Retail

Retail sector booms, spurred by massive growth in China’s consumer market: exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review takes an in-depth, data-led look into the retail sector, examines the growth of e-commerce, analyses how the top brands in retail have performed this past year, and much more.

Retail sector booms, spurred by massive growth in China’s consumer market: exclusive data analysis
30 Nov 2018

Finnish IP office launches chatbot, Lazada signs MOU and JPO fakes campaign: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands avoiding Black Friday discounts, Edible Arrangements filing a trademark lawsuit, a huge counterfeit haul in Paraguay, and much more.

30 Nov 2018

“An encouraging evolution of the laws in China” – exclusive interview with NBCUniversal’s Monique Cheng Joe

WTR speaks with Monique Cheng Joe, head of brands and content at NBCUniversal, about the significant challenges of managing intellectual property for a global media and entertainment conglomerate.

Latest

View all
29 Nov 2018

European Union and United States announce record-breaking counterfeits crackdown; do domain seizures actually train infringers?

This week, both Europol and ICE reported record-breaking numbers in regard to takedowns of domain names selling counterfeit products. One expert tells us that infringers have found an easy solution to this temporary obstacle. Read more

26 Nov 2018

Dolce & Gabbana backlash in China: a reputational, financial and political perfect storm

We take a deep-dive into the brand backlash against Dolce & Gabbana in China, after an advertising campaign was deemed racist and insensitive. Read more

23 Nov 2018

IPOPHL celebrates record haul, Rospatent promotes benefits of GIs, and emoji-tions run high in China: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at $7 million worth of counterfeit condoms being seized in China, Canada Goose opening an additional office in Beijing, and much more. Read more

23 Nov 2018

Supreme and Adidas most counterfeited fashion brands; Taobao remains go-to platform for fakes

A recent survey on the “world’s largest replica discussion board” has revealed insights into the demographics, habits and brand affinity of those who regularly buy fake fashion goods. Read more

News

View all
6 Nov 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more. Read more

26 Oct 2018

Nepal drafting new IP law, Burberry settles Target dispute, and China working to eradicate trademark hoarding: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a video game legend recalling a controversial trademark dispute from the 1990s, a poll about the perception of plain packaging, a Brexit update, and much more. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Crazy or canny? Tesco trademark ‘misstep’ may actually be a conscious commercial decision

Supermarket chain Tesco has been the focus of media coverage due to the lack of registered trademark protection for its new discount store brand Jack's, a move described as “absolute madness”. However, the reality is a more nuanced. Read more

14 Sep 2018

Saudi Arabia to adopt plain packaging, T-ara resolve trademark dispute, and ICANN needs your feedback on RPMs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the US brands with the most loyal customers, 7-Eleven taking a menswear brand to court for alleged trademark infringement, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
19 Nov 2018

Netflix tops simplicity ranking as ease of use identified as driver of brand value  

New research has named Netflix as the world's ‘simplest’ brand, with the company leapfrogging Aldi, Google and Lidl to take top spot. Read more

26 Oct 2018

A perfect match? How marketing and legal can create a productive partnership

The historical ‘us versus them’ mentality between marketing and legal departments is not an inevitability – with the right approach, the relationship can be productive and mutually beneficial. Read more

4 Oct 2018

Alibaba points to anti-counterfeiting success as USTR prepares new notorious markets list

As the Office of the US Trade Representative looks towards its upcoming notorious markets list, Alibaba releases new statistics detailing brand protection practices and results on its platforms. Read more

26 Sep 2018

 “People are pushing back against copycats” – lessons from the Chinese licensing front line

The CEO of Alfilo Brands sits down with WTR to reveal the strategies being employed by major cultural institutions, such as museums and art galleries, as they seek to tap into China’s vast consumer market. Read more

Research

View all
8 Dec 2017

US retail brands are teeming with life despite the so-called 'retail apocalypse': exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review takes an in-depth look at the retail sector. As one of the most dynamic branding environments of any industry sector, we analyse how the top brands in this field have performed. Read more

Insight

View all
1 Jul 2017

China: How Michael Jordan transformed publicity rights in China

Much progress has been made in recent years when it comes to protecting name and image rights, and to fighting against bad-faith registrations in China Read more