Europe

Michael Gleissner: massive scope of trademark and domain portfolio revealed in exclusive data

A major new investigation from WTR has identified over 6,800 trademarks and 6,900 domain names that appear to be related to multi-millionaire and serial trademark filer Michael Gleissner.

Michael Gleissner: massive scope of trademark and domain portfolio revealed in exclusive data
USPTO seeks anti-counterfeiting comments; Diageo hunts for premium brands; Smashburger dispute – news digest
24 Nov 2020

USPTO seeks anti-counterfeiting comments; Diageo hunts for premium brands; Smashburger dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at MarkMonitor becoming a licensed domain name registrar in China, INTA announcing the recipients of its President’s Awards, and much more.

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis
24 Nov 2020

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis

As the novel coronavirus epidemic continues to spread across the globe, WTR provides an updated look at measures that national IP offices have launched in response.

Latest

View all
24 Nov 2020

CJEU gives first ruling on Article 8(3) of Regulation 2017/1001

This decision of the Court of Justice of the European Union should provide some comfort to trademark owners as to the extent of protection of their marks when faced with misuse and unconsented EUTM applications by an agent/representative. Read more

23 Nov 2020

Computing and software brands share price plunge continues downward pressure on WTR Brand Elite performance

The WTR Brand Elite indices registered a two-point drop in the month ending 30 September – their first fall in seven months. The latest results returned a similar decline. Read more

23 Nov 2020

Only a few weeks left to make nominations for the 2021 WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 projects

There's not long left to nominate corporate trademark professionals for recognition at the WTR Industry Awards 2021 and in the next edition of WTR 300: The World’s Leading Corporate Trademark Professionals. Read more

23 Nov 2020

Appeal court finds no likelihood of confusion between TREK and OUTTREK

This decision of the Danish Eastern High Court underlines the importance of determining the relevant public correctly. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
19 Nov 2020

Inclusion in the IP profession; removing formalities requirements; UKIPO on Brexit – INTA 2020 update

As the INTA 2020 Annual Meeting draws to a close, WTR presents observations from the numerous sessions that have taken place over the past few days. Read more

13 Nov 2020

EUIPO ditches fax; Century 21 brand for sale; impersonation on the rise – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at US Customs and Brand Protection intercepting a large shipment of counterfeits, Fieldfisher launching a Brexit docketing tool, the USPTO appointing a new counsel, and much more. Read more

6 Nov 2020

Gap criticised for election tweet; INTA Annual Meeting looms; EUIPO cooperation success – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Volkswagen being the most tattooed car brand, INTA collaborating with Nigeria for IP training, Cambodia destroying counterfeit medicines, and much more. Read more

5 Nov 2020

‘Dupe culture’ grows on TikTok; why this helps counterfeiters and harms brands

An increasing number of young content creators on the TikTok social network are promoting counterfeit goods, with one influencer telling WTR that there is a “large audience” for posts about ‘dupe’ items purchased on online marketplaces. Read more

Brand management

View all
20 Nov 2020

Brands and covid-19: trademark filing data reveals how businesses are cashing in on pandemic

Trademark applications relating to disinfectants, gloves and masks are on the increase, with Class 5 and Class 10 showing significant annual growth. Read more

18 Nov 2020

The verdict on virtual exhibits at the 2020 INTA Annual Meeting

With the 2020 INTA Annual Meeting in full swing, WTR speaks with exhibitors at the virtual event to see how their experience compares with previous years and what changes they would like to see at future digital conferences. Read more

17 Nov 2020

Trump trademark blow; Iancu speaks at ARIPO event; protecting clown faces – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Ascena Retail Group finding a buyer for the Justice brand, INTA presenting this year’s Tomorrow’s Leader award, and much more. Read more

16 Nov 2020

“We remain strong” – INTA CEO pledges togetherness as 2020 Annual Meeting begins

The 2020 INTA Annual Meeting officially kicked off earlier today, with the association’s CEO declaring that “not celebrating the Annual Meeting has never been an option” and declaring that 2021 looks “bright” for the industry. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
20 Nov 2020

Stricter penalties introduced for most serious IP infringement cases

Stricter penalties for the most serious cases of IP infringement have entered into force in Sweden, increasing the range of punishment to imprisonment for a maximum of six years. Read more

20 Nov 2020

UMBRA SHEER held to be descriptive for Class 3 goods

This decision of the Swiss Federal Administrative Court highlights that English is commonly understood in Switzerland and that only lesser-used words will be deemed not to be known by the public. Read more

18 Nov 2020

TARGET VENTURES case: Board of Appeal erred in finding that application was not filed in bad faith

In a decision that provides a useful review of the criteria for assessing whether an application has been filed in bad faith, the General Court has annulled a decision of the EUIPO rejecting an application for a declaration of invalidity of the mark TARGET VENTURES. Read more

16 Nov 2020

Good news for Ferrari as CJEU rules that use of mark for second-hand car sales may be sufficient to constitute genuine use

In a decision that will be welcomed by trademark owners, the Court of Justice of the European Union has held that use of Ferrari’s TESTAROSSA mark for spare parts and second-hand vehicles may be sufficient to constitute genuine use of the mark. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
19 Nov 2020

“Redressing the imbalance”: UKIPO to require UK address for service from 2021

The UKIPO has confirmed that IP owners will be required to supply a UK address for legal services related to new UK trademark applications, hearings and contentious proceedings from 1 January 2021. Read more

11 Nov 2020

The race for a covid-19 vaccine: a brand opportunity and risk for the entire pharmaceutical sector

The big news from Pfizer on its covid-19 vaccine candidate has brought optimism to many this week. In our latest opinion column we consider the brand dimensions of this breakthrough – for Pfizer and the wider pharmaceutical industry. Read more

30 Oct 2020

Sony resolves PS5 trademark fight; Tiffany and LVMH end legal dispute; TPAC new member – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a ‘Why Brands Matter’ campaign launching, research revealing the brand risk of data breaches, Authentic Vision planning an expansion, and much more. Read more

29 Oct 2020

Advancing the EU IP agenda in Southeast Asia: interview with IP Key’s Tiago Guerreiro

As the scheme winds down on its four-year strategic plan in Southeast Asia, WTR catches up with project leader Tiago Guerreiro on the initiative’s successes and future goals. Read more

Law Firms

View all
27 Oct 2020

Coca-Cola to discontinue 200 brands; hoax Woolworths causes stir; adidas mulls Reebok sale – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the boss of Kenya’s Anti-Counterfeit Authority departing following a fake number plate scandal, IP Australia launching a new quality approach, and much more. Read more

27 Oct 2020

Barker Brettell LLP

We have had an exceptionally successful year – my first as head of Barker Brettell’s trademark team – from both a business and a professional perspective. Read more

27 Oct 2020

Meissner Bolte

We got a brand-new, superb modern office in Dusseldorf – all our other offices are jealous! The Dusseldorf office has also been strengthened with the addition of attorney at law Michael Munsch and patent attorneys Markus Wanke and Constantijn van Lookeren Campagne. Read more

27 Oct 2020

GLP

We are proud to say that GLP has been involved in multiple litigation cases concerning large global companies. Read more

IP Offices

View all
20 Oct 2020

Innovation at the EUIPO: spotlight on digital tools and services

In the latest in our series on IP innovation, the EU Intellectual Property Office shares the innovative digital tools and services it has launched or is developing for the future. Read more

20 Oct 2020

Innovation at the EUIPO: spotlight on public outreach and value-add services

In this second part of exclusive insights from the EU Intellectual Property Office, the agency shares more of its value-add tools and services, how it is raising awareness of IP, and its plans for the future. Read more

20 Oct 2020

Microsoft phishing problem; USPTO unveils acting chief policy officer; Danone brand review – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the co-founders of Sortify.tm naming and shaming a trademark squatter, the cloud gaming industry on the cusp of IP growth, and much more. Read more

16 Oct 2020

Fighting counterfeits during a pandemic, monetising brands and picking external counsel – takeaways from the second week of WTR Connect

The highlights from the second week of WTR Connect include insight into the record-breaking filing levels in key Asia-Pacific jurisdictions, how Microsoft’s tech philosophy spurs the trademark department and strategies to bring down enforcement costs. Read more

Online

View all
11 Nov 2020

A new era for domain names under the ‘.tr’ extension

Turkey will soon have a new system for registering and regulating ‘.tr’ domain names. Among many other changes, the ‘.tr’ Network Information System - or TRABIS - allows domain name sales transactions and it will be possible to use dispute resolution service providers. Read more

10 Nov 2020

The one-woman legal team behind the greenest racers on the grid: interview with Envision Virgin Racing’s general counsel

Jennifer Babington sat down with WTR to describe how her team manages to punch along with the big guns in motorsport’s greenest challenge. Read more

13 Oct 2020

Coca-Cola brand purge continues; TikTok star in Nintendo trademark spat; EUIPO scam alert – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the US Department of Homeland Security investing in an anti-counterfeit blockchain start-up, a next-generation trademark status tool launching, and much more. Read more

9 Oct 2020

Dispelling counterfeit myths, prioritising budgets, navigating political conflicts – WTR Connect week one takeaways

We present highlights and learnings from the first week of WTR Connect, including how to prioritise enforcement budgets, fight fakes on Weixin and navigate brands through turbulent political times. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
16 Nov 2020

“Should we conclude that trademarks are for losers?”: takeaways from the Banksy case

In this guest analysis, Bristows’ Simon Clark and Lucie Fortune take a closer look at a recent case involving artist Banksy and consider the takeaways for artists looking to register representations of their artworks as EU figurative marks. Read more

12 Nov 2020

FRIGIDAIRE: General Court casts a chill on the notion of genuine use

This decision of the EU General Court in an action for the revocation of Electrolux’s mark FRIGIDAIRE is a further reminder of the difficulty of quantifying and assessing the nature of genuine use. Read more

9 Nov 2020

Defeat for Apple as Borgarting Appellate Court confirms cancellation of SHERLOCK mark

This decision of the Borgarting Appellate Court illustrates that not every type of commercial use will be sufficient to meet the use requirement in Norway. Read more

6 Nov 2020

General Court confirms lack of likelihood of confusion between DECATHLON and ATHLON

This decision of the EU General Court shows that, where two trademarks have a weakly distinctive element in common, the impact of such similarity on the global assessment of the likelihood of confusion will be low. Read more

Trademark law

View all
27 Oct 2020

J A Kemp

Communication is critical when managing a team. An open door (or open-Zoom) policy is essential. Read more

27 Oct 2020

PADIMA

The most important thing is to consider imitations – not only their prevalence in the industry or sector in which the client is operating, but also the client’s experience in the market. Read more

27 Oct 2020

METIDA

At METIDA we always focus on the client. Our goal is to serve them with the best quality by offering our unique value proposition. Read more

15 Oct 2020

Innovation at WIPO: spotlight on alternative dispute resolution at IP offices

An exclusive guest post on how WIPO has been working with global IP offices to promote the advantages of alternative dispute resolution services. Read more

Find an expert

Qi Hu
Managing Partner
Beijing, China
IntellecPro