Search results

Selected filters:

Asia-Pacific
IP Offices

Article type

Topic

Sector

Jurisdictions

274 results found for your search

Sort options
23 November 2018

IPOPHL celebrates record haul, Rospatent promotes benefits of GIs, and emoji-tions run high in China: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at $7 million worth of counterfeit condoms being seized in China, Canada Goose opening an additional office in Beijing, and much more.

20 November 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more.

07 November 2018

Compulsory conundrum: debate surrounds mandatory mediation for IP disputes

The introduction of mandatory mediation in Greece has faced criticism which eventually led to its suspension; a move that has left question marks over whether wider adoption of such a model is viable.

06 November 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more.

02 November 2018

Azerbaijan pledges IP reforms, plain packaging in Singapore, and Ecuador plans mediation center: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the JPO offering a souvenir certificate for long-time rights holders, fashion brands stepping up their tech game, a new director at the Tunisian IP Office, and much more.

02 November 2018

Development of e-filing in Thailand: benefits of new system explained

Earlier this year Thailand’s Department of Intellectual Property launched a new e-filing system for trademark, patent, design and copyright applications. This update reviews the benefits of using the new e-filing system.

31 October 2018

Clarivate Analytics snaps up TrademarkVision as new research offerings eyed

While the move is fundamentally a trademark industry acquisition, the move could also open up access to new industries and customers.

29 October 2018

India: the dawning of a new day

The Indian trademark office has made significant strides in improving its operations, efficiencies and digital efforts over the past 18 months. We look at how these could shape trademark protection in India in the coming years.

26 October 2018

Nepal drafting new IP law, Burberry settles Target dispute, and China working to eradicate trademark hoarding: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a video game legend recalling a controversial trademark dispute from the 1990s, a poll about the perception of plain packaging, a Brexit update, and much more.

22 October 2018

On the up Down Under – IP Australia lays out ambitious trademark plans

A senior representative from IP Australia reveals to WTR that the office is “exploring emerging technology solutions such as APIs” to ensure it is at the cutting edge of innovation in the years ahead. 

12 October 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more.

02 October 2018

Philippines IP Office to begin mandatory mediation, Donuts adds rights protection feature, and KFC versus KKFC: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO collaborating with Saudi IP authorities, a reported rise in fake Irish whiskey, the Kenyan government blaming border countries for its fakes problem, and much more.

25 September 2018

USPTO director talks trademark clutter, Uber declares itself a verb, and beware sketchy Chinese licences: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Ecuador joining TMClass, ICANN postponing its data privacy webinar, IP Australia undergoing a “technology upgrade”, and much more.

25 September 2018

New study finds low IP awareness among students, teachers and scholars in India

Research has found that a significant portion of people studying and teaching at higher educational institutions in India have no awareness of intellectual property rights. 

18 September 2018

<strong>Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act</strong><strong> in the spotlight: news round-up</strong>

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more.