Europe

Emma Raducanu trademark misreporting; new INTA resolution; Oreo and Pokémon team up – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at US Customs unveiling a dedicated centralised inspection facility in Los Angeles, the Kroger Co joining Buy Safe America, and much more.

Emma Raducanu trademark misreporting; new INTA resolution; Oreo and Pokémon team up – news digest
Scammer takedown: USPTO solicitation fraudster fined $4.5m and sentenced to prison
16 Sep 2021

Scammer takedown: USPTO solicitation fraudster fined $4.5m and sentenced to prison

The US Department of Justice has announced a significant win in the fight against trademark solicitation scams, with a Latvian national sentenced to more than four years in prison for defrauding thousands of USPTO trademark registrants.

Emma Raducanu, the brand: why trademark protection needs to be a priority for tennis superstar
13 Sep 2021

Emma Raducanu, the brand: why trademark protection needs to be a priority for tennis superstar

Tennis player Emma Raducanu could become a “billion-dollar sports star” through commercial deals, but reaching that potential will require effective brand protection – with one expert claiming delay could result in costly legal battles.

Latest

View all
15 Sep 2021

Bad news for Sony as General Court confirms that VITA mark was not put to genuine use

This decision of the General Court offers insight into whether use of a trademark for gaming consoles would constitute use for “data carriers containing programs” and “audio and/or image carriers (not of paper)”. Read more

13 Sep 2021

Craft Europe steps up advocacy for new non-agricultural GI regime

Speaking to WTR, a spokesperson for the group argues that such a regime would have economic, sustainability and anti-counterfeiting benefits for EU and non-EU rights holders. Read more

13 Sep 2021

Biggest-ever raid proves UK role in global counterfeiting

As the UK police stages its biggest ever anti-counterfeiting operation, a new UKIPO report reveals where and how infringement is occurring. Read more

13 Sep 2021

Blow for Sony in GT RACING case

Sony has failed in its attempt to prevent the registration of GT RACING based on its GT and GRAN TURISMO marks, which it uses for its popular Gran Turismo video game. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
9 Sep 2021

Online marketplaces in the UK that should be on counterfeit enforcement radars

In the next instalment in our regular series identifying the digital marketplaces that brand owners should monitor as part of their global anti-counterfeiting efforts, we head to the UK. Read more

7 Sep 2021

Cartier counterfeits seized; Superdry and Asos face-off; EUIPO and SMEunited team up – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at more than 5,500 rights holders signing up to the Mercado Libre Brand Protection Programme, McDonald’s seeking a ‘McDuck’ Russian slang trademark registration, and much more. Read more

3 Sep 2021

Gmerica trademarks stir up GameStop investors; Switzerland joins Geneva Act; Modelo dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Alibaba’s auction site launching patent price guidance, a California cookie maker pushing back on Hershey infringement claims, and much more. Read more

1 Sep 2021

Trussardi’s optimistic approach to tightening budgets and “the counterfeiting paradox”

Trussardi general counsel Sara Citterio takes a refreshingly optimistic view of the challenges that her small department faces in the evolving fashion industry. Read more

Brand management

View all
10 Sep 2021

Marvel always possessed the ‘House of Ideas’, but it had to learn how to unleash its IP

A major strategy shift in the early 2000s resulted in increased licensing engagement, and the company has continued to be proactive in brand monetisation since, to great success. Read more

9 Sep 2021

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis

As the novel coronavirus epidemic continues to spread across the globe, WTR provides an updated look at measures that national IP offices have launched in response. Read more

3 Sep 2021

adidas moves on from Reebok to focus on core brand

The German sportswear company spent years trying to bolster the Reebok brand, but now it will focus exclusively on key franchises under its main money maker. Read more

2 Sep 2021

Latvian trademark environment returns to normal following explosion of Michael Gleissner activity

After Latvia’s trademark sector was “transformed” by the activities of Michael Gleissner two years ago, experts reveal how normality is returning – and that up to 900 of the millionaire’s trademark registrations are up for auction. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
10 Sep 2021

General Court’s (e)message is loud and clear on law and practice applicable to invalidity assessment

The decision of the General Court in this dispute between Apple and e*Message over the validity of the mark E*MESSAGE underlines the continuity and retroactivity of EU legislation and case law. Read more

3 Sep 2021

Higher Board decides in favour of UGG based on well-known trademark status and principle of interdependence

Deckers Outdoor Corporation, the owner of the UGG mark, has prevailed in an opposition against the registration of the trademark UGG WATCH, winning on the basis of a likelihood of confusion despite substantial differences between the products. Read more

1 Sep 2021

The BIBBY case: bad faith and bad karma

Samsung has prevailed in a dispute with EBB Development, owned by notorious trademark filer Michael Gleissner, with the Court of Appeal of the Hague ruling that EBB had acted in bad faith when applying for the Benelux trademark BIBBY. Read more

31 Aug 2021

Mariah Carey trademark dispute; Mars Wrigley signs deal with Brand Central; Nigeria counterfeits update – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at China seeking comments on a new judgement standard, the Ayla trademark dispute being revived by the Ninth Circuit, the Costa Rica IP office aligning with CP6, and more. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
20 Aug 2021

CIPO examination backlog worsens; INTA files amicus brief; UKIPO changes fee process – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at interim deputy director Coke Stewart departing the USPTO, Namibia joining TMclass, Beyond Meat looking to introduce non-dairy brands, and much more. Read more

10 Aug 2021

Amazon and GoPro file counterfeit lawsuit; Aldi trolls Marks & Spencer; Manchester United to be renamed – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA unveiling a student moot court competition in the Andean Community, Canon USA updating its anti-counterfeiting consumer education, and much more. Read more

9 Aug 2021

CCFN keeps an eye on Mexico GI regime after a year of USMCA

Focus remains on Mexico adhering to the terms of the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement as Consortium for Common Food Names senior director Shawna Morris considers the treaty’s effects on geographical indications over the past 12 months. Read more

6 Aug 2021

PepsiCo sells Tropicana brand; Oatly loses infringement suit; Banjul Protocol effective in The Gambia – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at OpSec Security launching an analytics tool to neutralise bad actor networks, a Scottish knitwear company winning an EUIPO appeal, and much more. Read more

Law Firms

View all
27 Aug 2021

Delta Airlines’ delta variant dilemma; Amazon launches IP Accelerator in Singapore; EUIPO e-sports webinar– news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Walmart announcing a new initiative to help brand advertising, a Ferrero Rocher counterfeiter being found guilty of infringement despite handling authentic goods, and much more. Read more

20 Aug 2021

Legends of the trademark industry: insights from past WTR Lifetime Achievement winners

Continuing our look back at 15 years of the WTR Industry Awards, today we speak with three past winners of the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award to garner insights into the evolution of the industry. Read more

30 Jul 2021

Success for Lindt & Sprüngli; USPTO celebrates Lanham Act anniversary; Philippines joins TMclass – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Scamadviser announcing a new member, Ebro Foods looking to offload more brands, the UK government setting out its innovation strategy, and much more. Read more

23 Jul 2021

Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Philadelphia customs officials seizing counterfeit auto parts, a US Senator introducing a resolution commemorating increased anti-counterfeiting efforts, and much more. Read more

IP Offices

View all
24 Aug 2021

EUIPO hits major registration milestone as upward trajectory continues: inside the data

Two million EU trademark registrations have officially been filed at the EUIPO. Read more

5 Aug 2021

Exclusive roundtable – how four leading IP offices are cracking down on scams and fraudulent activity

The Long Read: Scams targeting trademark owners are fast becoming commonplace and increasingly sophisticated. Four leading IP offices share their insights on which scams are most prevalent, what you can do to stay safe, the resources on offer to help and how offices are collaborating across borders to fight fraudsters. Read more

16 Jul 2021

Gmail offers authenticated brand logos; UKIPO launches bulk renewal service; L’Occitane wins in China – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA opening registrations for its Annual Meeting, Clarivate integrating its trademark solutions, Honduras joining TMclass, and much more. Read more

13 Jul 2021

Cointreau sues cannabis company; Amazon TLDs go live; Malta joins IP Register in Blockchain – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Australia reflecting on a decade of plain packaging, Shamrock eyeing an entertainment IP move, Amul’s first foreign ruling leading to Canadian registration, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
8 Sep 2021

Stricter WHOIS rules come into force in Denmark

While ICANN has relaxed WHOIS information requirements due to perceived issues with the GDPR, Denmark has recently made the consequences of not keeping contact information up-to-date harsher for registrants of ‘.dk’ domain names. Read more

20 Jul 2021

Lil Nas X spoofs trademark dispute trial; ICANN72 goes virtual; Joe Exotic brand-building venture – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Cincinnati Customs seizing fake Apple AirPods, warnings over counterfeit cannabis, Ermenegildo Zegna Group going public, and much more. Read more

29 Jun 2021

One in five consumers would boycott brand after mistaken counterfeit purchase, report finds

A new report on counterfeiting in the beauty and personal care industry reveals some worrying statistics on consumer awareness of fake goods online, highlighting the dangers to both customer safety and brand reputation. Read more

23 Jun 2021

Lego on social media enforcement; collaborating to fight fakes; sustainable disposal of counterfeits: takeaways from the International IP Enforcement Summit

We present a range of strategic takeaways from this week's International IP Enforcement Summit. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
20 Aug 2021

Pirates and rum: only an allusive and loose association, says the Swiss Federal Administrative Court

Bacardi has had mixed results in its attempt to obtain the revocation of two marks containing the word element ‘thePirate.com’ based on its PYRAT mark. Read more

19 Aug 2021

How the Gazprom Neft in-house team is breaking new ground in the Russian IP space

Gazprom Neft head of trademarks Vadim Nyunyaev reveals how his team is optimising in-house operations and raising the bar for other Russian companies, in an exclusive WTR interview. Read more

19 Aug 2021

SHA v SHAPERFECTION: Opposition Division erred in finding that coinciding element played independent distinctive role

This decision of the Board of Appeal of the EUIPO highlights that the determination of the dominant and distinctive element of a trademark plays an important role in the global assessment of the likelihood of confusion. Read more

12 Aug 2021

General Court: Framery’s mobile workspace lacks individual character in view of state of the art

The decision shows, among other things, that a design will not necessarily be regarded as not having been disclosed when only some of its features are visible in the documents put forward to establish its disclosure. Read more

Trademark law

View all
29 Jul 2021

GI, PDO or TSG? How to choose the best options for traditional food and drink in Europe

The Long Read: Producers of traditional European food and drink have a buffet of IP rights to choose from. Baker McKenzie’s Claire France and Jessica Le Gros provide a straightforward guide to making the right selection. Read more

26 Jul 2021

An “emphatic win" as Sky emerges victorious in latest round of dispute with SkyKick

The Court of Appeal hands down judgment in the latest round of the dispute between Sky and SkyKick, with the latter vowing to fight on with an appeal to the UK Supreme Court. Read more

10 Jul 2021

INTA’s Iceland case amicus brief throws the spotlight on the registrability of country names as trademarks

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we scrutinise the amicus brief submitted by INTA on the registrability of country names as trademarks. Read more

24 Jun 2021

Proposed amendments: a wider protection for GIs and clearer rules regarding the registration of trademarks and company names in bad faith

Proposed amendments to the Swedish Trademarks Act aim to bring it into line with the CJEU’s latest case law on bad faith, and to provide enhanced protection to geographical indications and designations of origin. Read more