Search results

Selected filters:

Singapore

Article type

Topic

Sector

467 results found for your search

Sort options
07 June 2019

First INTA 2020 reception invite, Tom Brady fumbles trademark application, and Toys “R” Us brand returns: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at highlights from the USPTO’s anti-counterfeiting conference, Alibaba’s plan to use blockchain technology for its IP protection system, and much more.

14 May 2019

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Singapore

The Trademarks Act is the main legislation governing trademark infringement and anti-counterfeiting in Singapore. Part VI of the act criminalises the counterfeiting of a registered trademark, falsely applying a registered trademark to goods or services, and making or possessing an article used for counterfeiting.

26 April 2019

Blow for Alibaba, good news for Amazon: USTR releases latest notorious markets list

The Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR) has released its latest notorious markets list, with Alibaba’s Taobao platform included for the third consecutive year. 

29 March 2019

Change.org responds to The Independent Group new name, IPOS GI registry, and delays at IP Australia: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at consumers being frustrated by “disjointed” brand experiences, an Oregon-based clothing retailer in a trademark fight against Under Armour, brands in an age of political division, and much more.

26 March 2019

Lego prevails, Jaguar Land Rover wins big in China, and IPOS extends mediation scheme: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a major new anti-counterfeiting player entering the market, the Hollywood Walk of Fame taking issue with Dubai Stars, results of a study on the health benefits of plain packaging, and much more.

15 March 2019

<em>Chicago Mercantile Exchange v Intercontinental Exchange</em>: exclusively descriptive names are not registrable trademarks

A recent decision of the IP Office of Singapore in invalidity proceedings illustrates that, even if a party is the sole provider of a particular product or service, it does not automatically acquire the right to register the mark covering that product or service.

27 February 2019

IP offices of EU, Chile, Singapore and Spain named most innovative in the world

In exclusive research from WTR, the EUIPO has been ranked as the most innovative IP office in the world for the third year in a row. Closely behind are the registries of Chile, Singapore and Spain.

12 February 2019

Plain packaging passed in Singapore, cat photo trademarks, and US Senate IP subcommittee: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new report showing 70% of Kenyans use counterfeit products, a new system developed to identify fake logos, the Spanish football league scoring a piracy win, and much more.

01 February 2019

Appeal court holds that goods in transit are imported and thus could infringe trademark rights

The Singapore Court of Appeal has held that “goods in transit” are still considered to be imported for the purpose of the Trademarks Act. However, in the case at hand, although the respondent imported the goods, it did not use the signs at issue. Rather, it was merely providing a commercial service as freight forwarders, and to impose liability for infringement would be against the letter and spirit of the Trademarks Act.

30 January 2019

5-HOUR ENERGY case: registrar finds bad faith by inference

In opposition proceedings brought by International IP Holdings LLC against Lehman Holdings Limited’s applications to register a series of marks, the Hong Kong registrar has found that the only reasonable inference was that the applicant had copied the opponent’s mark.  

22 January 2019

Cracking the bad-faith code: U-LI case provides guidance on establishing bad faith

The decision of the Intellectual Property Office of Singapore in Tan Buck Hai v United U-LI Projects Pte Ltd offers a unique opportunity to understand the kinds of situations which will fall within the ground of bad faith.  

10 December 2018

Servicing the global flow of innovation and ideas: the IP Office of Singapore year in review

The recent boom in economic activity across Asia has been reflected by a significant increase in the number of IP applications filed in the region – and the IP Office of Singapore is leading the way in innovation.

07 December 2018

The sentencing framework of Section 49(c) of the Trademarks Act

A court judgment on fashion retailer’s four-week imprisonment for selling counterfeit shoes has clarified sentencing under the Trademarks Act. Judge affirmed Singapore’s no-nonsense approach to infringement.

02 November 2018

Azerbaijan pledges IP reforms, plain packaging in Singapore, and Ecuador plans mediation center: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the JPO offering a souvenir certificate for long-time rights holders, fashion brands stepping up their tech game, a new director at the Tunisian IP Office, and much more.

30 October 2018

Singapore eyes IP litigation fast-track, Samsung hits Galaxy snag, and fake remembrance poppies: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at claims that an Amazon reviewer was banned after calling out a fake product, the US government weighing in an ICANN debate, how applicants are embracing e-filing in China, and much more.