Region: North America

Ninth Circuit uncorks new way to serve trademark complaints

Section 1051(e) of the Lanham Act allows a plaintiff in a district court case to serve a complaint against a foreign defendant via the director of the USPTO.

07 December 2022

USPTO issues new examination guide; Adobe prevails in India; luxury watches seized in Germany – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at design applications hitting a record high in the United Kingdom, and much more.

06 December 2022

Bitcoin.com sued for trademark infringement; Japan forms virtual IP council; New Zealand seeks GI views – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the European Commission adopting proposed designs regime changes, Zara and Nike being named the most popular ‘pre-loved’ brands, and much more.

02 December 2022

The Diversity Pledge: why the world’s biggest companies are signing up to drive innovation through IP data

Lenovo, Meta and Microsoft are among those signing the Diversity Pledge to improve representation in – and the transparency of – patent inventorship data.

30 November 2022

Canada: trademark litigation

Featured in Trademark Litigation: A Global Guide 2023

Canada has a robust system of trademark enforcement with several available causes of action for an aggrieved owner.

30 November 2022

Aristocrat leads USPTO filers ranking, Kanye West’s prosecution activity propels him into top 20

While previously populated by a number of Chinese companies, this year's top 20 list is very different, with US companies dominating.

29 November 2022

Twitter prevails in Singapore bird spat; counterfeit Rolex most searched; Prosecco lobbying intensifies – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at LA seaport seizures topping $1 billion for the first time, a new report highlighting how Canal Street is flooded with fakes, and much more.

29 November 2022

The ABC of enforcing against online sellers: takeaways on effective enforcement

A recent US Court of Appeals decision highlights the need to diligently comply with procedural requirements when seeking a preliminary injunction.

29 November 2022

To infinity and beyond: California court grants motion to dismiss trademark complaint against Meta logo

The court granted Meta’s motion to dismiss, finding that it “border[ed] on implausible” that Dfinity’s purchasers would be “duped by a logo”.

29 November 2022

US Supreme Court Lanham Act case will hopefully return US trademark law to more stable foundations

The US Supreme Court recently granted certiorari in a case that will hopefully settle conflicting Court of Appeals decisions on the cross-border reach of the Lanham Act, notes this week’s opinion.

26 November 2022

Unlock unlimited access to all WTR content