International

WTR 1000 2019 rankings now available to subscribers

The 2019 rankings tables for the WTR 1000 – The World’s Leading Trademark Professionals are now available online. This first look at our latest research findings, two months before public release, is exclusive to WTR subscribers.

<em>WTR</em> <em>1000 </em>2019 rankings now available to subscribers
14 Nov 2018

Corsearch purchases Yellow Brand Protection in latest trademark services sector acquisition

Corsearch has acquired Yellow Brand Protection for an undisclosed sum, WTR can exclusively reveal. The deal results in new online anti-counterfeiting and brand protection services falling under the Corsearch umbrella.

13 Nov 2018

Kylie Minogue's trademark dispute regret, licensing case heads to Supreme Court and INTA launches podcast: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we report on INTA's new podcast, Apple's new partnership with Amazon, Kylie Minogue's regrets over her dispute with Kylie Jenner, and much more.

Latest

View all
16 Nov 2018

Flying dog flew away – UDRP panel denies domain name transfer and makes RDNH finding

In a recent decision under the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, a panel has denied the transfer of a domain name and made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking due to the complainant's intentional misrepresentations. Read more

13 Nov 2018

UDRP proceedings: non-response does not mean transfer

A UDRP panel has refused to order the transfer of a domain name that partly incorporated the complainant's mark because the complainant failed to prove that the respondent had registered or used the domain name in bad faith - even though the latter did not respond. Read more

9 Nov 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more. Read more

9 Nov 2018

Who are the world’s leading corporate trademark counsel?

WTR is seeking your insights into the leading lights of the trademark industry, and you have just one month left to submit nominations. Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
8 Nov 2018

“The role of brand protection is expanding” – technology and security risks causing strategies to evolve

A new study highlights the growing need for brand protection practitioners to work more closely with IT and security departments. Read more

23 Oct 2018

Biker gang warns about fakes, WHOIS challenges, and brands failing to meet consumer expectations: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the FDA warning about fake Halloween contact lenses, Kylie Jenner faces a trademark infringement lawsuit, Costa Rica being added to TMview, and much more. Read more

16 Oct 2018

Louis Vuitton takedown spree, Poundland relaunches Twin Peaks bar, and a proposal for next round of ‘.brand’ TLDs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Malaysian minister promoting the Madrid Protocol, food conglomerates moving to revamp their portfolios, and more. Read more

12 Oct 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more. Read more

Brand management

View all
2 Nov 2018

Brand valuation: deciphering the trends and what it means for businesses

We analyse current brand valuation trends and explain why trademark counsel should pay more attention to the rapidly growing valuation industry. Read more

31 Oct 2018

Amazon green light, WHOIS access, URS proposals: six key takeaways from ICANN 63

In this exclusive guest analysis, Brian J Winterfeldt, president of ICANN’s Intellectual Property Constituency, provides an exclusive behind the scenes look into the major talking points from last week’s ICANN meeting in Barcelona. Read more

29 Oct 2018

Time running out to nominate corporate trademark counsel for recognition in the WTR Industry Awards 2019

There are only a few weeks left to submit nominations for the WTR Industry Awards, our annual celebration of the world’s leading corporate trademark counsel.  Read more

26 Oct 2018

A perfect match? How marketing and legal can create a productive partnership

The historical ‘us versus them’ mentality between marketing and legal departments is not an inevitability – with the right approach, the relationship can be productive and mutually beneficial. Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
9 Nov 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more. Read more

26 Oct 2018

Defending the appellation of origin 'pisco' in the world: the Margaret River Winemakers case

Recently, the Peruvian appellation of origin 'pisco' had to be defended in Australia following an application for registration of this denomination by Australian company Margaret River Winemakers.  Read more

26 Oct 2018

“Avoid the perception of requests falling into a black hole”: how to build an effective relationship with marketing

In exclusive insight published on WTR, in-house experts from Pure Storage Inc have laid out a blueprint for how to encourage buy-in and build a fruitful relationship with marketing colleagues. Read more

24 Oct 2018

“Counterfeiters have no compunction about hurting or killing people”: exclusive interview with Gilead’s Gretchen Stroud

WTR spoke to Gilead's Gretchen Stroud about the fight against fake drugs being sold on social media, the trademark challenges that arise when drugs go off-patent, and much more. Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
8 Nov 2018

Could CSR hold the key to encouraging senior management appreciation of the trademark function?

This week in New Orleans, INTA president Tish Berard suggested that engagement with corporate social responsibility (CSR) activities could hold the key to secure management buy-in into the trademark legal function. Read more

24 Oct 2018

The state of statistics – academic claims “more can be done” with trademark data

A new academic paper has found that researchers and policymakers should make more use of trademark portfolio data – even using such information instead of patent data in some instances.  Read more

19 Sep 2018

Creative trademark strategies are essential for brands venturing into newly-legalised US marijuana markets

Both Coca-Cola and musician Jimmy Buffett have been linked with marijuana brand partnerships over the past week. Such deals pose significant trademark difficulties, but there may be workaround strategies available.  Read more

19 Sep 2018

Eurasian Economic Commission updates recommendations on inclusion of licence fees in customs value of imported goods

The Eurasian Economic Commission has updated the recommendations of the Eurasian Economic Union on the treatment of licence fees for the purpose of customs valuation on the territory of the Eurasian Economic Union. Read more

Law firms

View all
23 Oct 2018

Trademarks matter – but not at all costs

We reflect on the flurry of media reports related to law firm workloads and pressure, and look at how the trademark industry must work together to recognise, mitigate and support those affected by workplace stress. Read more

18 Sep 2018

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands

In this week’s opinion column, we consider how law firms can future-proof their trademark practices. Read more

7 Sep 2018

Wine Spectator versus Weed Spectator, Trump slams Nike, and an ode to trademark attorneys: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at trade associations calling for more clarify over rules of origin, CEO of a US cheese company slamming the EU’s GI regime, how Nike’s new ad campaign may have damaged the brand, and much more. Read more

31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

IP offices

View all
31 Oct 2018

Clarivate Analytics snaps up TrademarkVision as new research offerings eyed

While the move is fundamentally a trademark industry acquisition, the move could also open up access to new industries and customers. Read more

9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more. Read more

5 Oct 2018

Why brand owners hold the key to tackling IP misreporting and misrepresentation

In our latest opinion column, we consider how the trademark industry can meaningfully tackle media misperceptions of IP protection and enforcement. Read more

28 Sep 2018

Worldwide spread of plain packaging revealed, TMview expands, and brake pads made of grass: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study into the accidental purchases of fakes, the Fiji government stepping into a trademark dispute, Kyrgyzpatent warning about use of unregistered marks, two ‘.brands’ calling it quits, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
22 Oct 2018

“A problem for any company that operates in the US”: rise in trademark hijacking predicted after USPTO targeted

The USPTO is warning users of attempts to corrupt the US trademark register in an effort to game third-party brand registries. One legal expert tells WTR that the USPTO must urgently review its system security. Read more

22 Oct 2018

Battle lines drawn, skirmishes commence: ICANN community debates future of WHOIS access

As the ICANN community gathers in Barcelona, efforts to develop permanent policy on the treatment of WHOIS data in light of the GDPR are high on the agenda – with battle lines being drawn and debate becoming increasingly combative. Read more

15 Oct 2018

UDRP complainants beware: personal names must be trademarks to benefit from UDRP

A recent decision involving the domain name ‘marypfaffko.com’ highlights that the UDRP was simply intended to provide relief to trademark holders, not to address matters such as defamation or other torts. Read more

11 Oct 2018

Beating head against the wall - UDRP panel finds reverse domain name hijacking of ‘deskwall.com’

In a recent decision under the UDRP, a WIPO panel has made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking, finding that the complainant's claim was artificial and untethered to facts or the plain wording of the UDRP. Read more

Portfolio management

View all
2 Nov 2018

Brand valuation: deciphering the trends and what it means for businesses

We analyse current brand valuation trends and explain why trademark counsel should pay more attention to the rapidly growing valuation industry. Read more

26 Oct 2018

A perfect match? How marketing and legal can create a productive partnership

The historical ‘us versus them’ mentality between marketing and legal departments is not an inevitability – with the right approach, the relationship can be productive and mutually beneficial. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Get the inside track on cost-effectively managing trademark portfolios

WTR is pleased to announce that Managing Trademark Assets Europe will be heading to London on 28 January 2019. The event will present cutting-edge strategies for the creation, protection and monetisation of strong brands. Read more

14 Sep 2018

“There is no one-size-fits-all approach to enforcement” – exclusive interview with Mars Inc’s Sophie Anger

In an in-depth discussion with Sophie Anger, associate general counsel of marketing properties for the global petcare unit of Mars Incorporated, she offers enforcement tips, explains how efficiency is her guiding principle, and much more. Read more

Trademark law

View all
19 Oct 2018

Facebook’s WHOIS access woes, DPMA’s IP workshop for refugees, and Santa-Cruz leaves INAPI: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the Croatian president talking up nation branding, Gucci voicing “reluctance” to work with Alibaba and JD.com, brand owners readying themselves for motion marks, and much more. Read more

5 Oct 2018

Kavanaugh testimony sparks beer trademark, Canada Goose admits fakes are beneficial, and UK food fraud concern: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Colombia’s national IP office launching an accelerated trademark form for commercial brands, Toys-R-Us cancelling its brand auction, and much more. Read more

11 Sep 2018

More #MeToo trademark applications, USPTO scandalous marks fight, and FIFA thanks Rospatent for World Cup help: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at more trademark applications related to the #MeToo movement, the Swedish IP Office warning against fake election posters, a US court having its say on trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

11 Sep 2018

INTA: a truly international association

INTA’s advocacy and engagement activities have continued to accelerate in response to the growing effect of the globalisation of trade, the emergence of the Internet and advances in communication technology.  Read more

Find an expert

Kar Liang Soh
Managing Director
Singapore, Singapore
Ella Cheong LLC