPTO director Andrei Iancu has expanded on efforts to tackle fake specimens of use on the US trademark register and the unauthorised practice of law, and provided an update on anticipated filings growth.

08 May 2019

“Unprecedented” – USPTO suspends API access but pledges to work with IP service providers to mitigate impact

Earlier this week, the USPTO suspended its TSDR API following a spike in data scraping that has impeded the work of internal employees. However, IP technology vendors have confirmed it will impact some of their services.

07 May 2019

‘.club’ TLD launches new trademark protection offering – with some major caveats

The registry operator of the ‘.club’ TLD has launched a service designed to offer qualified brands and trademark owners “comprehensive” protection in the namespace. However, there are significant caveats and restrictions.

19 April 2019

Trump riffs on <em>Game of Thrones</em> (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how a slew of fake Amazon reviews are boosting brands, the Martha Stewart brand selling, KIPO assisting in IP crime enforcement, EU judges getting darknet training, and much more.

18 April 2019

Federal Circuit clarifies commercial use evidence requirements at USPTO’s request

The court last week made precedential a January 2019 opinion it issued on the type of website specimens required to prove commercial use. The move follows a request by the US Patent and Trademark Office, which argued that it would provide clarity and reduce the chances of future litigation.