Retail

What is notable about the Colin the Caterpillar spat is not the dispute itself

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider the media frenzy surrounding the news that Colin the Caterpillar and his nemesis Cuthbert are locked in a legal dispute.

What is notable about the Colin the Caterpillar spat is not the dispute itself
Colin Caterpillar trademark spat; infamous wine counterfeiter deported; Dole brand expansion – news digest
16 Apr 2021

Colin Caterpillar trademark spat; infamous wine counterfeiter deported; Dole brand expansion – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Brainbase expanding its customer base, a new report that finds consumers trust tightly spaced logos, the Brazilian trademark office opening a public consultation, and much more.

FIFA licensing boon; former USPTO director rejoins law firm; INAPI hosts first gender roundtable – news digest
9 Apr 2021

FIFA licensing boon; former USPTO director rejoins law firm; INAPI hosts first gender roundtable – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at GoDaddy increasing its TLD portfolio, Timberland’s trade dress getting the boot, the Peruvian IP office warning political parties to respect IP, and much more.

Latest

View all
12 Apr 2021

Does the buck(eye) stop here? Sixth Circuit reinstates Ohio state trademark claims

This decision of the US Court of Appeals for Sixth Circuit marks a key development in determining liability of virtual retailers, elaborating on when an online marketplace forgoes immunity from trademark infringement claims. Read more

30 Mar 2021

France victorious in ‘france.com’ dispute; USPTO issues credential warning; EUIPO gets Green Apple award – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the UKIPO welcoming its position on the US Chamber 2021 Global IP Index, a CBD trademark spat resolving, the Chilean IP Office updating its trademark renewal system, and much more. Read more

26 Mar 2021

Alibaba releases 2020 IP protection statistics as engagement with anti-counterfeiting alliance grows

Alibaba has released statistics from its 2020 IP Rights Protection Report, revealing that 96% of suspected infringing listings were proactively detected and removed after posting, before a sale could be made. Read more

23 Mar 2021

Apple counterfeits takedown blitz; Chile moves closer to Madrid Protocol; fake 3M mask warning – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new anti-counterfeiting label being developed, Everlast inking a deal with SportLife Brands, the Mongolian IP Office joining a gender campaign, and much more. Read more

News

View all
22 Mar 2021

BBC’s pragmatic domain approach; brand purpose; counterfeiters using live-streams  – takeaways from WTR Connect

Takeaways from the final three days of WTR Connect, including insights from brand professionals at Vodafone, Unilever, Coty, Dyson, Reckitt Benckiser and the International Anticounterfeiting Coalition. Read more

19 Mar 2021

Tiger King trademark fight; USPTO AI use; Sakpatenti to launch mediation – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at ICANN being requested to hit the pause button on WHOIS reforms, adidas and Peloton collaborating, and much more. Read more

12 Mar 2021

Lyft praised for user ban; ICANN71 goes virtual; Vasectomy Mayhem dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new Harry and Meghan trademark hitting headlines, St Louis law enforcement seizing counterfeits, Lacoste teaming up with Bruno Mars, and much more. Read more

5 Mar 2021

USPTO ends specimen protest email; New York Times drops Time lawsuit; UK debut for Amazon Fresh – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a groundbreaking report on IP in Mexico, INTA holding events marking International Women’s Day, Apollo acquiring craft retailer Michaels, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
18 Mar 2021

Estee Lauder and Walt Disney big performers as WTR Brand Elite stocks continue upward momentum

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

17 Feb 2021

Lenovo’s record-breaking revenue drives growth as WTR Brand Elite stocks hit new high

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

2 Feb 2021

Despite volatile stock markets, WTR Brand Elite outperforms number of major indices in 2020

The WTR Brand Elite recorded a 4.4% return across 2020, with our collective of companies outperforming a number of major stock market indices, including the NYSE and FTSE 100. Read more

26 Jan 2021

Apple wrestles ‘most valuable brand’ crown from Amazon as diversification drives growth

Apple has replaced Amazon at the top of the Brand Finance Global 500 2021 ranking of the world’s most valuable brands following a stellar 87% increase in brand value over the past year. Read more

Research

View all
16 Oct 2020

Playboy trying to strike delicate balance as it returns to public markets

The company has pivoted from magazines to prioritise its licensing business. Yet, while it cashes in on these deals, it is simultaneously re-imagining the very brand that gave it its fame. Read more

18 Sep 2020

As bankruptcy numbers rise so does the availability of, sometimes discounted, intellectual property

In this week’s exclusive data analysis we take a look at the trademark portfolios that have either recently changed hands or are owned by companies that have filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy – revealing the two key features that make intangibles attractive to buyers. Read more

11 Sep 2020

Russia exhibits strong filings growth on the back of changes to its intellectual property system

Back-end work continues to improve the registry and trademark landscape. Subsequently, there has been a noticeable uptick in local brands pushing for the protection of their rights. Read more

28 Aug 2020

Economies are battered but many major offices set for record trademark numbers

As the data continues to be updated, we are able to get a better understanding of the extent of the coronavirus’ impact on the trademark ecosystem. Read more

Insight

View all
16 Jan 2020

Online brand protection takeaways: tales from the trenches

Throughout 2019 WTR hosted a number of events that provided practical, strategic brand protection takeaways. Below are some of the key action points and insights. Read more

1 Jul 2017

China: How Michael Jordan transformed publicity rights in China

Much progress has been made in recent years when it comes to protecting name and image rights, and to fighting against bad-faith registrations in China Read more

27 Feb 2015

Inside track: Alibaba

No Chinese company attracted greater international attention last year than Alibaba Group, thanks to its record-smashing listing on the NYSE. <em>World Trademark Review</em> sat down with Karen Law in Hong Kong to discuss the brands, the float and the ongoing fight against fakes

Read more