Search results

Selected filters:

Government/Policy
Research

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

Year

21 results found for your search

Sort options
15 February 2019

Ireland’s strong domestic market and exports boost GDP, but are brands ready for Brexit?

We analyse the Irish trademark landscape to see if brands are prepared for the planned Brexit exit day in just over a month, and how this market has developed over the past decade.

04 January 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019.

26 June 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future.

03 June 2018

Japan’s filing trends are distorted by a single applicant, while brands plummet in value: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, we highlight Japan’s unusual distribution of applications by trademark class, analyse the volatile values of the leading Japanese brands, and much more.

06 May 2018

UK trademark scene post-Brexit: a world-class IP office dealing with uncertainty in a volatile brand environment

We provide a breakdown of the UK trademark market – examining how Brexit has affected filing strategies, inspecting brand value trends, and analysing the stellar performance of the UK IP Office.

20 April 2018

With a fast-improving IP office and flourishing brands, Italy’s outlook is bright: exclusive data analysis

Our latest country data report focuses on the branding landscape of Italy. We explore key filing data and the performance of the leading Italian brands, revealing that their total brand value has increased at a quicker rate than that of the top global players.

11 April 2018

Customs concerns: counsel identify significant room for improvement in India, Iran and Turkey

Trademark counsel have had their say on the efficiency of customs authorities across the globe – with some of the largest importers of counterfeit goods giving cause for continued concern.

06 April 2018

Trademark offices prepare for the future as users give poor performance grades

The performance levels of the Chinese, Brazilian and Indian trademark offices have clear room for improvement but change could be afoot.

09 February 2018

Healthcare market robust – brands prosper while Chinese filings dominate: exclusive data analysis

In our latest industry data report, we explore the thriving and evolving healthcare industry. Our in-depth analysis reveals the trends driving this evolution, while also analysing key trademark filing statistics in this space.

02 February 2018

Brazil on the rebound – service sector thrives, trademark backlog falls: exclusive data analysis

In our latest country data report, we identify the best performing brands in Brazil and review recent filing data to assess the health of the trademark landscape.

08 January 2018

More information about Gleissner trademark activity emerges as business owner voices frustration

Business owners have spoken to World Trademark Review about their anger and confusion over the mysterious trademark activity of entrepreneur Michael Gleissner. 

17 November 2017

Germany’s hearty trademark scene and stunning courtroom win rates: exclusive data analysis

The latest country data report focuses on Germany. We reveal the European powerhouse’s leading sectors and explain how the country’s robust brands have continued to surge in value.

10 November 2017

Major disruptions in the insurance sector and how brand strategies must evolve: exclusive data analysis

We look at trademark trends in the insurance sector, which is undergoing an incipient transformation that could present significant risks and opportunities for brands.

03 November 2017

Russia’s trademark landscape buoyant despite economic and political woes: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report we turn our attention to Russia, analysing key filing statistics and how its brands have fared against the backdrop of a troubled economy and increasingly tense political climate.

27 October 2017

Tobacco industry’s revolution – thriving brands, new products and shifting markets: exclusive data analysis

In this industry report, we shine a light on trends in the tobacco sector, reviewing the performance of the top brands in the field and analysing the broader trademark landscape in which they operate.