Search results

Selected filters:

Trademark law
News

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

Year

457 results found for your search

Sort options
29 May 2018

Bitcoin trademark sparks anger, new Corsearch partnership and media decries Ivanka Trump marks: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Hasbro being granted a registered mark for the smell of Play-Doh, a UK company obtaining a mark for BITCOIN, media coverage of trademarks linked to Ivanka Trump, and much more.

29 May 2018

New free-to-view anti-counterfeiting guide available online

The 2018 edition of Anti-counterfeiting – A Global Guide, which provides IP practitioners with critical guidance on anti-counterfeiting strategies in key jurisdictions around the world, is now available to view online.

24 May 2018

Tam’s trademark delivery, Tequila sweatshirts and a collective noun for IP lawyers: INTA 2018 standout moments

Last night's WTR Industry Awards celebrated another year of excellence in corporate trademark practice. While we are in the awards mood, we thought we'd recognise the standout moments from the 2018 INTA Annual Meeting.

22 May 2018

The $20 million Annual Meeting, Amazon’s everyday heroes and Smurfs make an appearance: INTA 2018 day two report

As well as often being the busiest day for attendees, the Monday of the INTA Annual Meeting marks the halfway point of the event. World Trademark Review presents highlights from the second jam-packed day of the event.

22 May 2018

UDRP in a GDPR world, attendance creeps towards 11,000, and Boston calling: INTA 2018 day three report

The World Trademark Review editorial team bring you the latest stories and insights from proceedings at the 2018 INTA Annual Meeting, including an appearance from Ferris Bueller, looking ahead to Boston, and much more.

21 May 2018

Fake press passes, ‘.sucks’ gun violence debate and the Annual Meeting heads to Singapore: INTA 2018 day one report

The trademark industry have descended on Seattle for INTA’s 2018 Annual Meeting. The World Trademark Review team is on the ground, and we present a daily round-up of event highlights and observations.

18 May 2018

The world’s leading corporate trademark professionals revealed

Released today, Apple, Mars and Procter & Gamble head up the 2018 edition of the WTR 300: The World’s Leading Corporate Trademark Professionals. Now in its second edition, this community-led research project identifies the leading lights of the corporate trademark world.

18 May 2018

Flurry of royal wedding marks, Israel added to TMview, and India unveils IP mascot: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a number of trademarks that appear to be related to Prince Harry and Meghan Markle, the USPTO unveiling a new resource center, the sale of the Toys-R-Us brand, and much more.

17 May 2018

Manchester United tops Premier League of trademarks; Messi overtakes Neymar in player rankings

Exclusive research by World Trademark Review reveals the filing activity of the world’s most valuable football clubs and players, and finds that Manchester United boasts the most trademarks of any team in the world.

15 May 2018

MEME mark refused, Trump trademark snag for Israeli club and WHOIS working group set to disband: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a MEME trademark related to serial filer Michael Gleissner, how an Israeli football team adding ‘Trump’ to its name could land the club in trademark hot water, and much more.

14 May 2018

ICANN releases new WHOIS specification plan as GDPR countdown nears zero

With the May 25 enforcement date for GDPR just two weeks away, there has been a flurry of activity at ICANN in the last few days as it seeks to make WHOIS compliant with GDPR. With a new temporary specification released, the question now is: will WHOIS go dark next week?

11 May 2018

NBA star to deliver USPTO event keynote, Frida Kahlo lawsuit, and Google named most loved US brand: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the keynote speaker at the USPTO's National Trademark Expo in July, why Amazon’s Alexa has been named the “biggest challenge for brands since the Internet”, and much more.

09 May 2018

Is the trademark litigation slump over? 2018 trends and predictions

Analysis of the latest data from Lex Machina suggests that US trademark litigation filing numbers will be flat in 2018 – potentially ending a four-year decline. We also take a look at the most popular venues for litigation and the go- to law firms so far in 2018.

08 May 2018

Burberry targets Target, Google launches GDPR-ready WHOIS records and battle of the cat hotels: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Burberry filing suit against Target, a report showing low awareness and interest for IP litigation insurance, Google changing its WHOIS records to be GDPR compliant, and much more.

04 May 2018

Supreme most searched counterfeit brand, IACC training programme and massive confectionery brand portfolio sold: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Under Armour launching a trademark suit against a competitor, how online searches for fake fashion is soaring, details of the IACC’s latest training program, and much more.