Search results

Selected filters:

Law Firms
European Union

Article type

Topic

Sector

22 results found for your search

Sort options
09 August 2019

Five counterfeit hotspots that you must be aware of in Cyprus

In the latest edition of our new series into fake goods around the world, we head to the beautiful Mediterranean island of Cyprus and focus on the counterfeit hotspots that rights holders should have on their enforcement radars.

29 July 2019

The top filers and a vision for the future: inside EUIPO operations

Less than a year into Christian Archambeau’s tenure as executive director, the EUIPO is laying the groundwork for future expansion. World Trademark Review’s annual focus on the office assesses current operations, reveals the most proactive filers and explores how the agency is taking a global view of trademarks.

08 July 2019

UK trademark attorney salaries continue to rise despite Brexit uncertainty

Research reveals that base salaries have risen across the board for UK IP roles. The news will be positively received by those toiling in the trademark trenches while bracing themselves for the possible negative economic impact of Brexit. 

28 June 2019

Cannabis counterfeits; the campus consequence of <em>Brunetti</em>; and Anheuser-Busch eyes esports market: news digest 

In our latest news round-up, we look at how Alibaba is seeking increased brand engagement, Anheuser-Busch making a play for the esports industry, a USPTO call for comments, Albania’s accession to the Geneva Act and much more.

14 June 2019

EUIPO enforcement portal, most cyber-attacked brands, and ACG anti-counterfeiting award winners: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at changes to Canadian registrations occurring next week, Unilever seeing a pay-off from purpose-led brands, brands being reminded to renew marks in Rwanda, and much more.

05 April 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more.

21 February 2019

Why every trademark lawyer should spend time in-house: exclusive interview with Bacardi’s Anna Panka

While legal know-how is critical for law firm practitioners, an understanding of the corporate business environment should not be underestimated. That is the message conveyed by Anna Panka, senior counsel at Bacardi, in an exclusive interview with WTR.

02 October 2018

“The EUIPO should lead on enforcement” – trademark community reacts to Archambeau appointment

National IP offices within the European Union, key trademark associations and leading filing law firms in the EU react to the appointment of Christian Archambeau as the new executive director of the EUIPO.

24 August 2018

A-Z of EU trademark court practice and performance: Netherlands to Slovenia

In the fourth of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the past two years.

07 August 2018

Audi launches anti-counterfeiting campaign, YouTube brand safety fiasco and TMview expands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the expansion of the EUIPO’s TMview search platform, Scotch Whisky attaining GI protection in South Africa, Chinese trademarks continuing rapid growth rate, and much more.

27 February 2018

No Brexit talk between IP offices, Scooby Doo infringement and Syria establishes trademark court: news round-up

In the latest round-up, we look the latest IP case data from Saudi Arabia, the establishment of a trademark court in Syria, and warnings over counterfeit security certificates.

23 February 2018

Brexit update, plain packaging begins in Ireland, and first trademark ruling in Barbados: news round-up

In this round-up edition, we look at the latest Brexit developments from a trademark perspective, Hershey’s hawkish eye over the marijuana industry, and the result from the first ever trademark dispute in Barbados.

08 January 2018

IP organisations team up to push Brexit agenda; transition predicted to take “several years”

​​​​​​​Bodies representing IP solicitors, barristers and chartered trademark and patent attorneys have teamed up to urge the UK government to address key IP concerns related to Brexit urgently. 

05 December 2017

CITMA calls for clarity and action from UK government to protect IP business following Brexit

The Chartered Institute of Trademark Attorneys has published a new report which identifies the impact that Brexit could have on UK businesses and the legal profession in relation to IP rights. 

31 October 2017

As Marks & Clerk battles copycat site, new data uncovers prolific rise of Chinese filers at the UKIPO

World Trademark Review has learned of a prolific filer at the UK Intellectual Property Office, operating under the name Champion Intellectual Property Management, which has copied the website of Marks & Clerk.