Retail

Creative trademark strategies are essential for brands venturing into newly-legalised US marijuana markets

Both Coca-Cola and musician Jimmy Buffett have been linked with marijuana brand partnerships over the past week. Such deals pose significant trademark difficulties, but there may be workaround strategies available. 

Creative trademark strategies are essential for brands venturing into newly-legalised US marijuana markets
18 Sep 2018

Crazy or canny? Tesco trademark ‘misstep’ may actually be a conscious commercial decision

Supermarket chain Tesco has been the focus of media coverage due to the lack of registered trademark protection for its new discount store brand Jack's, a move described as “absolute madness”. However, the reality is a more nuanced.

14 Sep 2018

Saudi Arabia to adopt plain packaging, T-ara resolve trademark dispute, and ICANN needs your feedback on RPMs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the US brands with the most loyal customers, 7-Eleven taking a menswear brand to court for alleged trademark infringement, and much more.

Latest

View all
11 Sep 2018

More #MeToo trademark applications, USPTO scandalous marks fight, and FIFA thanks Rospatent for World Cup help: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at more trademark applications related to the #MeToo movement, the Swedish IP Office warning against fake election posters, a US court having its say on trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

7 Sep 2018

Wine Spectator versus Weed Spectator, Trump slams Nike, and an ode to trademark attorneys: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at trade associations calling for more clarify over rules of origin, CEO of a US cheese company slamming the EU’s GI regime, how Nike’s new ad campaign may have damaged the brand, and much more. Read more

6 Sep 2018

Burberry scraps anti-counterfeiting product destruction; will more brands follow suit?

Fashion giant Burberry announced today that it will stop the practice of “destroying unsaleable products” with immediate effect. Could the move lead to other brands in the luxury sector to cease the practice of product destruction? Read more

4 Sep 2018

Nike in political firestorm, Lego blocks Chinese infringer, and Ghana steps up fight against fakes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion brand in a dispute with two NFL teams, the New York Times shining the spotlight on illicit vendors in Barcelona, Nike facing a brand boycott due to its new Colin Kaepernick ad campaign, and much more. Read more

News

View all
31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

28 Aug 2018

Registrations double in Cayman Islands, Peppa Pig victory in China, and Aldi most trusted brand in Australia: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at China and Indonesia giving up the plain packaging fight, a Colin Kaepernick trademark application generating media buzz, why US colleges have been accused of trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

21 Aug 2018

“Banksy of trademarks” loses Beyoncé opposition, Kuwait online action urged, and The Iso Zone closes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how urgent action is required for owners of Kuwaiti trademarks, Moutai ending its 17-year bid for the NATIONAL SPIRIT mark, how to create an effective brand name, and much more. Read more

3 Aug 2018

Defunct NFL franchise trademarks, counterfeiters target Kickstarter and Pinduoduo investigated: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how tomato DNA is being used to combat dangerous counterfeits, the Vega+ games console losing branding rights, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

20 Jul 2018

Burberry under fire over ‘anti-counterfeiting’ product destruction; will other brands face scrutiny?

An online outcry has erupted due to reports that Burberry destroyed almost £30 million worth of finished goods over the past year in a bid to protect itself from counterfeiting. Read more

10 Jul 2018

Time for non-tobacco brands to take the threat of plain packaging more seriously

In the first of a new regular opinion column, the onward march of plain packaging is examined. In the face of seemingly unstoppable momentum, now is the time to consider whether brands will remain on the sidelines or make their voices heard. Read more

14 Jun 2018

“We rely on a quilt of rights”: inside Starbucks’ trademark strategy

Insight into how the coffee chain giant manages and enforces its rights across the globe. Read more

Research

View all
8 Dec 2017

US retail brands are teeming with life despite the so-called 'retail apocalypse': exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review takes an in-depth look at the retail sector. As one of the most dynamic branding environments of any industry sector, we analyse how the top brands in this field have performed. Read more

Insight

View all
1 Jul 2017

China: How Michael Jordan transformed publicity rights in China

Much progress has been made in recent years when it comes to protecting name and image rights, and to fighting against bad-faith registrations in China Read more