Myanmar

Myanmar trademark office opening, Backcountry.com boycott and Facebook rebrand: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the destination for the DesignEuropa Awards 2020, Kenya and the UK working together to tackle fakes, Monzo fails in ‘hot coral’ trademark attempt, and much more.

Myanmar trademark office opening, Backcountry.com boycott and Facebook rebrand: news digest
27 Aug 2019

Six counterfeit hotspots that you should be aware of in Myanmar

In the latest edition of our series on areas around the world that reportedly engage in the sale of fake goods, we take a look at counterfeit hotspots in Myanmar. 

29 Jul 2019

Myanmar transforming: the state of the legal market and how IP law firms can capitalise

Following the signing of major legislation, Myanmar’s IP environment is on the cusp of transformation. We provide an insider’s view on how law firms can position themselves to capitalise on inbound work from major international brands.

Latest

View all
1 May 2019

Practical implications of Myanmar’s new Trademark Law

The new Trademark Law marks a significant step in the government’s efforts to increase Myanmar’s attractiveness as a destination for foreign investment. For rights holders, it also means that now is the time to prepare for the new regime. Read more

Refine content by:

Enforcement and litigation

View all
15 Feb 2019

New Trademark Law: mark owners must be prepared

Myanmar’s Trademark Law was passed by the Assembly of the Union on 30 January 2019. Importantly for mark owners, marks registered under the current system must be re-applied for once the law enters into force, otherwise they will lose their validity.     Read more

3 Jan 2019

Myanmar adopts long-awaited Trademark Law

The long-awaited Myanmar Trademark and Geographical Indication Law was passed by the Lower House on 12 December 2018. This update reviews the most notable changes introduced by the new law. Read more

19 Jan 2018

Controversy over #MeToo application, Myanmar IP overhaul, and California cannabis marks: news round-up

In our latest news round-up we look at a controversial trademark related to the #MeToo hashtag, California accepting state-wide trademarks for cannabis-related goods, and more. Read more

IP offices

View all
21 Feb 2019

Industrial Design Law adopted by Parliament - key points highlighted

The Myanmar Industrial Design Law was passed by the Assembly of the Union on 30 January 2019 following its adoption by the Lower House and the Upper House. This update reviews the main points that industrial design owners should be aware of. Read more

Trademark law

View all
5 Feb 2019

A trademark revolution in Myanmar: rights holders warned to prepare for new law

The trademark environment in Myanmar is on the verge of wholesale transformation following the signing into law of new legislation by the country’s president. Read more

3 Jan 2019

Myanmar adopts long-awaited Trademark Law

The long-awaited Myanmar Trademark and Geographical Indication Law was passed by the Lower House on 12 December 2018. This update reviews the most notable changes introduced by the new law. Read more

15 Mar 2018

Filing strategies following adoption of Trademark Bill - what mark owners should know

Myanmar’s new Trademark Bill introduces two important novelties: the first-to-file rule, replacing the first-to-use principle; and a transition period for past recorded marks to be re-applied for under the new law. Read more

19 Jan 2018

Controversy over #MeToo application, Myanmar IP overhaul, and California cannabis marks: news round-up

In our latest news round-up we look at a controversial trademark related to the #MeToo hashtag, California accepting state-wide trademarks for cannabis-related goods, and more. Read more

Find an expert