Search results

Selected filters:

IP Offices

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

970 results found for your search

Sort options
16 January 2019

What the UK government’s Brexit deal defeat means for trademark owners

The UK government suffered a catastrophic defeat on Tuesday night after the House of Commons firmly rejected its Brexit deal. We take a look at what the result means for trademark owners, including a claim that rights holders are “back at square one".

11 January 2019

MysteryBrand denies selling fakes, T-ara dispute concludes, and Slovakia IPO ditches fax: news digest

In our latest news digest, we look at the USPTO hiring a deputy general counsel, how domain name management is “just as important” as brand protection, the Paraguay IPO pledging more counterfeit enforcement in 2019, and much more.

08 January 2019

Sweden allows hologram marks, Plain packaging design gets thumbs up, and Dyson fakes seized: news digest

In our latest news digest, we look at the US Supreme Court confirming that it will rule on scandalous trademarks, a retailer called Pooey Puitton going up against Louis Vuitton, IP Australia joining TMclass, and much more.

07 January 2019

Reports of PIPCU’s demise greatly exaggerated as UKIPO commits to future funding

Over the weekend, a national media outlet reported that plans to fund the City of London Police’s Intellectual Property Crime Unit beyond June 2019 have “fallen through”. However, WTR can reveal that the unit is planning for the future.

04 January 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019.

02 January 2019

Brexit in focus: end-of-year review from the UKIPO

While Brexit has been the primary focus of many practitioners in the United Kingdom, the UK Intellectual Property Office witnessed various other changes and developments in 2018.

31 December 2018

Weeding out trademark infringers

For years the marijuana industry was an underground business, posing little threat to trademarks. But the recent ‘green explosion’ means that trademark owners must enforce their rights or risk their reputations.

28 December 2018

IP India report reveals that Trademarks Registry has more work to do

The Trademarks Registry has made substantial progress to clear the backlog of opposition cases. Nevertheless, with fierce competition among emerging economies, there is more to be done.

27 December 2018

Mexican trademark registrations under Madrid System – convenient solution, but no guarantee

The Madrid System can be used as a simple solution for registering trademarks worldwide. However, it does not guarantee that a trademark will be accepted in all designated countries.

25 December 2018

A call for change – trademark protection in Italy looks set to transform

There is a need for change in Italy’s IP sector thanks to attempts to harmonise the national trademark regulations of EU member states and the global increase in technological innovation and online activity.

24 December 2018

New court decisions provide fresh wisdom on trademarks in Russia

Three recent cases look set to shake up trademark practice in Russia and could well have an impact for years to come – especially when it comes to parallel imports and the territorial principles of trademark protection.

19 December 2018

An anniversary, a reshuffle and an EU directive: evolution and change in Sweden

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the relocation of the design and trademark department, the Swedish Patent and Registration Office looks back on a busy year.

18 December 2018

Building on success: IPONZ 2018 in review

Already a leader in terms of online offerings, the IP Office of New Zealand is now seeking to maximise business IP awareness in order to allow companies to make the most of their intellectual property.

14 December 2018

A small step and a giant leap for the Latvian Patent Office

Over the past year, creating a new legislative reality and increasing quality have been core focuses for the Latvian Patent Office.

14 December 2018

WHOIS going dark, Brexit uncertainty and Amazon rising: our 2018 most-read list

Taking a look back at the stories which received the most reads over the past 12 months, our top 20 list serves as a reminder of the big challenges trademark counsel faced in 2018.