Search results

Selected filters:

United Kingdom
Brand management

Article type

Topic

Sector

168 results found for your search

Sort options
10 December 2019

Baby Yoda IP protection, wilful counterfeit purchasing, and Fashion Week legal battle intensifies: news digest 

In our latest round-up, we look at a law firm launching a new trademark monitoring tool, some of the brand protection trends to expect in 2020, how Chinese trademark applications are on the rise in Canada, and much more.

10 December 2019

Frozen 2 v Christian Louboutin: could Anna’s red-soled shoes lead to a trademark dispute?

In Disney's Frozen 2, main character Anna is seen wearing red-bottomed boots, with some claiming a similarity to the iconic footwear from fashion brand Christian Louboutin. We speak with IP experts on the issues potentially at play.

29 November 2019

Surviving a scandal: brand management and the Royal Family

The Monarchy proves that a clear strategy can build an everlasting brand, but it is always at risk of suffering reputational damage.

29 November 2019

DPMA warns of scam invoices, Poundland versus Greggs, and WIPO DG candidate list widens: news digest 

In our latest round-up, we look at the Philippines IP Office reviving its arbitration service, the advocate general finding that Amazon didn’t infringe on Coty’s trademark rights, the first GIs being processed in Ivory Coast, and much more.

22 November 2019

Insurance brands are failing to connect with consumers – and this is a problem

The industry is slowly changing, and those that are adaptable and invest in strengthening their product and brand could see a massive pay-out.

22 November 2019

Michael Gleissner versus Apple and Samsung: millionaire defeated in Benelux and UK

Two recent trademark cases in Benelux and the UK have landed significant blows to notorious millionaire Michael Gleissner’s unprecedented trademark activity. According to one expert, they clearly demonstrate that IP offices are “not a playground for vexatious parties”.

22 November 2019

INTA award winners, Brexit Party cease-and-desist, and Chile IPO deadline extensions: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at the EUIPO approving the Strategic Plan 2025, Nominet releasing its Criminality Report, WIPO kicking off a new case law publication series, and much more.

06 November 2019

Risqué business: lessons from the Unilever and Kraft Heinz Pornhub advertising backlash

Kraft Heinz and Unilever have distanced themselves from a pornography website on which they advertised, following accusations that it hosted underage and illegal content. Legal experts emphasise the importance of being involved in conversations over brand messaging and positioning.

04 November 2019

Chinese company to acquire Thomas Cook brand and appears to have grabbed a bargain

In our latest opinion piece, we consider the news that Fosun Tourism Group is purchasing the Thomas Cook brand, recently valued at £836 million, in a deal worth £11 million – arguing that the company is making a canny acquisition.

04 November 2019

“They hoped to grind us down” – Bentley Clothing voices relief at trademark win against motoring giant

UK family-run fashion business Bentley Clothing has prevailed against Bentley Motors in a long-running trademark dispute. Talking to WTR, the owner of Bentley Clothing speaks of the stress that the case has caused.

01 November 2019

Plain packaging fireworks, Facebook fishing for phishers, and Irish Whiskey in Taiwan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Mauritius considering introducing the international exhaustion of trademark rights, 6,000 counterfeit products seized in China, Conor McGregor’s latest trademark fight, and much more.

29 October 2019

UKIPO postpones Brexit work, Canada plain packaging and KIPO warns of trademark squatters: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA bringing the Unreal Campaign to Lima, the UAE IP office forgoing certain fees, Stan Lee’s daughter suing POW! Entertainment, and much more.

25 October 2019

Diageo puts brand building at the core of its business – and it works

The British multinational sees success because it never guesses about consumer needs and invests in targeted marketing.

17 October 2019

The <em>Sky v Skykick </em>opinion: what it could mean for trademark professionals

Advocate General Tanchev has handed down his opinion in the highly anticipated Sky v Skykick case. If the opinion is followed by the CJEU, market experts predict that the enforcement of existing trademark registrations could become riskier, while application strategies would have to be reviewed.

15 October 2019

Alibaba commended, PIPCU needs you, RPMs review update: takeaways from Brand Protection Online Europe

WTR held its inaugural Brand Protection Online Europe in London yesterday, which featured speakers from brands including Alibaba, PayPal, Superdry and Tommy Hilfiger. We share a variety of takeaways from the day.