China

“Pioneering at a global level” – China approves amendments to tackle bad faith filings

China’s legislature has approved amendments to the country’s trademark law, which includes a raft of changes, including empowering administrative authorities to reject malicious applications and impose fines against bad faith filers and their agents.

“Pioneering at a global level” – China approves amendments to tackle bad faith filings
24 Apr 2019

IP Australia, EUIPO and UKIPO ranked most effective IP offices

A new survey conducted by WTR has found that IP Australia is the IP office most lauded by trademark practitioners around the world. However, users raised concerns with operations at a number of IP offices.

23 Apr 2019

Turkey trademark uplift, INPI announces Africa IP adviser, and China counterfeit crackdown: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at INTA and the National Trade Foundation for Education partnering up to spread the anti-counterfeiting message, a study highlights how brands need to showcase their authenticity, and much more.

Latest

View all
20 Apr 2019

Luxury companies are edging into the travel industry, but a high-end reputation is not everything

LVMH’s purchase of Belmond reflects an ongoing trend in the luxury market towards the travel industry. However, brands must be wise in this transition as there are endless opportunities for reputational damage. Read more

11 Apr 2019

Video game industry may face digital overhaul, but Nintendo can always call upon Mario

Big Tech has dipped its toes into the industry, posing a risk to traditional manufacturers. We take a deep dive into one of the market’s biggest players, Nintendo, to understand how its brands have helped the company sustain its success. Read more

9 Apr 2019

Trademark squatter defeated by US pet food brand’s prior reputation, with Taobao’s assistance  

In Elma v Shen Pengwei, online shopping platform Taobao has offered its assistance to collect data relating to the sale of US pet food manufacturer MI Industries’ products by retailers in order to defeat an infringer. Read more

5 Apr 2019

How South Africa’s predicted economic upswing will create opportunities for brands and their advisors

The country is seeing increased interest from international entities - particularly from the US; this will likely grow in scale as not only the South African economy develops, but as other emerging markets on the African continent grow.  Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
5 Apr 2019

“Chinese superstars also dress in replicas” – perspectives from a counterfeiter in China

In a bid to shed light on the mindset of counterfeit sellers, WTR has spoken to a seller of replica goods in China about their background, motivation and strategies, offering a rare insider glimpse into this often shadowy industry.  Read more

28 Mar 2019

Alibaba Anti-Counterfeiting Alliance seized $536.2 million in fake goods last year: WTR exclusive

WTR can exclusively reveal that in 2018, criminal investigations led by Alibaba and the member brands of its anti-counterfeiting alliance resulted in the arrest of 1,277 suspects and counterfeit seizures that totalled $536.2 million. Read more

28 Mar 2019

How counterfeiters are using “secret stores” to hide from online marketplace takedowns

An investigation from WTR has found that counterfeit sellers on online marketplaces are setting up so-called “secret stores” to avoid increasingly sophisticated takedown measures.  Read more

18 Mar 2019

EUIPO calls for action as study finds fakes make up 3.3% of global trade

A new study from the EUIPO and the OECD has revealed the staggering rise in counterfeit goods being traded around the globe. In response, the executive director of the EUIPO has called for coordinated action. Read more

Brand management

View all
21 Mar 2019

From K-pop to Presley: inside the trademark portfolios of the music industry’s biggest names

When it comes to trademarks, some musicians are clearly a step ahead. For others, the need to consider protection provides a potential new client base for practitioners. We delve into the portfolios and filing trends of both global and local recording artists. Read more

1 Mar 2019

How branding could be a golden opportunity for mining companies 

In an exclusive data analysis, we look at how mining companies have yet to appreciate the value of brand strength in an era of growing expectations around corporate social responsibility. Read more

25 Feb 2019

Financial brand protection: it is about the money

Financial companies must balance what is distinctive and recognisable in a brand with what is descriptive and easy to understand. Moreover, defensive registrations can provide greater protection against brand damage. Read more

8 Feb 2019

How Mickey Mouse and Darth Vader are helping to grow the Disney brand empire

In this week's data focus, we look at how multi-media giant Disney is stockpiling recognisable brands to build out its business operations and adapt to a changing industry. Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
9 Apr 2019

Trademark squatter defeated by US pet food brand’s prior reputation, with Taobao’s assistance  

In Elma v Shen Pengwei, online shopping platform Taobao has offered its assistance to collect data relating to the sale of US pet food manufacturer MI Industries’ products by retailers in order to defeat an infringer. Read more

5 Apr 2019

Beijing High Court rejects Thermos’ appeal in invalidation proceedings

The Beijing High Court has put an end to Thermos’ efforts to invalidate the mark TILIR THERMO VOGUE, registered by a Chinese company over a decade ago for goods in Class 21, including vacuum bottles.   Read more

5 Apr 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more. Read more

3 Apr 2019

 “You can’t sleep or you will fall behind”: exclusive look inside Alibaba’s fight against fakes

We sit down with Alibaba Group’s vice president and head of global intellectual property enforcement, Matthew Bassiur, to discuss Alibaba’s anti-counterfeiting activities and how it changed industry perception of its enforcement efforts. Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
22 Feb 2019

Supreme People’s Court’s Regulations on Act Preservation for Intellectual Property Disputes – key points explained

In a welcome development for IP owners, the Regulations on Act Preservation for Intellectual Property Disputes, which provide clear and specific guidance on how to apply for an act preservation order, came into effect in China on 1 January 2019.   Read more

7 Dec 2018

Nine takeaways from Brand Strategy China

This week, WTR hosted the third annual Brand Strategy China in Shanghai, and we present best practice takeaways from the attending senior brand protection experts from the corporate and legal worlds. Read more

30 Nov 2018

China launches new online trademark system; expert calls for focus on examination quality

China’s National Intellectual Property Administration has launched its new online trademark services system, with one local expert telling WTR that the next task should be “to retain – or arguably regain – the quality of examination”. Read more

29 Nov 2018

European Union and United States announce record-breaking counterfeits crackdown; do domain seizures actually train infringers?

This week, both Europol and ICE reported record-breaking numbers in regard to takedowns of domain names selling counterfeit products. One expert tells us that infringers have found an easy solution to this temporary obstacle. Read more

Law firms

View all
23 Jan 2019

You get what you pay for? Variances in law firm hourly rates revealed

New research has revealed the variance in the hourly rates charged by law firm practitioners for trademark-related work in key jurisdictions, with the hourly rate for a partner ranging from $30 to $880. Read more

13 Dec 2018

“Sometimes you need a firm that will shoot from the hip”: insights from 7-Eleven’s Allison McDade

In an exclusive interview, Allison McDade shared her approach to tackling imitation convenience stores in Asia and explained the challenges stemming from the company’s expansion. Read more

31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

28 Aug 2018

Registrations double in Cayman Islands, Peppa Pig victory in China, and Aldi most trusted brand in Australia: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at China and Indonesia giving up the plain packaging fight, a Colin Kaepernick trademark application generating media buzz, why US colleges have been accused of trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

IP offices

View all
12 Mar 2019

Alibaba reaches settlement, new Hong Kong IP director, and Swiss IP office issues fakes warning: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the New Zealand IP office issuing a stark warning against misleading mislead invoices, $1.1 million worth of counterfeits stopped on Canada-US border, and much more. Read more

5 Mar 2019

GNSO Council approves EPDP report, Amazon Project Zero concern, and Puma infringement: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the CEO of INTA penning a column about brand restrictions in Malaysia, a KFC restaurant in China memorialising a “Communist hero”, and much more. Read more

18 Jan 2019

Domestic trademark filings propel growth in Iran, although international demand stutters

Iran's trademark activity has been spurred on by residential filings, with international companies keeping a distance, according to our exclusive data analysis.  Read more

4 Jan 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019. Read more

Online

View all
27 Nov 2018

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more. Read more

26 Nov 2018

Dolce & Gabbana backlash in China: a reputational, financial and political perfect storm

We take a deep-dive into the brand backlash against Dolce & Gabbana in China, after an advertising campaign was deemed racist and insensitive. Read more

6 Nov 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more. Read more

26 Oct 2018

Nepal drafting new IP law, Burberry settles Target dispute, and China working to eradicate trademark hoarding: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a video game legend recalling a controversial trademark dispute from the 1990s, a poll about the perception of plain packaging, a Brexit update, and much more. Read more

Portfolio management

View all
21 Mar 2019

From K-pop to Presley: inside the trademark portfolios of the music industry’s biggest names

When it comes to trademarks, some musicians are clearly a step ahead. For others, the need to consider protection provides a potential new client base for practitioners. We delve into the portfolios and filing trends of both global and local recording artists. Read more

11 Mar 2019

China looking to hold accountable not only trademark squatters, but also facilitating agents

The recent publication of a discussion paper seems to signal a stricter approach by the IP authorities to tackle the problem of parties taking unfair advantage of the system in China at the expense of genuine rights holders.    Read more

1 Mar 2019

How branding could be a golden opportunity for mining companies 

In an exclusive data analysis, we look at how mining companies have yet to appreciate the value of brand strength in an era of growing expectations around corporate social responsibility. Read more

25 Feb 2019

Financial brand protection: it is about the money

Financial companies must balance what is distinctive and recognisable in a brand with what is descriptive and easy to understand. Moreover, defensive registrations can provide greater protection against brand damage. Read more

Trademark law

View all
14 Mar 2019

China’s new E-commerce Law

China’s new E-commerce Law (which entered into effect on 1 January 2019) regulates a wide array of matters, including antitrust, data protection, consumer protection, payment and delivery services, among others. However, the law’s provisions on IP protection seem to have attracted the most attention – both positive and negative. Read more

18 Feb 2019

Agencies and individuals to be targeted in proposed China crackdown on malicious applications

The CNIPA has revealed plans to curb malicious trademark applications, with both individuals and trademark agencies that file such applications in its sights. The plans have been characterised as “undoubtedly good news for trademark owners" by a leading legal expert in the country. Read more

14 Feb 2019

How Starbucks is protecting its brand in China – exclusive interview

Batur Oktay, who leads Starbucks’ IP committee, explains how the company is working with Chinese authorities to tackle counterfeiting and provides insights into its changing prosecution strategy. Read more

11 Feb 2019

The evolution of Airbnb’s trademark strategy, and what it means for law firm collaborations

Alica Del Valle, lead counsel for IP, marketing, PR and content at Airbnb, expands on the Silicon Valley company’s fast-changing trademark strategy, what it demands from law firm partners and the creation and protection of its Chinese brand, Aibiying. Read more

Find an expert