Search results

Selected filters:

North America
IP Offices

Article type

Topic

Sector

Jurisdictions

212 results found for your search

Sort options
07 February 2019

“The world is becoming an IP believer” – UK tops US Chamber of Commerce global trademark ranking

In a newly-released report, the US Chamber of Commerce has ranked the United States as having the best overall IP protection of 50 leading economies, with the United Kingdom topping the trademark ranking.

01 February 2019

Super Bowl fakes crackdown, Burger King trolls McDonald’s trademark loss, and Monaco joins TMview: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how Africa lacks anti-counterfeiting tools, how a growing proportion of companies are affected by infringement, Bulgaria bolstering its digital trademark offering, and much more.

29 January 2019

The Gleissner Files 2019: brand owners warned as IP office reveals staggering number of trademark applications

A major investigation by WTR can reveal that entrepreneur and serial trademark filer Michael Gleissner has stepped up his IP activity in recent months, with over 100 applications filed so far this year.

25 January 2019

As latest efforts to end shutdown fail, USPTO reveals when it will run out of money

To date, the USPTO has weathered the storm of the ongoing US government shutdown. Now, the registry has revealed how long it can do so.

24 January 2019

Why the Supreme Court’s <em>Brunetti</em> review is about more than “ridding the USPTO of potty-mouth overview”

In this guest post, legal experts consider the immediate consequences that will result from the Supreme Court’s review of Iancu v Brunetti.

04 January 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019.

31 December 2018

Weeding out trademark infringers

For years the marijuana industry was an underground business, posing little threat to trademarks. But the recent ‘green explosion’ means that trademark owners must enforce their rights or risk their reputations.

04 December 2018

USPTO report pledges to sustain quality amid rising applications – but are fraud issues glossed over?

The USPTO has published its latest strategic plan, which focuses on the need to be equipped to handle the ever-increasing number of trademark filings, with little mention of ongoing fraud issues.

27 November 2018

A cause for celebration: the USPTO reflects on another productive year

It has been another busy year for the USPTO, with major changes including enhanced stakeholder outreach and further action to tackle fraudulent solicitations.

20 November 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more.

09 November 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more.

09 November 2018

Why Canada’s unexpected trademark reforms are good news for brand owners

Trademark reforms proposed by the Canadian government are positive for brand owners, with mechanisms to tackle trademark squatting and modernised dispute resolution proceedings.

06 November 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more.

09 October 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more.

05 October 2018

Kavanaugh testimony sparks beer trademark, Canada Goose admits fakes are beneficial, and UK food fraud concern: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Colombia’s national IP office launching an accelerated trademark form for commercial brands, Toys-R-Us cancelling its brand auction, and much more.