Search results

Selected filters:

Brand management

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

3,089 results found for your search

Sort options
23 October 2019

Six counterfeit hotspots in Cambodia that brand owners should be aware of

In the latest edition of our series on marketplaces that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to the Southeast Asian nation of Cambodia.

22 October 2019

Fake news trademark stunt, Chile extends all IP matters, and Lichtenstein joins TMview: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Kanye West being denied a trademark for the term ‘Sunday Service’, adidas prevailing in Japan, the UK Intellectual Property Office notifying users of planned maintenance after Brexit, and much more.

22 October 2019

Are major brands stealing expressions of folklore in Mexico?

News outlets have focused on the use of expressions of folklore by fashion brands. In this guest post, a local expert argues that, with companies currently operating on the right side of the law, protecting these expressions against misuse belongs to the state.

22 October 2019

Applicants, agencies and IP authorities under scrutiny as China steps up fight against bad-faith filings

China’s State Administration for Market Regulation has released new provisions on the regulation of trademark applications, expanding on how bad-faith filings will be defined and tackled.

21 October 2019

Don’t miss your chance to win a free delegate place at an upcoming <em>WTR</em> event

Take two minutes to nominate the world's best in-house professionals and teams – and be in with a chance to win a free place at an upcoming WTR event.

21 October 2019

Crafting cross-company collaboration: exclusive interview with Uber’s Rafa Gutierrez 

While a relatively young brand, Uber faces the gamut of IP risks – from phishing to genericism. Rafa Gutierrez explains how he keeps the platform’s IP fully protected.

20 October 2019

USPTO fees proposals backlash; online brand protection takeaways; Amazon pushes back over anti-counterfeiting criticism; Ethiopia’s counterfeiting hotspots; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

18 October 2019

Facebook brand value falls, Pringles and Prosecco battle, and Alibaba’s AACA member update: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the US and Singapore IP regimes being recognised in a new index, the most visible brand logo online, Netflix being accused of trademark dilution by Mossack Fonesca, and much more.

18 October 2019

A new dawn for grocery stores: how major brands are changing to counter low-cost rivals

The departure of Tesco’s CEO signifies the retailer’s successful turnaround, but this is just the beginning as long-time players overhaul businesses to stay in the game.

17 October 2019

Counterfeit hotspots in Ethiopia that brand owners should be aware of

In the 20th instalment in our series on marketplaces around the world that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to Ethiopia.

17 October 2019

The <em>Sky v Skykick </em>opinion: what it could mean for trademark professionals

Advocate General Tanchev has handed down his opinion in the highly anticipated Sky v Skykick case. If the opinion is followed by the CJEU, market experts predict that the enforcement of existing trademark registrations could become riskier, while application strategies would have to be reviewed.

16 October 2019

Amazon hits back at AAFA notorious markets submission with rare public rebuttal

Amazon has issued a strongly worded response to the American Apparel & Footwear Association’s call for a number of its non-US platforms to be included in the next Office of the US Trade Representative's Notorious Markets List.

16 October 2019

Global trademark growth slowing as China continues to dominate – breaking down the WIPO Indicators 2019 report

WIPO has published World Intellectual Property Indicators 2019, charting the growth of global IP filing for 2018. WTR presents key takeaways from the trademark data.

15 October 2019

KIPO warns of Brexit damage, fake water filters, and call for fast-food packaging regulations: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Saks partnering with Authentic Brands to acquire Barneys, the Consortium for Common Food Names being granted observer status at WIPO, the UKIPO publishing advice on IP rights after Brexit, and much more.

15 October 2019

Alibaba commended, PIPCU needs you, RPMs review update: takeaways from Brand Protection Online Europe

WTR held its inaugural Brand Protection Online Europe in London yesterday, which featured speakers from brands including Alibaba, PayPal, Superdry and Tommy Hilfiger. We share a variety of takeaways from the day.