Search results

Selected filters:

Online
United States of America

Article type

Topic

Sector

216 results found for your search

Sort options
29 July 2019

Practical strategies for managing luxury brands

A group of senior trademark and brand professionals recently convened in New York to discuss strategies for protecting, enforcing and monetising fashion and luxury brands. This special report details some of the key points and presents essential takeaways.

05 July 2019

New JPO commissioner, USPTO updates scandalous guidelines, and Kardashian copycat lawsuit: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at IP Australia announcing examination delays, the Portuguese registry updating its fees, the Crips street gang apologising for a trademark dispute, and much more.

02 July 2019

Singapore plain packaging date, USPTO vulgar application rush, and MyTaxi rebrand confuses users: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the Lazada Group joining Alibaba’s IP protection platform, UKIPO granting its first multimedia mark, new Benelux director general begins, and much more.

28 June 2019

Cannabis counterfeits; the campus consequence of <em>Brunetti</em>; and Anheuser-Busch eyes esports market: news digest 

In our latest news round-up, we look at how Alibaba is seeking increased brand engagement, Anheuser-Busch making a play for the esports industry, a USPTO call for comments, Albania’s accession to the Geneva Act and much more.

27 June 2019

Amazon and Nite Ize team up to fight fakes; filing offers glimpse into anti-counterfeiting efforts

Amazon, in collaboration with Denver-based company Nite Ize, has filed a lawsuit against counterfeit product importers and sellers operating in the United States, Canada and China. The lawsuit offers some behind-the-scenes insight into Amazon’s efforts to tackle fake goods on its platforms.

26 June 2019

Brands warned of counterfeit apps on Google Play; academic finds trademark protection of little help

A major new study has discovered nearly 50,000 potentially copycat apps on the Google Play store, with 2,000 deemed high-risk. However, the academic behind the study tells WTR that trademark protection is of limited help to combat such a widespread issue.

25 June 2019

Amazon TLD back in limbo as governments rail against e-commerce giant and ICANN

Amazon’s application for the ‘.amazon’ TLD is back on hold after the Colombian government lodged a request for ICANN to reconsider its decision to proceed with the applications. 

21 June 2019

Beto on trademarks, USPTO warned over cyber risk, and 3M puts brakes on opposition: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at Vietnamese IP laws being updated, esports teams seeking out sponsors in Cannes, beauty brands fighting over a make-up mark, an engineer venting over counterfeits, and much more.

19 June 2019

Fraudulent specimens at the USPTO: five takeaways from our investigation – share your experience

Five takeaways from our in-depth investigation into suspicious specimens at the USPTO, and we ask readers to share their experience on the topic and any suggestions to help combat the issue.

18 June 2019

One week in May: research reveals suspicious specimens still rampant at USPTO

The USPTO has introduced numerous steps over the past two years to combat improper specimens on trademark applications. A new investigation from WTR finds that suspicious specimens remain widespread and applicants are evolving their tactics.

13 June 2019

Gab, Parler, Thinkspot: brands warned of IP risks on new anti-censorship social networks

New social media platforms pledging to be “censorship-free” are garnering significant audiences who seek an alternative to Twitter and Facebook. Research from WTR finds that these platforms could be uniquely challenging for rights holders.

07 June 2019

First INTA 2020 reception invite, Tom Brady fumbles trademark application, and Toys “R” Us brand returns: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at highlights from the USPTO’s anti-counterfeiting conference, Alibaba’s plan to use blockchain technology for its IP protection system, and much more.

31 May 2019

Natura attempts to further consolidate Brazilian cosmetic market with a bid for Avon

In this week’s exclusive data analysis, we explore how Natura’s keen understanding of its consumer base, combined with previous acquisitions, has it poised to take on international expansion.

28 May 2019

Why complaints that new gTLD pricing ‘.sucks’ may have been over the top

A recent academic study exploring the need for updated regulation governing domain names in the United States has suggested that, with many brand owners adopting a laid back, wait-and-see approach to registrations, initial complaints surrounding the high costs of the ‘.sucks’ domain name may have been overblown.

17 May 2019

INTA Annual Meeting is a record-breaker, Brexit energy drink denied, and Florida Man trademark spat: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new study that finds 25% of online purchases are for fakes, the EU General Court ruling on a NEYMAR mark, counterfeit containers seized in Malta, tips on making a brand matter, and much more.