United Kingdom

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis

As the novel coronavirus epidemic continues to spread across the globe, WTR provides an updated look at measures that national IP offices have launched in response.

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis
INTA highlights Asia counterfeit developments; UKIPO appoints new chair; WIPO calls for covid-19 action – news digest
5 Oct 2021

INTA highlights Asia counterfeit developments; UKIPO appoints new chair; WIPO calls for covid-19 action – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO reaching 1.5 million design applications, H&M capitalising on branded merchandise, and much more.

UKIPO defeats the odds to reduce examination times amid record filings
5 Oct 2021

UKIPO defeats the odds to reduce examination times amid record filings

Record trademark applications will not offset a proactive UK Intellectual Property Office, experts are confident.

Latest

View all
11 Oct 2021

No getting off ‘lite-ly’ for fraudulent applicant

In this case involving the well-known cryptocurrency Litecoin, the High Court had to consider whether the defendants’ attempt to register the word mark LITECOIN constituted passing off. Read more

7 Oct 2021

How to defend against opportunists in the arena of personal names and unregistered rights

Emma Raducanu’s historic win at the US Open has prompted a flood of domain name registrations attempting to capitalise on her name. The UDRP does not explicitly provide standing for unregistered personal names, however, there are proven ways to protect oneself against opportunists. Read more

6 Oct 2021

Philip Warren & Sons v Lidl: beef between the parties fails to generate indemnity costs and publicity order

Earlier this year, the High Court dismissed a passing-off claim by high-end butcher Philip Warren & Son against supermarket Lidl. Despite criticism of Philip Warren’s approach to the dispute, the court declined to grant Lidl indemnity costs or a publicity order. Read more

1 Oct 2021

HelloFresh successfully opposes rival trademark HALAL FRESH

Meal-kit provider HelloFresh successfully opposed an application for HALAL FRESH in Classes 29 and 31 on the grounds of likelihood of confusion, detriment to reputation/distinctive character and passing off. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
21 Sep 2021

Volkswagen drops ‘.brand’ new gTLD; Ice Cube likeness claim fails again; Watercress added to UK GI list – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how verification sticker labels are reducing counterfeit seed cases in Kenya, Nodwin Gaming acquiring an IP portfolio, and much more. Read more

17 Sep 2021

Emma Raducanu trademark misreporting; new INTA resolution; Oreo and Pokémon team up – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at US Customs unveiling a dedicated centralised inspection facility in Los Angeles, the Kroger Co joining Buy Safe America, and much more. Read more

13 Sep 2021

Biggest-ever raid proves UK role in global counterfeiting

As the UK police stages its biggest ever anti-counterfeiting operation, a new UKIPO report reveals where and how infringement is occurring. Read more

9 Sep 2021

Online marketplaces in the UK that should be on counterfeit enforcement radars

In the next instalment in our regular series identifying the digital marketplaces that brand owners should monitor as part of their global anti-counterfeiting efforts, we head to the UK. Read more

Brand management

View all
24 Sep 2021

Amazon bans hundreds of Chinese brands; record-breaking year at UKIPO; Netflix acquires Roald Dahl rights – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Japanese companies urged to prepare for litigation in China, the UKIPO rejecting attempts to register footballer names, and much more. Read more

13 Sep 2021

Emma Raducanu, the brand: why trademark protection needs to be a priority for tennis superstar

Tennis player Emma Raducanu could become a “billion-dollar sports star” through commercial deals, but reaching that potential will require effective brand protection – with one expert claiming delay could result in costly legal battles. Read more

20 Aug 2021

CIPO examination backlog worsens; INTA files amicus brief; UKIPO changes fee process – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at interim deputy director Coke Stewart departing the USPTO, Namibia joining TMclass, Beyond Meat looking to introduce non-dairy brands, and much more. Read more

10 Aug 2021

Amazon and GoPro file counterfeit lawsuit; Aldi trolls Marks & Spencer; Manchester United to be renamed – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA unveiling a student moot court competition in the Andean Community, Canon USA updating its anti-counterfeiting consumer education, and much more. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
6 Aug 2021

PepsiCo sells Tropicana brand; Oatly loses infringement suit; Banjul Protocol effective in The Gambia – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at OpSec Security launching an analytics tool to neutralise bad actor networks, a Scottish knitwear company winning an EUIPO appeal, and much more. Read more

6 Aug 2021

Sky v Skykick: Sky secures gold in final as Court of Appeal finds broad trademark specifications are not grounds for invalidity

The Court of Appeal of England and Wales has given judgment in the long-running trademark dispute between Sky and SkyKick, in one of the most important and awaited trademark decisions of the last few years. Read more

30 Jul 2021

Success for Lindt & Sprüngli; USPTO celebrates Lanham Act anniversary; Philippines joins TMclass – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Scamadviser announcing a new member, Ebro Foods looking to offload more brands, the UK government setting out its innovation strategy, and much more. Read more

23 Jul 2021

Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Philadelphia customs officials seizing counterfeit auto parts, a US Senator introducing a resolution commemorating increased anti-counterfeiting efforts, and much more. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
25 Sep 2021

USMCA or FTA, UK GI regime will be defining factor in talks with US

Prospects of a trade deal and speculation that the United Kingdom could join the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement have dominated coverage of the UK prime minister’s trip to Washington DC. Read more

17 Jul 2021

Sugar and salt tax today, brand restrictions tomorrow? The evidence would suggest so

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider calls for a £3 billion sugar and salt tax in the United Kingdom and whether this could be the start of renewed momentum towards brand restrictions. Read more

16 Jul 2021

Gmail offers authenticated brand logos; UKIPO launches bulk renewal service; L’Occitane wins in China – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA opening registrations for its Annual Meeting, Clarivate integrating its trademark solutions, Honduras joining TMclass, and much more. Read more

10 Jul 2021

INTA’s Iceland case amicus brief throws the spotlight on the registrability of country names as trademarks

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we scrutinise the amicus brief submitted by INTA on the registrability of country names as trademarks. Read more

Law Firms

View all
2 Jul 2021

Coca-Cola wins TTAB claim; adidas and Thom Browne clash; EUIPO breaks trademark application record – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO eliminating the handwritten signature requirement, the Finnish IP office revamping its trademark web pages, and much more. Read more

15 Jun 2021

South Korea reports record trademark applications; Selfridges for sale; Right Guard under new ownership – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at OpSec Security introducing a new integrated authentication label, the Portuguese IP office launching an anti-counterfeiting site for kids, and much more. Read more

12 Jun 2021

Why the UK could be flooded with cheap imported branded products if post-Brexit exhaustion of rights regime is changed

In this week’s opinion piece, Lee Curtis and Rebecca Field from HGF explain why it is crucially important for brand owners to have their say as part of the UK government's post-Brexit exhaustion of IP rights consultation. Read more

11 Jun 2021

Crocs calls out Skechers; LegalZoom gears up for initial public offering; SurveyMonkey rebrands as Momentive – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA updating its anti-counterfeiting best practices, the American Apparel & Footwear Association joining a campaign against illegal trade, Amazon and HanesBrands teaming up, and much more. Read more

IP Offices

View all
8 Jun 2021

“National exhaustion is off the agenda” – reaction as UK government opens consultation on post-Brexit regime

The UK government has launched a consultation on the UK’s future regime for the exhaustion of IP rights and parallel trade, laying out various options for respondents to consider. Read more

28 May 2021

Hendrick’s defeats Lidl in lookalike gin dispute; INTA reveals Annual Meeting plans; Etihad launches sonic brand – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO replacing email attachments with links, a stinky tofu restaurant trademark invalidated for satirising a football team, and much more. Read more

21 May 2021

Chilean Senate approves Madrid Protocol; UKIPO publishes new corporate plan; Anaqua acquires Actio IP – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Alt Legal partnering with Clarivate, a brand incubator landing $70 million in funding, the USPTO announcing new covid-19 pilots, and much more. Read more

29 Apr 2021

Exclusive roundtable – IP offices reveal how covid-19 could shape future operations

The Long Read: As remote working has become du jour for many, WTR asks the IP offices of Canada, the European Union, Singapore, South Korea and the United Kingdom to reflect on the ups and downs of operating during a global pandemic – and what might remain of the systems developed over the past year. Read more

Online

View all
29 Jun 2021

One in five consumers would boycott brand after mistaken counterfeit purchase, report finds

A new report on counterfeiting in the beauty and personal care industry reveals some worrying statistics on consumer awareness of fake goods online, highlighting the dangers to both customer safety and brand reputation. Read more

16 Apr 2021

Colin Caterpillar trademark spat; infamous wine counterfeiter deported; Dole brand expansion – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Brainbase expanding its customer base, a new report that finds consumers trust tightly spaced logos, the Brazilian trademark office opening a public consultation, and much more. Read more

26 Mar 2021

Taylor Swift settles Evermore dispute; Facebook partners with UKIPO; All Gas No Brakes brand ownership – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Burberry partnering with a video game developer, the EUIPO winning an award, the Peruvian IP Office auctioning off property owned by IP infringers, and much more. Read more

5 Mar 2021

USPTO ends specimen protest email; New York Times drops Time lawsuit; UK debut for Amazon Fresh – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a groundbreaking report on IP in Mexico, INTA holding events marking International Women’s Day, Apollo acquiring craft retailer Michaels, and much more. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
29 Jul 2021

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom left the European Union on 31 January 2020, triggering a transition period that expired on 31 December 2020. Read more

26 Jul 2021

An “emphatic win" as Sky emerges victorious in latest round of dispute with SkyKick

The Court of Appeal hands down judgment in the latest round of the dispute between Sky and SkyKick, with the latter vowing to fight on with an appeal to the UK Supreme Court. Read more

20 Jul 2021

Court of Appeal: directors jointly and severally liable as accessories, but only liable to account for own profits

In this appeal arising from a trademark dispute involving two POLO CLUB marks, the Court of Appeal has considered for the first time whether accessories should be liable to account not only for their individual salaries, but also for the principal's profits. Read more

19 Jul 2021

Get insight into the future of trademark management and brand protection: new WTR events announced for Europe and the United States

WTR is pleased to announce that it will be hosting a series of one-day events in London, San Francisco, Chicago and New York this December. Read more

Trademark law

View all
23 Apr 2021

Five European Legal Updates you may have missed

WTR’s Legal Updates are written by a select panel of over 160 leading experts who analyse the latest trademark-related developments and decisions in more than 60 jurisdictions. Read more

23 Mar 2021

How AI could impact trademarks and designs: UK government weighs in

Following a three-month consultation on IP and AI, the UK government has revealed some of the ways that AI is expected to play a role in trademark and design operations in the future. Read more

18 Mar 2021

From Skykick to Brexit: the five EU developments every trademark expert needs to know about

The long read: We examine key takeaways from the biggest cases of the past 12 months and take a deep dive into what Brexit means for EU trademark owners. Read more

15 Feb 2021

International registrations, Brexit and trademarks in the Crown dependencies and Gibraltar

In a guest piece, Julius Stobbs, founder of Stobbs, details the current requirements for potential trademark registrants in these unique jurisdictions. Read more