China

China establishes first 'trademark protection office' to assist brands as they go global

A ‘trademark protection office’ has been established in Shanghai to provide local brands with legal support and international know-how – a notable development in the Chinese government's drive to take local brands onto the global stage.

China establishes first 'trademark protection office' to assist brands as they go global
18 Oct 2018

“Leveraging the law is not the whole solution”: interview with Philip Morris’ Herman Cheung

In an exclusive interview, the tobacco giant's Manager of Illicit Trade Prevention talks to WTR about the importance of anti-counterfeiting efforts as the company transitions to a smoke-free future.

12 Oct 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more.

Latest

View all
12 Oct 2018

China's Supreme People's Court releases regulations on Internet Courts – key points highlighted

China's Supreme People's Court has promulgated regulations clarifying the jurisdiction of the Beijing, Guangzhou and Hangzhou Internet Courts, as well as various procedural matters pertinent to the adjudication of cases by these courts. Read more

12 Oct 2018

Access the latest brand protection and management strategies for China

World Trademark Review is pleased to unveil the programme for the third annual Brand Strategy China event, which takes place in Shanghai on 3 December 2018. Read more

11 Oct 2018

E-commerce law aims to end the tug of war over online liability, but risks remain

With the E-commerce Law soon to take effect in China, brand owners take stock of the significant effect on online enforcement efforts. Read more

10 Oct 2018

Protecting Peppa Pig in China: interview with Entertainment One’s Niall Trainor

Earlier this week, WTR sat down with Niall Trainor, senior director of brand protection at Entertainment One, to gain exclusive insights into the challenges of protecting the Peppa Pig brand in China. Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
4 Oct 2018

Alibaba points to anti-counterfeiting success as USTR prepares new notorious markets list

As the Office of the US Trade Representative looks towards its upcoming notorious markets list, Alibaba releases new statistics detailing brand protection practices and results on its platforms. Read more

13 Sep 2018

A detailed look at the positives and negatives of China’s new e-commerce law

In this guest blog, Joe Simone from SIPS looks at China's newly-adopted e-commerce law and identifies the aspects which will have the most significant impact, both good and bad, for IP enforcement work. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trump administration should take credit for China’s counterfeits crackdown, claims trade association

The Precious Metals Association of North America (PMANA) has lauded the Trump administration in its response to China’s adoption of long-awaited e-commerce legislation.  Read more

3 Sep 2018

China adopts new e-commerce law; expert highlights “concerns” for rights holders

After almost two years in the making, China’s long-awaited e-commerce law has finally been adopted. However, one local expert notes that some of the provisions related to IP infringement may have been “somewhat watered down”. Read more

Brand management

View all
26 Sep 2018

 “People are pushing back against copycats” – lessons from the Chinese licensing front line

The CEO of Alfilo Brands sits down with WTR to reveal the strategies being employed by major cultural institutions, such as museums and art galleries, as they seek to tap into China’s vast consumer market. Read more

26 Aug 2018

Harmonisation in practice: a dialogue about foreign trademarks

Industry experts from the United States, the European Union and China outline the key considerations for those looking to expand their portfolios internationally. Read more

16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
12 Oct 2018

China's Supreme People's Court releases regulations on Internet Courts – key points highlighted

China's Supreme People's Court has promulgated regulations clarifying the jurisdiction of the Beijing, Guangzhou and Hangzhou Internet Courts, as well as various procedural matters pertinent to the adjudication of cases by these courts. Read more

11 Oct 2018

E-commerce law aims to end the tug of war over online liability, but risks remain

With the E-commerce Law soon to take effect in China, brand owners take stock of the significant effect on online enforcement efforts. Read more

3 Oct 2018

Statistics reveal stark reduction in Chinese customs seizures of suspected IP-infringing products

Recent statistics point to a significant decline in Chinese customs seizures, and the proportion of seizures relating to foreign companies also continues to decrease. Read more

25 Sep 2018

USPTO director talks trademark clutter, Uber declares itself a verb, and beware sketchy Chinese licences: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Ecuador joining TMClass, ICANN postponing its data privacy webinar, IP Australia undergoing a “technology upgrade”, and much more. Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
11 Sep 2018

Don’t underestimate the rise of Chinese brands (and the impact for all rights holders)

In our latest opinion piece, we reflect on the scale of the Chinese government's brand incubation drive, and how this ambitious project is one that will have consequence for all rights holders - no matter where in the world they are located. Read more

23 Jul 2018

Draft regulations on corporate names issued for public consultation: key points highlighted

China’s General Administration for Market Regulation has issued a set of draft regulations on the registration of company names for public consultation. This update highlights several noteworthy features of the draft regulations. Read more

29 Jun 2018

Positive ‘Swissness’ results, IACC and EURid partner up, and the first family of counterfeit hunting: news round-up

We look at a new law in China that could boost the fight against fakes, a comedian seeking over $100 million in infringement damages, a leaked email revealing “efforts to trademark Clean Meat”, and much more. Read more

15 Jun 2018

ICANN steps up GDPR clarity bid, Squire Patton Boggs resolves China dispute, and insights from ECTA 2018: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at various insights from ECTA’s 37th annual conference, how domain registrations for sports betting are on the rise, the Financial Times prevails in trademark dispute, and much more. Read more

Law firms

View all
13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

22 Jun 2018

Rising sales, healthy filings and new opportunities in the dynamic cosmetics sector: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report, we provide a rundown of the cosmetics market from a branding perspective. We take a big picture look at sales growth and key trends and reveal that technology trademark filings are on the rise among major brands. Read more

29 May 2018

Bitcoin trademark sparks anger, new Corsearch partnership and media decries Ivanka Trump marks: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Hasbro being granted a registered mark for the smell of Play-Doh, a UK company obtaining a mark for BITCOIN, media coverage of trademarks linked to Ivanka Trump, and much more. Read more

2 Mar 2018

A beer coloured trademark, Changsha IP court opens, and Kosovo registry launches digital database: news round-up

In today’s edition, we look at the European Commission stepping up its battle against illegal online content, a new IP court in China, and controversy in Australia over a trademark application for a football chant. Read more

IP offices

View all
18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more. Read more

28 Aug 2018

Registrations double in Cayman Islands, Peppa Pig victory in China, and Aldi most trusted brand in Australia: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at China and Indonesia giving up the plain packaging fight, a Colin Kaepernick trademark application generating media buzz, why US colleges have been accused of trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

24 Aug 2018

P&G applications sparks WTF reaction, Pinduoduo’s counterfeit crackdown, and McCarthy on the move: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how the USPTO is seeking input on its draft strategic plan, Aerosmith sending a cease-and-desist to US President Donald Trump, a trademark dispute involving Bob Dylan, and much more. Read more

3 Aug 2018

Defunct NFL franchise trademarks, counterfeiters target Kickstarter and Pinduoduo investigated: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how tomato DNA is being used to combat dangerous counterfeits, the Vega+ games console losing branding rights, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
27 Feb 2018

Internet service provider found liable for trademark infringement: exception to safe harbour principle applied

The Beijing IP Court has found that an internet service provider was jointly and severally liable for the infringement committed on its platform. The safe harbour principle indirectly defined by Article 36 of Tort Law did not apply. Read more

1 Jan 2018

China: Unfair competition online

Online operators that use technical means to influence user choice or damage competing network products will be found in violation of the new Anti-unfair Competition Law. Read more

31 Oct 2017

As Marks & Clerk battles copycat site, new data uncovers prolific rise of Chinese filers at the UKIPO

World Trademark Review has learned of a prolific filer at the UK Intellectual Property Office, operating under the name Champion Intellectual Property Management, which has copied the website of Marks & Clerk. Read more

19 Sep 2017

Cybersquatter asks court to declare its domain names invalid

The Beijing Haidian District People’s Court recently heard a case in which a domain name registrant asked the court to declare its domain name registration contracts invalid. The court granted the unusual request, concluding that the object of the agreement was cybersquatting, thereby cancelling dozens of squatted domain names. Read more

Portfolio management

View all
26 Aug 2018

Harmonisation in practice: a dialogue about foreign trademarks

Industry experts from the United States, the European Union and China outline the key considerations for those looking to expand their portfolios internationally. Read more

16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Rush to register French football star Mbappé's name highlights China's rampant trademark squatting problem

The rush to register Kylian Mbappé’s name following the 2018 FIFA World Cup serves as an important reminder that celebrities and businesses should have a strategy in place to protect their marks in China. Read more

Trademark law

View all
9 Oct 2018

China joint ventures: an eight-point guide to success

Sino-foreign joint ventures are the most popular way to access the Chinese market, but business owners should beware the traps that lurk every step of the way. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: China

Any interested party has the right to file an opposition against a trademark application during the three-month publication period. If the prior right does not concern an applied-for or registered trademark, the preliminary proof of the right must be filed. Read more

31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

29 Aug 2018

Kapow! How to manage marks in the world of comic books

Fluid marks can breathe new life into a brand and are frequently used to grab audience attention. However, a trademark must be used consistently to maintain its registration. Read more