Search results

Selected filters:

Portfolio Management
News

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

Year

270 results found for your search

Sort options
24 June 2019

BREAKING: Ban on the registration of “immoral or scandalous” trademarks struck down by US Supreme Court

The US Supreme Court has handed down its highly anticipated ruling in Iancu v Brunetti, holding that The Lanham Act’s prohibition on the registration of “immoral [or] scandalous” trademarks violates the First Amendment.

19 June 2019

Fraudulent specimens at the USPTO: five takeaways from our investigation – share your experience

Five takeaways from our in-depth investigation into suspicious specimens at the USPTO, and we ask readers to share their experience on the topic and any suggestions to help combat the issue.

08 June 2019

Esports: an untapped market for both brands and law firms

The industry is still in its early days, but it is growing by leaps and bounds. Brands such as Coca-Cola and Champion have already jumped into the ring to capitalise on this marketing opportunity, but teams need help getting their portfolios up to scratch to better grow their businesses.

07 June 2019

First INTA 2020 reception invite, Tom Brady fumbles trademark application, and Toys “R” Us brand returns: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at highlights from the USPTO’s anti-counterfeiting conference, Alibaba’s plan to use blockchain technology for its IP protection system, and much more.

22 May 2019

“Consolidation is powerful” – no slowdown in takeovers expected in IP service providers sector

The non-legal trademark services industry has been the focus of increased investment and M&A activity in recent years. WTR spoke to a number of major players to ask whether they expected consolidation or collaboration to be the norm in future.

19 May 2019

What brands need to know about the trademark activity of Michael Gleissner

WTR has reported extensively on the massive trademark filing operation of multimillionaire businessman Michael Gleissner. For those not fully aware of this activity, we have put together an infographic that illustrates the potential impact for brands.

07 May 2019

E-sports influencers, first GI registration in Cambodia, and ICANN phishing campaign: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at a study on fakes being sold around Mother’s Day, CompuMark and WebTMS partnering up, Louis Vuitton seeking legal action against a Chinese entity, and much more.

30 April 2019

Copycat wine corked, Dettol most trusted brand, and Lego gang knocked out: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at China hitting back at IP criticism, USPTO revealing cryprocurrency-related trademark applications, Alibaba settling a counterfeits case, and much more.

26 April 2019

Trademark Premier League: Manchester United crowned 2019 champions, as Messi pulls ahead of Neymar

With today’s World Intellectual Property Day celebrating the importance of IP in sports, research conducted by WTR finds that Manchester United has the most significant trademark portfolio of any global football club. 

19 April 2019

Trump riffs on <em>Game of Thrones</em> (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how a slew of fake Amazon reviews are boosting brands, the Martha Stewart brand selling, KIPO assisting in IP crime enforcement, EU judges getting darknet training, and much more.

10 April 2019

Exclusive: new details emerge of proposed Trademarkia and LegalForce sale, as founder eyes exit

Trademarkia founder Raj Abhyanker has written to the shareholders of Trademarkia and LegalForce Inc to confirm his intention to exit from the entities and provide more detail on the prospective sale.

08 April 2019

Speculation mounts over USPTO special cannabis unit as practitioners vent anger over examination delays (updated)

A number of US law firm practitioners have contacted WTR in recent days to highlight the apparent existence of, in the words of one attorney, “a ‘specialised’ group of examiners assigned to handle cannabidiol and cannabis-related trademark filings”.

01 April 2019

Trump defeats Gleissner in trademark case; UKIPO warns activity risks bringing entire system into disrepute

A trademark for the term TRUMP TV, owned by “infamous trademark troll” Michael Gleissner, has been rejected. As part of the case, the comptroller general of the UK registry decried Gleissner’s “gaming” of the trademark system.

28 March 2019

Lessons in brand evolution: what will set the winners apart from the losers

This week Apple announced its foray into the credit card market, illustrating how iconic brands can pivot to expand into new offerings. This guest post explores the history of brand evolutions and predicts what the future of branding will look like.