Search results

Selected filters:

IP Offices
News

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

Year

262 results found for your search

Sort options
08 September 2017

McDonald’s sticky situation, Taylor Swift overreactions, USPTO’s Irma notice and Brexit reaction: Friday round-up

To accompany our usual analysis and commentary, we bring you the latest news updates from around the trademark world. From the outcry over Taylor Swift’s latest trademark applications to industry reaction to the EU Commission position paper on IP rights post-Brexit, here are the developments that we think are worth having on your radar.

07 September 2017

L’Oréal revealed as EUIPO's top trademark filer as office experiences Brexit-related volatility

Exclusive data compiled by World Trademark Review has revealed the top corporate and representative filers at the EU Intellectual Property Office for the year to June 2017. L’Oréal sits in top spot, with a number of Asian technology brands close behind. While international brand powerhouses continue to utilise European-wide protection, the office experienced volatility in filing levels last year, which it attributed in part to the Brexit vote.

17 July 2017

Final chance to participate in our exclusive EUIPO user survey

World Trademark Review is seeking user views on the EU Intellectual Property Office’s operations and performance levels in the past 12 months, as well as perspectives on some of the bigger issues impacting European trademark practice. The survey closes on Wednesday (19 July) so act now to have your voice heard.

01 March 2017

EUIPO ranked world’s most innovative IP office in exclusive research

The latest issue of World Trademark Review magazine is now available online to subscribers. In this issue, we undertook an ambitious research project to identify the IP offices around the world that are committed to exploring value-add non-core offerings for its users. The EU Intellectual Property Office topped the final ranking, reflecting its innovative suite of trademark tools and service.

16 December 2016

Trademark implications of Brexit, Trump and Samsung Note 7 crisis feature in our most-read list of 2016

As 2016 draws to a close, it’s time to take a look back at the blogs which received the most reads in the past 12 months. 

12 September 2016

Two new free-to-view IP guides now available

World Trademark Review is pleased to announce the publication of the latest editions of Pharmaceutical Trademarks: A Global Guide and India: Managing the IP Lifecycle.

08 September 2016

“Local efforts” crucial to spurring trademark-backed financing worldwide, says IPOS director

In the latest issue of World Trademark Review, we took a deep-dive look at Singapore’s IP Financing Scheme and its implications for trademark owners. We interviewed Sharmaine Wu, director, IP management and markets, at IPOS, for the article. Some of her comments are included in the feature, but here is an extended transcript of the interview for blog readers.

29 July 2016

Our most-read stories of 2016 so far – and we’re now on a summer break

The WTR Premium Daily email will be taking a summer break over August, with the full blog and Premium Daily email service for subscribers recommencing on Tuesday August 30. Meanwhile, here’s a look at the most popular articles and legal updates in the first seven months of 2016 on World Trademark Review.

26 April 2016

The most “intense” client relationship and “squirrelly” witnesses - observations from Trademark Litigation: Practical Strategies

Last week, World Trademark Review hosted its inaugural Trademark Litigation: Practical Strategies conference in New York. The event benefited from a diverse, enthusiastic mix of attendees, providing unique insights on how to maximise the chances of success in litigation. We provide some selected highlights.

06 April 2016

New free-to-view guide to managing intellectual property in China now available

World Trademark Review is pleased to announce the publication of the latest edition of China: Managing the IP Lifecycle. Now in its third edition, the publication, presented in collaboration with IAM, is now well established as an indispensable guide for all of those who use – or intend to use – the Chinese IP system.

01 March 2016

Trademark patterns of top R&D-driven innovators revealed

In the latest edition of World Trademark Review, now available online to subscribers, we present exclusive research into the trademark patterns of R&D-driven innovators. The findings confirm the role of trademarks as a key intangible asset in the corporate strategies of innovative companies.

14 January 2015

Trademarked or not, 'Je suis Charlie' commercialisation steps up

As further 'Je suis Charlie' trademark applications come to light, trademark offices are having to wrestle with how to deal with them. Concurrently, commercialisation continues apace.

13 January 2015

Je suis a trademark? Slogan-related application just the latest in a growing trend

A trademark application has been filed at the Benelux Trademarks Office for ‘Je suis Charlie', the slogan adopted by supporters of free speech and freedom of expression in the wake of last week’s Charlie Hebdo magazine massacre in Paris. As World Trademark Review has previously reported, trademark filings following tragic events is not uncommon, but this represents a different approach to those we have covered before – the attempted acquisition of a high-profile slogan which has a positive message at its core.

24 February 2010

Hungarian Patent Office intensifies debate over genuine use of CTMs

The Hungarian Patent Office has rejected a trademark opposition on the grounds that the complainant “provided proof of genuine use of the invoked Community trademark only in one member state”. The ruling follows the stance taken in ONEL.

19 February 2010

US brand owners reject ‘loser pays’ option

Members of the INTA enforcement committee have told WTR that a ’loser pays’ trademark litigation system would not work in the United States.