China

Nine takeaways from Brand Strategy China

This week, WTR hosted the third annual Brand Strategy China in Shanghai, and we present best practice takeaways from the attending senior brand protection experts from the corporate and legal worlds.

Nine takeaways from Brand Strategy China
4 Dec 2018

China drives global trademark registrations to new heights; challenges persist for brands

Newly released statistics from WIPO have revealed that 2017 was a record-breaking year in terms of trademark applications, spurred by massive growth in China – which is set to break the 8 million application barrier.

30 Nov 2018

China launches new online trademark system; expert calls for focus on examination quality

China’s National Intellectual Property Administration has launched its new online trademark services system, with one local expert telling WTR that the next task should be “to retain – or arguably regain – the quality of examination”.

Latest

View all
30 Nov 2018

“An encouraging evolution of the laws in China” – exclusive interview with NBCUniversal’s Monique Cheng Joe

WTR speaks with Monique Cheng Joe, head of brands and content at NBCUniversal, about the significant challenges of managing intellectual property for a global media and entertainment conglomerate. Read more

29 Nov 2018

European Union and United States announce record-breaking counterfeits crackdown; do domain seizures actually train infringers?

This week, both Europol and ICE reported record-breaking numbers in regard to takedowns of domain names selling counterfeit products. One expert tells us that infringers have found an easy solution to this temporary obstacle. Read more

28 Nov 2018

Regulations clarify role of new agencies following China's IP institutional reform

China’s State Commission Office for Public Sector Reform has released two regulations which clarify the role and functions of the agencies created by the country’s recent institutional reform. Read more

27 Nov 2018

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more. Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
23 Nov 2018

Supreme and Adidas most counterfeited fashion brands; Taobao remains go-to platform for fakes

A recent survey on the “world’s largest replica discussion board” has revealed insights into the demographics, habits and brand affinity of those who regularly buy fake fashion goods. Read more

26 Oct 2018

Nepal drafting new IP law, Burberry settles Target dispute, and China working to eradicate trademark hoarding: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a video game legend recalling a controversial trademark dispute from the 1990s, a poll about the perception of plain packaging, a Brexit update, and much more. Read more

12 Oct 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more. Read more

11 Oct 2018

E-commerce law aims to end the tug of war over online liability, but risks remain

With the E-commerce Law soon to take effect in China, brand owners take stock of the significant effect on online enforcement efforts. Read more

Brand management

View all
12 Oct 2018

Access the latest brand protection and management strategies for China

World Trademark Review is pleased to unveil the programme for the third annual Brand Strategy China event, which takes place in Shanghai on 3 December 2018. Read more

4 Oct 2018

Alibaba points to anti-counterfeiting success as USTR prepares new notorious markets list

As the Office of the US Trade Representative looks towards its upcoming notorious markets list, Alibaba releases new statistics detailing brand protection practices and results on its platforms. Read more

26 Sep 2018

 “People are pushing back against copycats” – lessons from the Chinese licensing front line

The CEO of Alfilo Brands sits down with WTR to reveal the strategies being employed by major cultural institutions, such as museums and art galleries, as they seek to tap into China’s vast consumer market. Read more

11 Sep 2018

Don’t underestimate the rise of Chinese brands (and the impact for all rights holders)

In our latest opinion piece, we reflect on the scale of the Chinese government's brand incubation drive, and how this ambitious project is one that will have consequence for all rights holders - no matter where in the world they are located. Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
22 Nov 2018

Piercing the corporate veil in Chinese trademark infringement cases

Requesting that the legal representative of a company bear joint and several liability for infringement can be a powerful enforcement tool – but is available only in specific circumstances. Read more

16 Nov 2018

Stellar speaker line-up revealed for Brand Strategy China 2018

WTR is pleased to unveil the speaking faculty for the third annual Brand Strategy China event, taking place in Shanghai on 3 December. Among the confirmed speakers on our high-level roster are senior industry leaders from Canon, Mattel, Sanofi, Starbucks, Treasury Wine Estates and Western Digital.  Read more

31 Oct 2018

Meitu afforded well-known trademark protection despite registering loss in association with core mark

China’s Supreme People’s Court has confirmed that the core mark of technology company Meitu should be recognised as well known. The case shows that the nature of the relevant industry may affect the determination of whether a mark is well known. Read more

18 Oct 2018

“Leveraging the law is not the whole solution”: interview with Philip Morris’ Herman Cheung

In an exclusive interview, the tobacco giant's Manager of Illicit Trade Prevention talks to WTR about the importance of anti-counterfeiting efforts as the company transitions to a smoke-free future. Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
26 Nov 2018

Dolce & Gabbana backlash in China: a reputational, financial and political perfect storm

We take a deep-dive into the brand backlash against Dolce & Gabbana in China, after an advertising campaign was deemed racist and insensitive. Read more

19 Oct 2018

China establishes first 'trademark protection office' to assist brands as they go global

A ‘trademark protection office’ has been established in Shanghai to provide local brands with legal support and international know-how – a notable development in the Chinese government's drive to take local brands onto the global stage. Read more

13 Sep 2018

A detailed look at the positives and negatives of China’s new e-commerce law

In this guest blog, Joe Simone from SIPS looks at China's newly-adopted e-commerce law and identifies the aspects which will have the most significant impact, both good and bad, for IP enforcement work. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trump administration should take credit for China’s counterfeits crackdown, claims trade association

The Precious Metals Association of North America (PMANA) has lauded the Trump administration in its response to China’s adoption of long-awaited e-commerce legislation.  Read more

Law firms

View all
3 Aug 2018

Defunct NFL franchise trademarks, counterfeiters target Kickstarter and Pinduoduo investigated: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how tomato DNA is being used to combat dangerous counterfeits, the Vega+ games console losing branding rights, and much more. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

29 Jun 2018

Positive ‘Swissness’ results, IACC and EURid partner up, and the first family of counterfeit hunting: news round-up

We look at a new law in China that could boost the fight against fakes, a comedian seeking over $100 million in infringement damages, a leaked email revealing “efforts to trademark Clean Meat”, and much more. Read more

IP offices

View all
6 Nov 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more. Read more

25 Sep 2018

USPTO director talks trademark clutter, Uber declares itself a verb, and beware sketchy Chinese licences: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Ecuador joining TMClass, ICANN postponing its data privacy webinar, IP Australia undergoing a “technology upgrade”, and much more. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more. Read more

28 Aug 2018

Registrations double in Cayman Islands, Peppa Pig victory in China, and Aldi most trusted brand in Australia: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at China and Indonesia giving up the plain packaging fight, a Colin Kaepernick trademark application generating media buzz, why US colleges have been accused of trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
12 Oct 2018

China's Supreme People's Court releases regulations on Internet Courts – key points highlighted

China's Supreme People's Court has promulgated regulations clarifying the jurisdiction of the Beijing, Guangzhou and Hangzhou Internet Courts, as well as various procedural matters pertinent to the adjudication of cases by these courts. Read more

3 Sep 2018

China adopts new e-commerce law; expert highlights “concerns” for rights holders

After almost two years in the making, China’s long-awaited e-commerce law has finally been adopted. However, one local expert notes that some of the provisions related to IP infringement may have been “somewhat watered down”. Read more

15 Jun 2018

ICANN steps up GDPR clarity bid, Squire Patton Boggs resolves China dispute, and insights from ECTA 2018: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at various insights from ECTA’s 37th annual conference, how domain registrations for sports betting are on the rise, the Financial Times prevails in trademark dispute, and much more. Read more

27 Feb 2018

Internet service provider found liable for trademark infringement: exception to safe harbour principle applied

The Beijing IP Court has found that an internet service provider was jointly and severally liable for the infringement committed on its platform. The safe harbour principle indirectly defined by Article 36 of Tort Law did not apply. Read more

Portfolio management

View all
12 Oct 2018

Access the latest brand protection and management strategies for China

World Trademark Review is pleased to unveil the programme for the third annual Brand Strategy China event, which takes place in Shanghai on 3 December 2018. Read more

29 Aug 2018

Kapow! How to manage marks in the world of comic books

Fluid marks can breathe new life into a brand and are frequently used to grab audience attention. However, a trademark must be used consistently to maintain its registration. Read more

26 Aug 2018

Harmonisation in practice: a dialogue about foreign trademarks

Industry experts from the United States, the European Union and China outline the key considerations for those looking to expand their portfolios internationally. Read more

16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

Trademark law

View all
22 Nov 2018

Piercing the corporate veil in Chinese trademark infringement cases

Requesting that the legal representative of a company bear joint and several liability for infringement can be a powerful enforcement tool – but is available only in specific circumstances. Read more

16 Nov 2018

Stellar speaker line-up revealed for Brand Strategy China 2018

WTR is pleased to unveil the speaking faculty for the third annual Brand Strategy China event, taking place in Shanghai on 3 December. Among the confirmed speakers on our high-level roster are senior industry leaders from Canon, Mattel, Sanofi, Starbucks, Treasury Wine Estates and Western Digital.  Read more

9 Oct 2018

China joint ventures: an eight-point guide to success

Sino-foreign joint ventures are the most popular way to access the Chinese market, but business owners should beware the traps that lurk every step of the way. Read more

1 Oct 2018

New system makes it easier to enforce IP rights in China

There has been much criticism regarding the difficultly of filing an IP dispute in China. However, the country is streamlining the process of navigating the judicial system, with the goal remaining to stop infringements. Read more

Find an expert