Search results

Selected filters:

Brand management
Analysis

Article type

Topic

Sector

Regions

Year

1,406 results found for your search

Sort options
10 January 2019

Study finds registered trademark protection has “substantial effect on export prices”

New research highlights the tangible effect that registered trademark protection has on prices – and discovers that such protection can “significantly and considerably increase the levels and growth rate of export prices”.

09 January 2019

Why the resiliency of tobacco brands could encourage the spread of plain packaging

In our latest opinion column, we observe that plain packaging is not a death knell for tobacco companies – a fact that could embolden legislators to extend plain packaging to other industries.

04 January 2019

Trademark litigation overtakes patent actions as ‘new normal’ emerges

New data reveals that 4,017 trademark litigation actions were filed in the United States in 2018. After a near decade of decline, it appears that litigation levels are stabilising in the country – a contrasting picture to that of patents.  

02 January 2019

Brexit in focus: end-of-year review from the UKIPO

While Brexit has been the primary focus of many practitioners in the United Kingdom, the UK Intellectual Property Office witnessed various other changes and developments in 2018.

24 December 2018

The IP implications of data – the newest asset class

The concept of data as a new form of IP right is being fiercely debated. However, it is certain that questions over ownership will not go away anytime soon.

21 December 2018

Cybersecurity insurance: an opportunity for online brand protection?

Cyberinsurance has become an indispensable tool in the management of internet-based risks and a key asset when it comes to online brand protection strategies.

20 December 2018

Franchising in Russia: a best practice guide

Russia offers great potential for franchising, but local knowledge is key if brand owners are to avoid costly missteps.

14 December 2018

Brands in the Nordics embrace change as filings remain steady: exclusive data analysis 

In our latest data report, we look at Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, and reveal how the leading brands in each country are having to adapt their business tactics to maintain a competitive edge in a changing market.

13 December 2018

“Sometimes you need a firm that will shoot from the hip”: insights from 7-Eleven’s Allison McDade

In an exclusive interview, Allison McDade shared her approach to tackling imitation convenience stores in Asia and explained the challenges stemming from the company’s expansion.

13 December 2018

Into the grey: fighting unauthorised imports

The grey market is a worldwide phenomenon. While trademark law offers remedies, there need to be material differences between grey-market and authorised goods – which is not always the case.

12 December 2018

The brokers are coming: why you will hear more about IP insurance in the coming year

In our latest opinion column, we turned our attention to IP insurance and risk management, which has been grabbing headlines in recent weeks. While much of the coverage has focused on patent-related offerings, we argued that brands will be a future battlefield for brokers seeking new customer bases.

12 December 2018

Get real: protecting fictional brands

Recent jurisprudential trends show that courts are more and more willing to afford protection to fictional brands. However, there are several nuances of which to be aware.

10 December 2018

How INTA is helping to shape the trademark environment in Africa and the Middle East

This week, INTA is hosting its 2018 Middle East and Africa Conference. As the event kicked off, we spoke with an INTA representative to look at recent developments and why an annual meeting in the region is “a natural step”.

07 December 2018

Managing Elvis and Marilyn Monroe: acquisition lessons from Authentic Brands Group

WTR sits down with Jay Dubiner, general counsel of Authentic Brands Group, to get insight into brand management of an IP portfolio that includes Marilyn Monroe, Elvis Presley and Shaquille O'Neal.

07 December 2018

Perfect storm for counterfeits: why Brazil needs to be on the international radars

The economic recession has created conditions for a sharp increase in counterfeit products in Brazil’s physical and virtual marketplaces – making policing an urgent requirement for brands.