International

What the future holds in store for brand professionals: exclusive insights from the 2019 INTA president

David Lossignol, the new president of INTA, outlines the association’s priorities for the coming year and calls on the trademark community to facilitate positive change in the brand ecosystem.

What the future holds in store for brand professionals: exclusive insights from the 2019 INTA president
14 Jan 2019

Gateway to fakes? Reps4You marketplace revealed as new threat to fashion brands

A major new online marketplace selling counterfeit goods launched last week, with some claiming the Reps4You platform could be a “good gateway” for users to buy fake goods for the first time.

14 Jan 2019

Clarivate Analytics announces $4.2bn merger deal; reveals plans for public listing  

Public investment vehicle Churchill Capital Corp and Clarivate Analytics have announced an agreement to merge, with the combined company – Clarivate – to become publicly listed on the New York Stock Exchange.

Latest

View all
Today

UDRP: termination of business does not mean termination of rights in a domain name

A recent decision under the UDRP serves as a reminder that the termination of a business activity does not imply the disappearance of rights to the domain name related to such business. Read more

17 Jan 2019

Blackhawks.com down! Respondent found to have engaged in pattern of abusive domain name registration

A recent UDRP decision involving the domain name ‘blackhawks.com’ shows that a domain name registrant may be found to engage in conduct that amounts to bad faith even if it is not targeting a specific trademark holder. Read more

15 Jan 2019

UDRP: no change in the status quo is not a legally relevant development

A recent decision under the UDRP highlights important points for complainants contemplating the submission of a refiling. Read more

11 Jan 2019

Johnson & Johnson data focus: inside the world’s biggest trademark portfolio

In the first of a new series, we shed light on how this pharmaceutical giant's trademark holdings have contributed to its business strategy. Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
11 Jan 2019

Battling online counterfeiters: four key considerations for litigation

While litigation against counterfeiters on e-commerce sites can have distinct benefits over other methods of enforcement, it is not a one-size-fits-all option.  Read more

14 Dec 2018

Amazon, Brexit, Christian Louboutin, Gleissner, WHOIS: our 2018 most-read list

Taking a look back at the stories which received the most reads over the past 12 months, our top 20 list serves as a reminder of the big challenges trademark counsel faced in 2018.  Read more

14 Dec 2018

Samsung teams up with fake Supreme, new US Army IP policy, and EUIPO removes TMview contact details: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how the US government is seeking to confiscate a biker gang’s trademarks, how most intellectual property in Africa is “unregistered”, and much more. Read more

10 Dec 2018

Alibaba avoids inclusion on European Commission's new notorious markets list

The European Commission published its Counterfeit and Piracy Watch List, identifying both online and physical marketplaces that are reported to engage in or facilitate counterfeiting and piracy. Read more

Brand management

View all
12 Dec 2018

The brokers are coming: why you will hear more about IP insurance in the coming year

In our latest opinion column, we turned our attention to IP insurance and risk management, which has been grabbing headlines in recent weeks. While much of the coverage has focused on patent-related offerings, we argued that brands will be a future battlefield for brokers seeking new customer bases. Read more

10 Dec 2018

Final chance to make nominations for the WTR Industry Awards 2019

The nomination window for the WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 closes on Tuesday 11 December. Act now to let us know who you regard as the world's leading in-house trademark professionals.  Read more

6 Dec 2018

Democratising trademark surveys – academic calls for step-change in distinctiveness evidence gathering

New study calls for a revolution in trademark survey evidence, with an expert telling us he hopes that brand owners will start embracing lower-cost survey alternatives. Read more

6 Dec 2018

New initiatives to make markets fake-free: a rights holder’s perspective

The increasing recognition of landlord liability provides brand owners with more effective means to fight counterfeit products. Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
11 Jan 2019

Johnson & Johnson data focus: inside the world’s biggest trademark portfolio

In the first of a new series, we shed light on how this pharmaceutical giant's trademark holdings have contributed to its business strategy. Read more

10 Jan 2019

Eurasian Economic Union makes progress with Customs Register and Eurasian trademark

Two documents have recently been signed in order to move forward the process of establishing a unified IP system in the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU). Among other things, EAEU trademarks are expected to become the new standard for the region sometime next year. Read more

4 Jan 2019

Graphical user interfaces – good design is essential

Whether with smartphones, tablets or even autonomous vehicles, controlling the visual landscape under the ‘glass’ of display screens is a central battleground for technology-driven companies.  Read more

4 Jan 2019

Brands warned over legal issues on alleged “scam” gambling platform MysteryBrand

A recently launched gambling website, which uses branded products to promote randomised ‘mystery boxes’, could also be in breach of several laws and should be on the radar of trademark counsel, according to legal experts. Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
9 Jan 2019

Why the resiliency of tobacco brands could encourage the spread of plain packaging

In our latest opinion column, we observe that plain packaging is not a death knell for tobacco companies – a fact that could embolden legislators to extend plain packaging to other industries. Read more

2 Jan 2019

The trademark stories to follow in 2019

As we enter 2019, we take a detailed look into the issues and trends that trademark professionals can expect to make headlines in the coming 12 months. Read more

8 Nov 2018

Could CSR hold the key to encouraging senior management appreciation of the trademark function?

This week in New Orleans, INTA president Tish Berard suggested that engagement with corporate social responsibility (CSR) activities could hold the key to secure management buy-in into the trademark legal function. Read more

24 Oct 2018

The state of statistics – academic claims “more can be done” with trademark data

A new academic paper has found that researchers and policymakers should make more use of trademark portfolio data – even using such information instead of patent data in some instances.  Read more

Law firms

View all
17 Dec 2018

Building for the future

Trademark practices of the future will be very different to those of today. We take a look at what law firms can – and should – do to ensure that they stay ahead of the game. Read more

22 Nov 2018

Artificial intelligence: a legal apocalypse or business ‘almost as usual’?

In our latest column, we cut through concerns about how the development of AI technology could impact legal, and specifically trademark, practice. Read more

23 Oct 2018

Trademarks matter – but not at all costs

We reflect on the flurry of media reports related to law firm workloads and pressure, and look at how the trademark industry must work together to recognise, mitigate and support those affected by workplace stress. Read more

9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more. Read more

IP offices

View all
4 Jan 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019. Read more

7 Dec 2018

Nine takeaways from Brand Strategy China

This week, WTR hosted the third annual Brand Strategy China in Shanghai, and we present best practice takeaways from the attending senior brand protection experts from the corporate and legal worlds. Read more

9 Nov 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more. Read more

31 Oct 2018

Clarivate Analytics snaps up TrademarkVision as new research offerings eyed

While the move is fundamentally a trademark industry acquisition, the move could also open up access to new industries and customers. Read more

Online

View all
11 Jan 2019

Skyscanner fails to obtain transfer of ‘fly-scanner.com’ under UDRP

In a recent case under the UDRP, Skyscanner has failed to prove that the respondent had registered and used the domain name ‘fly-scanner.com’ in bad faith, even though it was being used in relation to competing services. Read more

8 Jan 2019

UDRP complainants: be careful not to trigger a finding of reverse domain name hijacking

In recent UDRP proceedings, a panel has denied the transfer of a domain name that was identical to the complainant's mark and also made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking - even though the respondent did not specifically ask for such relief. Read more

23 Nov 2018

"We are not optimistic": future of WHOIS access remains uncertain after report release

ICANN's expedited policy development process team has published its initial WHOIS data report; one industry expert tells WTR that “there is little to please trademark owners" with respect to WHOIS access. Read more

22 Nov 2018

Warning: UDRP proceedings are not a "Plan B"

In a recent decision under the UDRP, a panel has refused to order the transfer of a domain name that exactly matched the complainant's mark and made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking, stating that the proceedings constituted the complainant’s "Plan B". Read more

Portfolio management

View all
8 Jan 2019

UDRP complainants: be careful not to trigger a finding of reverse domain name hijacking

In recent UDRP proceedings, a panel has denied the transfer of a domain name that was identical to the complainant's mark and also made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking - even though the respondent did not specifically ask for such relief. Read more

12 Dec 2018

The brokers are coming: why you will hear more about IP insurance in the coming year

In our latest opinion column, we turned our attention to IP insurance and risk management, which has been grabbing headlines in recent weeks. While much of the coverage has focused on patent-related offerings, we argued that brands will be a future battlefield for brokers seeking new customer bases. Read more

10 Dec 2018

Final chance to make nominations for the WTR Industry Awards 2019

The nomination window for the WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 closes on Tuesday 11 December. Act now to let us know who you regard as the world's leading in-house trademark professionals.  Read more

6 Dec 2018

Democratising trademark surveys – academic calls for step-change in distinctiveness evidence gathering

New study calls for a revolution in trademark survey evidence, with an expert telling us he hopes that brand owners will start embracing lower-cost survey alternatives. Read more

Trademark law

View all
4 Jan 2019

Graphical user interfaces – good design is essential

Whether with smartphones, tablets or even autonomous vehicles, controlling the visual landscape under the ‘glass’ of display screens is a central battleground for technology-driven companies.  Read more

24 Dec 2018

The IP implications of data – the newest asset class

The concept of data as a new form of IP right is being fiercely debated. However, it is certain that questions over ownership will not go away anytime soon. Read more

4 Dec 2018

China drives global trademark registrations to new heights; challenges persist for brands

Newly released statistics from WIPO have revealed that 2017 was a record-breaking year in terms of trademark applications, spurred by massive growth in China – which is set to break the 8 million application barrier. Read more

15 Nov 2018

WTR 1000 2019 rankings now available to subscribers

The 2019 rankings tables for the WTR 1000 – The World’s Leading Trademark Professionals are now available online. This first look at our latest research findings, two months before public release, is exclusive to WTR subscribers. Read more

Find an expert