Brazil

CN Tower trademark dispute, Madrid System begins in Brazil, and AAFA Amazon criticism: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at how surnames are now registrable in Saudi Arabia, controversy following a trademark being refused registration by the UKIPO, brands being urged to encourage voter registration, and much more.

CN Tower trademark dispute, Madrid System begins in Brazil, and AAFA Amazon criticism: news digest
18 Sep 2019

Trademark litigation in Brazil: 12 key questions answered

In the second part of this focus on enforcement in Brazil series, 12 key questions on litigation processes and strategies are answered.

18 Sep 2019

Laying the groundwork for enforcement success in Brazil

Litigation success in Brazil is ultimately rooted in an understanding of the law and the strategic approach adopted. In the first of a two-part article, João Vieira da Cunha and Jaddy M A P Messias of Gusmão & Labrunie answer five key questions about the pre-litigation phase.

Latest

View all
18 Oct 2019

Brazil’s accession to the Madrid Protocol – what you need to know

Following the coming into force of the Madrid Protocol in Brazil on 2 October 2019, this update reviews the key aspects that foreign legal entities and individuals seeking to file applications designating Brazil should take into consideration. Read more

1 Oct 2019

Brazil accedes to the Madrid Protocol: an inside story – and what happens next?

Heralded as a breakthrough, Brazil’s accession to the Madrid Protocol is a landmark development for the international trademark system. We take a closer look at this move and the lessons that can be learnt from it. Read more

16 Sep 2019

An inside view on Brazil's accession to the Madrid Protocol

Brazil’s accession to the Madrid Protocol is a landmark development for the international trademark system. Tove Graulund of Graulund Consulting provides her take on this move and the lessons that can be learned from it. Read more

10 Sep 2019

24 counterfeit hotspots that you should be aware of in Brazil – part two

In the second part of our look at physical marketplaces that reportedly engage in the counterfeit goods trade in Brazil, we look at locations that brand owners should know from the central and southern regions of the country. Read more

Refine content by:

Anti-counterfeiting

View all
14 May 2019

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Brazil

The growth of the Brazilian market and economy is paralleled by the increase in counterfeiting activities. The enforcement of IP rights involves planning, technology, intelligence, training and coordination, with support from a number of laws and treaties. Read more

5 Apr 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more. Read more

26 Feb 2019

Brazil calls for ‘.amazon’ delay, Swatch and Samsung face-off, and Lithuanian open IP data: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Jerry Seinfeld filing a lawsuit over a ‘counterfeit’ Porsche, a draft policy in India that could empower platforms to blacklist counterfeit sellers, and much more. Read more

7 Dec 2018

Perfect storm for counterfeits: why Brazil needs to be on the international radars

The economic recession has created conditions for a sharp increase in counterfeit products in Brazil’s physical and virtual marketplaces – making policing an urgent requirement for brands. Read more

Brand management

View all
24 Jul 2019

WTR heads to Brazil – IPBC Latin America 2019 unveiled with new focus on managing the IP lifecycle

IPBC Latin America will be held in São Paulo on 4 December 2019 to explore managing the IP lifecycle. This year WTR is teaming up with sister titles IAM and Latin Lawyer on the event, which will include a focus on brands. Read more

8 Jun 2019

Esports: an untapped market for both brands and law firms

The industry is still in its early days, but it is growing by leaps and bounds. Brands such as Coca-Cola and Champion have already jumped into the ring to capitalise on this marketing opportunity, but teams need help getting their portfolios up to scratch to better grow their businesses. Read more

26 Apr 2019

Trademark Premier League: Manchester United crowned 2019 champions, as Messi pulls ahead of Neymar

With today’s World Intellectual Property Day celebrating the importance of IP in sports, research conducted by WTR finds that Manchester United has the most significant trademark portfolio of any global football club.  Read more

29 Oct 2018

Amazon TLD moves forward but work remains before ‘.amazon’ becomes a reality

The ICANN board has decided that Amazon’s application for the ‘.amazon’ TLD should be moved from the ‘will not proceed’ designation, paving the way for future delegation of a string that has been in limbo for five years.  Read more

Enforcement and litigation

View all
9 Sep 2019

24 counterfeit hotspots that you should be aware of in Brazil – part one

In a special two-part edition of our series on physical marketplaces around the world that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to Brazil.  Read more

20 Aug 2019

North Korea establishes IP institute, Amazon intangibles tax win, and Brazil fee request: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at retail companies leading a ‘brand health’ survey, the Belarus IP office correcting a mistake, the New York Times delving into the world of counterfeit books, and much more. Read more

29 Jul 2019

Non-traditional marks in Latin America: the current landscape

The acceptance of non-traditional trademarks has increased in most Latin American jurisdictions in recent years. We provide an overview of the current state of play. Read more

18 Jul 2019

“An enormous opportunity” – IP provisions of EU-Mercosur Agreement lauded

The European Union and the Mercosur bloc of countries have agreed a comprehensive trade agreement that includes significant IP provisions that rights holders should be aware of.  Read more

Goverment/policy

View all
25 Jun 2019

Amazon TLD back in limbo as governments rail against e-commerce giant and ICANN

Amazon’s application for the ‘.amazon’ TLD is back on hold after the Colombian government lodged a request for ICANN to reconsider its decision to proceed with the applications.  Read more

18 Jun 2019

ICANN pushes back on government pressure, prepares to publish ‘.amazon’ PICs

ICANN has written to South American government figures, seeking to push back on pressure to rethink its decision to proceed with the ‘.amazon’ applications. Read more

12 Mar 2019

ICANN delays '.amazon' decision; tech giant's TLD remains in limbo

ICANN has passed a resolution that ends the organisation's efforts to lead a facilitation process aimed at settling a domain name dispute between Amazon and the Amazon Cooperation Treaty Organisation. Read more

5 Jul 2018

"Planning for positive change": the law firm perspective on Brazil joining the Madrid Protocol

​​​​​​​After over a decade of discussion, Brazil looks increasingly likely to accede to the Madrid system. We speak to local law firm practitioners about how it is expected to impact their own practice and the wider trademark scene. Read more

Law firms

View all
26 Apr 2018

Private practice perspectives on diversity: “We must push forward in the name of achieving greater equality”

Law firm professionals reflect on the theme of this year’s World IP Day, which highlights the ingenuity and courage of the women who are driving change in our world. Read more

13 Feb 2018

Scientology trademarks, Brazil’s backlog impact and Leason Ellis victorious against solicitation scammer: news round-up

In our latest news round-up, we look at the impact of backlog measures in Brazil, the pros and cons of China’s rocketing trademark trajectory, and a new victory against trademark scammers. Read more

2 Feb 2018

Brazil on the rebound – service sector thrives, trademark backlog falls: exclusive data analysis

In our latest country data report, we identify the best performing brands in Brazil and review recent filing data to assess the health of the trademark landscape. Read more

IP offices

View all
23 Jan 2019

INPI statistics reveal that only 14% of trademark applications are filed by foreign applicants

In a welcome development for mark owners, statistics released by the National Institute of Industrial Property indicate that there was a significant reduction in the backlog of trademark applications in 2018. Read more

1 Nov 2018

Brazil edges forward with Madrid Protocol, but IP uncertainty follows election of Bolsonaro

With far-right candidate Jair Bolsonaro’s victory in last week’s general election, local experts tell WTR that the new government could “cause complications” for Brazil's accession to the Madrid Protocol. Read more

17 Sep 2018

New rules for non-use cancellation actions: what you need to know

The Brazilian Patent and Trademark Office has issued Technical Note No 01/2018, which establishes new rules for non-use cancellation actions. This update highlights the key points for mark owners and petitioners. Read more

22 Aug 2018

Brazil on the path to Madrid

After over a decade of debate, Brazil is expected to join the Madrid Protocol next year. But while accession seems inevitable, local practitioners have mixed feelings about the move. Read more

Online

View all
1 May 2017

New decision highlights legal risks surrounding AdWords in Brazil

A recent decision on Google AdWords represents a paradigm shift in court thinking and sounds alarm bells for both advertisers and search engines doing business in Brazil Read more

Portfolio management

View all
8 Jun 2019

Esports: an untapped market for both brands and law firms

The industry is still in its early days, but it is growing by leaps and bounds. Brands such as Coca-Cola and Champion have already jumped into the ring to capitalise on this marketing opportunity, but teams need help getting their portfolios up to scratch to better grow their businesses. Read more

26 Apr 2019

Trademark Premier League: Manchester United crowned 2019 champions, as Messi pulls ahead of Neymar

With today’s World Intellectual Property Day celebrating the importance of IP in sports, research conducted by WTR finds that Manchester United has the most significant trademark portfolio of any global football club.  Read more

16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

2 Aug 2018

Authorities should distinguish between ads and trademarks: exclusive interview with PepsiCo’s Sergio Barragan

We speaks with Sergio Barragan of beverage giant PepsiCo to discover his approach to managing the company’s extensive Latin American brand portfolio. Read more

Trademark law

View all
9 Sep 2019

24 counterfeit hotspots that you should be aware of in Brazil – part one

In a special two-part edition of our series on physical marketplaces around the world that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to Brazil.  Read more

29 Jul 2019

Non-traditional marks in Latin America: the current landscape

The acceptance of non-traditional trademarks has increased in most Latin American jurisdictions in recent years. We provide an overview of the current state of play. Read more

18 Jul 2019

“An enormous opportunity” – IP provisions of EU-Mercosur Agreement lauded

The European Union and the Mercosur bloc of countries have agreed a comprehensive trade agreement that includes significant IP provisions that rights holders should be aware of.  Read more

28 Jun 2019

PTO makes preparations for Brazil’s adhesion to the Madrid Protocol

The Brazilian Patent and Trademark Office has been making efforts to prove that it is ready for the Madrid Protocol, which is due to enter into force in October 2019. Read more