United Kingdom

An “emphatic win" as Sky emerges victorious in latest round of dispute with SkyKick

The Court of Appeal hands down judgment in the latest round of the dispute between Sky and SkyKick, with the latter vowing to fight on with an appeal to the UK Supreme Court.

An “emphatic win" as Sky emerges victorious in latest round of dispute with SkyKick
Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest
23 Jul 2021

Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Philadelphia customs officials seizing counterfeit auto parts, a US Senator introducing a resolution commemorating increased anti-counterfeiting efforts, and much more.

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis
22 Jul 2021

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis

As the novel coronavirus epidemic continues to spread across the globe, WTR provides an updated look at measures that national IP offices have launched in response.

Latest

View all
20 Jul 2021

Court of Appeal: directors jointly and severally liable as accessories, but only liable to account for own profits

In this appeal arising from a trademark dispute involving two POLO CLUB marks, the Court of Appeal has considered for the first time whether accessories should be liable to account not only for their individual salaries, but also for the principal's profits. Read more

19 Jul 2021

Get insight into the future of trademark management and brand protection: new WTR events announced for Europe and the United States

WTR is pleased to announce that it will be hosting a series of one-day events in London, San Francisco, Chicago and New York this December. Read more

19 Jul 2021

Monopoly, Red Bull and Swatch feature in European Legal Updates you may have missed

WTR’s Legal Updates are written by a select panel of over 160 leading experts who analyse the latest trademark-related developments and decisions in more than 60 jurisdictions. Read more

17 Jul 2021

Sugar and salt tax today, brand restrictions tomorrow? The evidence would suggest so

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider calls for a £3 billion sugar and salt tax in the United Kingdom and whether this could be the start of renewed momentum towards brand restrictions. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
16 Jul 2021

Gmail offers authenticated brand logos; UKIPO launches bulk renewal service; L’Occitane wins in China – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA opening registrations for its Annual Meeting, Clarivate integrating its trademark solutions, Honduras joining TMclass, and much more. Read more

29 Jun 2021

One in five consumers would boycott brand after mistaken counterfeit purchase, report finds

A new report on counterfeiting in the beauty and personal care industry reveals some worrying statistics on consumer awareness of fake goods online, highlighting the dangers to both customer safety and brand reputation. Read more

11 Jun 2021

Crocs calls out Skechers; LegalZoom gears up for initial public offering; SurveyMonkey rebrands as Momentive – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA updating its anti-counterfeiting best practices, the American Apparel & Footwear Association joining a campaign against illegal trade, Amazon and HanesBrands teaming up, and much more. Read more

28 May 2021

Hendrick’s defeats Lidl in lookalike gin dispute; INTA reveals Annual Meeting plans; Etihad launches sonic brand – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO replacing email attachments with links, a stinky tofu restaurant trademark invalidated for satirising a football team, and much more. Read more

Brand management

View all
14 Jul 2021

“The power of brand is increasing”: Inngot CEO expands on efforts to facilitate IP-focused lending and insurance

WTR sat down with Martin Brassell, CEO of Inngot, to find out how the company intends to change mindsets on IP value and empower more companies to financially capitalise on their investment in intangibles. Read more

2 Jul 2021

Coca-Cola wins TTAB claim; adidas and Thom Browne clash; EUIPO breaks trademark application record – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO eliminating the handwritten signature requirement, the Finnish IP office revamping its trademark web pages, and much more. Read more

15 Jun 2021

South Korea reports record trademark applications; Selfridges for sale; Right Guard under new ownership – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at OpSec Security introducing a new integrated authentication label, the Portuguese IP office launching an anti-counterfeiting site for kids, and much more. Read more

12 Jun 2021

Why the UK could be flooded with cheap imported branded products if post-Brexit exhaustion of rights regime is changed

In this week’s opinion piece, Lee Curtis and Rebecca Field from HGF explain why it is crucially important for brand owners to have their say as part of the UK government's post-Brexit exhaustion of IP rights consultation. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
12 Jul 2021

IPEC hands down cautionary verdict after unjustified threats made by distributor towards legitimate trader

The Intellectual Property and Enterprise Court has made a rare finding that an allegation of infringement amounted to an actionable unjustified threat of trademark infringement proceedings under Section 21A of the Trademarks Act. Read more

6 Jul 2021

Thomas v Luv One Luv All Promotions Ltd: latest instalment in band member dispute sees successful appeal against IPEC judgment

This decision of the Court of Appeal highlights the danger of leaving issues of ownership to be decided only after members of a band have decided to go their separate ways. Read more

21 Jun 2021

Family butcher’s passing-off claim against Lidl dismissed

In a victory for discount supermarket chain Lidl, the High Court has dismissed a passing-off claim brought by a high-end family butcher claiming to have nationwide goodwill in the Philip Warren brand. Read more

9 Jun 2021

Appointed person rejects applicant’s DIGIT on appeal

This decision highlights the importance of considering the purchasing act of the average consumer. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
10 Jul 2021

INTA’s Iceland case amicus brief throws the spotlight on the registrability of country names as trademarks

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we scrutinise the amicus brief submitted by INTA on the registrability of country names as trademarks. Read more

8 Jun 2021

“National exhaustion is off the agenda” – reaction as UK government opens consultation on post-Brexit regime

The UK government has launched a consultation on the UK’s future regime for the exhaustion of IP rights and parallel trade, laying out various options for respondents to consider. Read more

21 May 2021

Chilean Senate approves Madrid Protocol; UKIPO publishes new corporate plan; Anaqua acquires Actio IP – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Alt Legal partnering with Clarivate, a brand incubator landing $70 million in funding, the USPTO announcing new covid-19 pilots, and much more. Read more

20 Apr 2021

European Super League may cost clubs €2.5 billion brand value; Cuthbert the Caterpillar returns; Barbie and Zara partner – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at academics and a university duking it out over trademark bullying accusations, Lids partnering with Designer Brands, and much more. Read more

Law Firms

View all
4 May 2021

EIP and Stobbs team up in response to increasing need for specialism in the IP space

IP law firm EIP and UK-based intangible asset management company Stobbs have joined forces to further expand their specialist trademark services across Europe. WTR speaks to EIP CEO Magnus Hallin on how this unusual collaboration came about and the possibility of new services in the future. Read more

16 Apr 2021

Colin Caterpillar trademark spat; infamous wine counterfeiter deported; Dole brand expansion – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Brainbase expanding its customer base, a new report that finds consumers trust tightly spaced logos, the Brazilian trademark office opening a public consultation, and much more. Read more

15 Apr 2021

Mathys & Squire launches IP consultancy as private practice firms turn to brand valuation

UK IP firm Mathys & Squire has launched a new IP consultancy division, combining legal and commercial strategic advice. WTR spoke with partner Alan MacDougall to find out what the new arm will offer and how the firm is looking to position itself in the market. Read more

14 Apr 2021

“What we believed was equal and fair a year ago may not be good enough now”: interview with White & Case global diversity chair

WTR sat down with White & Case partner and chair of the global diversity committee Arlene Hahn to hear how the firm tackles the challenges of contextual D&I initiatives through its affinity networks, leadership style and progressive bonus policy. Read more

IP Offices

View all
29 Apr 2021

Exclusive roundtable – IP offices reveal how covid-19 could shape future operations

The Long Read: As remote working has become du jour for many, WTR asks the IP offices of Canada, the European Union, Singapore, South Korea and the United Kingdom to reflect on the ups and downs of operating during a global pandemic – and what might remain of the systems developed over the past year. Read more

22 Apr 2021

UKIPO launches One IPO Transformation programme to become “the best IP office in the world”

The UK Intellectual Property Office has launched its One IPO Transformation programme – a five-year initiative to digitise services and build a single, integrated system for all registered IP rights. Ambitions are high, but one local expert is confident the office is up to the task. Read more

26 Mar 2021

Taylor Swift settles Evermore dispute; Facebook partners with UKIPO; All Gas No Brakes brand ownership – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Burberry partnering with a video game developer, the EUIPO winning an award, the Peruvian IP Office auctioning off property owned by IP infringers, and much more. Read more

23 Mar 2021

How AI could impact trademarks and designs: UK government weighs in

Following a three-month consultation on IP and AI, the UK government has revealed some of the ways that AI is expected to play a role in trademark and design operations in the future. Read more

Online

View all
5 Mar 2021

USPTO ends specimen protest email; New York Times drops Time lawsuit; UK debut for Amazon Fresh – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a groundbreaking report on IP in Mexico, INTA holding events marking International Women’s Day, Apollo acquiring craft retailer Michaels, and much more. Read more

22 Jan 2021

iaidō launch adds new player to the IP legal services provider market

Matching business intelligence with a case management system infrastructure, the dual launch aims to provide innovation that the service provider landscape is currently lacking. Read more

21 Jan 2021

How to manage the brand risk of social media’s ‘cancel culture’

An online spat between authors highlights the brand risk associated with social media influencers and cancel culture, one brand expert says. Read more

15 Dec 2020

Trump weighs in on rebrand; Reddit acquires Dubsmash; USPTO director talks designs – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the IPR Center recognising Alibaba’s IP efforts, a battle for the Arcadia and Debenhams brands, brand enforcement lessons from a fake Dr Fauci, and much more. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
2 Jun 2021

High Court dismisses trademark infringement and passing-off claims in POLO CLUB case

The High Court of England and Wales has dismissed all claims of passing off and infringement of the BEVERLY HILLS POLO CLUB logo due to the use of the GREENWICH POLO CLUB logo. Read more

27 Apr 2021

Court of Appeal confirms that UK GYMNASTICS infringes BRITISH GYMNASTICS

This decision of the Court of Appeal of England and Wales in a trademark dispute between gymnastics associations acts as a reminder that a high degree of conceptual similarity can offset a low degree of visual and aural similarity. Read more

19 Apr 2021

European Super League: a competition based on brand, not on-field success

Analysis from WTR finds that the clubs set to be involved in the European Super League are leading holders of brand value and trademark registrations – even if, in some cases, they have had little trophy success in recent years. Read more

7 Apr 2021

Uh-Oh Polly - the importance of unregistered design rights in the fashion industry

Where does inspiration end, and unlawful copying begin? This was the question considered by the High Court of England and Wales in this dispute between rival companies in the bodycon and bandage garments sector. Read more

Trademark law

View all
23 Apr 2021

Five European Legal Updates you may have missed

WTR’s Legal Updates are written by a select panel of over 160 leading experts who analyse the latest trademark-related developments and decisions in more than 60 jurisdictions. Read more

18 Mar 2021

From Skykick to Brexit: the five EU developments every trademark expert needs to know about

The long read: We examine key takeaways from the biggest cases of the past 12 months and take a deep dive into what Brexit means for EU trademark owners. Read more

15 Feb 2021

International registrations, Brexit and trademarks in the Crown dependencies and Gibraltar

In a guest piece, Julius Stobbs, founder of Stobbs, details the current requirements for potential trademark registrants in these unique jurisdictions. Read more

17 Dec 2020

Bentley Clothing prevails against Bentley Motors but laments enforcement costs for small businesses

Bentley Motors has lost its appeal against a ruling in a long-running dispute with Bentley Clothing. However, the clothing company's director has slammed the current legal system. Read more

Find an expert

Ian Stephen Gill
Partner
London, United Kingdom
AA Thornton