Search results

Selected filters:

Law Firms
European Union

Article type

Topic

Sector

18 results found for your search

Sort options
14 June 2019

EUIPO enforcement portal, most cyber-attacked brands, and ACG anti-counterfeiting award winners: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at changes to Canadian registrations occurring next week, Unilever seeing a pay-off from purpose-led brands, brands being reminded to renew marks in Rwanda, and much more.

05 April 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more.

21 February 2019

Why every trademark lawyer should spend time in-house: exclusive interview with Bacardi’s Anna Panka

While legal know-how is critical for law firm practitioners, an understanding of the corporate business environment should not be underestimated. That is the message conveyed by Anna Panka, senior counsel at Bacardi, in an exclusive interview with WTR.

02 October 2018

“The EUIPO should lead on enforcement” – trademark community reacts to Archambeau appointment

National IP offices within the European Union, key trademark associations and leading filing law firms in the EU react to the appointment of Christian Archambeau as the new executive director of the EUIPO.

24 August 2018

A-Z of EU trademark court practice and performance: Netherlands to Slovenia

In the fourth of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the past two years.

07 August 2018

Audi launches anti-counterfeiting campaign, YouTube brand safety fiasco and TMview expands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the expansion of the EUIPO’s TMview search platform, Scotch Whisky attaining GI protection in South Africa, Chinese trademarks continuing rapid growth rate, and much more.

27 February 2018

No Brexit talk between IP offices, Scooby Doo infringement and Syria establishes trademark court: news round-up

In the latest round-up, we look the latest IP case data from Saudi Arabia, the establishment of a trademark court in Syria, and warnings over counterfeit security certificates.

23 February 2018

Brexit update, plain packaging begins in Ireland, and first trademark ruling in Barbados: news round-up

In this round-up edition, we look at the latest Brexit developments from a trademark perspective, Hershey’s hawkish eye over the marijuana industry, and the result from the first ever trademark dispute in Barbados.

08 January 2018

IP organisations team up to push Brexit agenda; transition predicted to take “several years”

​​​​​​​Bodies representing IP solicitors, barristers and chartered trademark and patent attorneys have teamed up to urge the UK government to address key IP concerns related to Brexit urgently. 

05 December 2017

CITMA calls for clarity and action from UK government to protect IP business following Brexit

The Chartered Institute of Trademark Attorneys has published a new report which identifies the impact that Brexit could have on UK businesses and the legal profession in relation to IP rights. 

31 October 2017

As Marks & Clerk battles copycat site, new data uncovers prolific rise of Chinese filers at the UKIPO

World Trademark Review has learned of a prolific filer at the UK Intellectual Property Office, operating under the name Champion Intellectual Property Management, which has copied the website of Marks & Clerk.

10 October 2017

From the EUIPO to the EPO: Campinos elected next president as race to Alicante top spot commences

António Campinos, executive director of the EUIPO, has been elected as the next president of the EPO. He will serve a five-year term from July 1 2018.

23 March 2016

Farewell OHIM, hello EUIPO: the European Intellectual Property Office opens for business

Yesterday OHIM closed its doors, to allow time for staff to install the necessary system upgrades to adapt the website and its online application tools in light of the requirements of EU Regulation 2015/2424. Today the office re-opened for business, albeit with a new identity.

03 March 2016

Preparing for change: the implications of the EU trademark package

With the first changes due to take effect in less than three weeks, in the latest episode of the World Trademark Review podcast we talk to a range of industry experts on what counsel should be doing now to prepare for the new EU trademark regime.

08 January 2016

The European trademark package: what’s changing; when and how to prepare

For many in the trademark world, a late edition to the holiday season reading list was delivered in late December with publication of the new trademark regulation in the Official Journal of the European Union. The amending regulation will enter into force on March 23 2016. Time, then, for a round-up of some of the notable upcoming changes and what counsel should be doing now.