Africa & Middle East

Computing and software brands share price plunge continues downward pressure on WTR Brand Elite performance

Last month the WTR Brand Elite indices registered a two-point drop in the month ending 30 September – their first fall in seven months.The latest results returned a similar. decline

Computing and software brands share price plunge continues downward pressure on <em>WTR </em>Brand Elite performance
Only a few weeks left to make nominations for the 2021 <em>WTR</em> Industry Awards and <em>WTR</em> <em>300</em> projects
23 Nov 2020

Only a few weeks left to make nominations for the 2021 WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 projects

There's not long left to nominate corporate trademark professionals for recognition at the WTR Industry Awards 2021 and in the next edition of WTR 300: The World’s Leading Corporate Trademark Professionals.

ARIPO elects new director general; INTA elects 2021 president; Mars acquires Kind brand – news digest
20 Nov 2020

ARIPO elects new director general; INTA elects 2021 president; Mars acquires Kind brand – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at João Negrão being appointed president of the Boards of Appeal at the EUIPO, GoDaddy launching a new IP tool, and much more.

Latest

View all
19 Nov 2020

Inclusion in the IP profession; removing formalities requirements; UKIPO on Brexit – INTA 2020 update

As the INTA 2020 Annual Meeting draws to a close, WTR presents observations from the numerous sessions that have taken place over the past few days. Read more

19 Nov 2020

How to submit a trademark customs recordal in Egypt

While many African countries do not have official systems to protect trademarks from infringement, there are a number of informal ways to obtain protection. This article reveals how to do so in Egypt. Read more

18 Nov 2020

The verdict on virtual exhibits at the 2020 INTA Annual Meeting

With the 2020 INTA Annual Meeting in full swing, WTR speaks with exhibitors at the virtual event to see how their experience compares with previous years and what changes they would like to see at future digital conferences. Read more

16 Nov 2020

“We remain strong” – INTA CEO pledges togetherness as 2020 Annual Meeting begins

The 2020 INTA Annual Meeting officially kicked off earlier today, with the association’s CEO declaring that “not celebrating the Annual Meeting has never been an option” and declaring that 2021 looks “bright” for the industry. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
6 Nov 2020

Gap criticised for election tweet; INTA Annual Meeting looms; EUIPO cooperation success – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Volkswagen being the most tattooed car brand, INTA collaborating with Nigeria for IP training, Cambodia destroying counterfeit medicines, and much more. Read more

27 Oct 2020

Coca-Cola to discontinue 200 brands; hoax Woolworths causes stir; adidas mulls Reebok sale – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the boss of Kenya’s Anti-Counterfeit Authority departing following a fake number plate scandal, IP Australia launching a new quality approach, and much more. Read more

9 Oct 2020

Dispelling counterfeit myths, prioritising budgets, navigating political conflicts – WTR Connect week one takeaways

We present highlights and learnings from the first week of WTR Connect, including how to prioritise enforcement budgets, fight fakes on Weixin and navigate brands through turbulent political times. Read more

23 Sep 2020

Money saving tips, Asia top filers, UDRP review: WTR’s autumn edition now available

In a bumper edition we present budget management tips, reveal the top law firm and corporate filers in key jurisdictions across Asia, analyse the findings of our survey on non-legal trademark services, and much more. Read more

Brand management

View all
26 Oct 2020

Still time to nominate for the 2021 WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 projects

There is still time to nominate corporate trademark professionals for recognition at the WTR Industry Awards 2021 and in the next edition of WTR 300. Read more

24 Sep 2020

Computing and software companies driving positive growth in latest WTR Brand Elite results

Companies that invest in their brands and are supported by leading trademark teams have maintained their positive momentum in the latest WTR Brand Elite, registering their sixth month of stock value growth. Read more

18 Sep 2020

Thomas Cook brand relaunched; ‘rip off’ Teddy Fresh clash; Lady A legal fight continues – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at industry groups teaming up to fight pirates, a call for fake pharmaceutical stories, IP Australia announcing a new indigenous knowledge initiative, and much more. Read more

8 Sep 2020

Trump trademark approved in Argentina; Beijing IP Court update; Gucci ‘fake not’ collection – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at outrage over a WWE order about names and likenesses, Bumble announcing plans to go public, how counterfeiting remains a problem on Taobao, and much more. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
26 Oct 2020

Uganda launches National Intellectual Property Policy

Uganda has officially launched its National Intellectual Property Policy, which sets out the country’s strategies with regard to IP rights with the aim of achieving its socio-economic development goals. Read more

21 Oct 2020

District Court: there can be no monopoly over the image of a polo player

Israel’s Central District Court has held that the use of the image of a polo player is common in the fashion industry and cannot be monopolised by a single company. Read more

15 Oct 2020

Innovation at WIPO: spotlight on alternative dispute resolution at IP offices

An exclusive guest post on how WIPO has been working with global IP offices to promote the advantages of alternative dispute resolution services. Read more

15 Sep 2020

“Beirut will rise again” – exclusive interview with head of Lebanon IP office

In an exclusive guest post, representatives from Alyafi IP Group speak with the head of the IP Unit at Lebanon’s Ministry of Economy about recovery efforts at the agency following the recent devastating explosion in Beirut. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
23 Sep 2020

Saudi Arabia: Building for the future

The Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property has become the new sole authority for all IP matters as part of plans to transform the kingdom’s economy. Read more

3 Sep 2020

Sino-US Economic and Trade Agreement: IP and the pharma industry

The Economic and Trade Agreement between China and the United States was signed on 15 January 2020. Read more

28 Aug 2020

Coronil trademark twist; IPOS unveils new partnerships; Banjul marks in Mozambique  – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Glossier securing protection for its pink pouch, Pakistan promoting the use of GIs, China issuing opinions for destroying infringing and counterfeit goods, and much more. Read more

14 Aug 2020

Ben & Jerry’s gets political; Brazil to decide on iPhone mark; another Amazon anti-counterfeiting measure – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property looking to regulate its IP industry, Instagram’s new Reels brand facing a trademark lawsuit, and much more. Read more

Law Firms

View all
4 Aug 2020

Royal Family trademark feud; Uganda joins TMclass; counterfeits seized in Zhejiang – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how Microsoft’s bid for TikTok is still on the table, Victoria Beckham launching on Tmall Global, Kappa Japan (and associated IP assets) being sold, Monster Energy in a dispute with Bang Energy, and much more. Read more

29 Jul 2020

Time is running out to have your say on whether non-legal trademark services suppliers are delivering what you need

WTR needs your views on trademark search, watch and portfolio management services. Read more

27 Jul 2020

Dyson, Jack Daniels, Walmart and more join expert roster for WTR Connect

WTR can now reveal more speakers to our upcoming WTR Connect event, including experts from Amazon, ASOS, Dyson, Gilead, Jack Daniels, SuperDry and Walmart. Read more

14 Jul 2020

Experts from Amazon, GSK, Hugo Boss, Sony, Target and Disney among first confirmed participants for WTR Connect

WTR can now reveal the first confirmed participants to our upcoming WTR Connect event, including David Gooder, USPTO commissioner of trademarks, and experts from companies including Burberry, Starbucks and Under Armour. Read more

IP Offices

View all
5 Oct 2020

The new online trademark filing platform in Nigeria: more questions than answers

The upgrade of Nigeria’s online filing platform for trademark, patent and design applications, which was initiated in August 2020, has so far raised more issues and concerns than solutions for applicants. Read more

1 Sep 2020

Lebanon IP Office to reopen; GIs return to Brexit forefront; Mel Gibson brand dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at TikTok hosting its first shoppable live-stream, Nestlé finding a buyer for its water business, a counterfeit Nintendo Switch entering the market, and much more. Read more

25 Aug 2020

Renewal of overdue trademarks in Kenya – what you need to know

Within the context of an initiative to rid its Trademark Register of all unwanted trademark registrations, the Kenya Industrial Property Institute has published a Special Industrial Property Journal listing some 2,000 lapsed registrations. Read more

31 Jul 2020

Jeff Bezos on fake goods; Dyson counterfeiters jailed; trademarks at risk in Kenya – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA’s Unreal Campaign going virtual, how counterfeiting is on the rise in India, Romania upgrading its e-filing system, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
21 Jul 2020

“The death of trademark” – study finds that AI could adversely affect brand usage

A new research paper has looked at how improvements in AI could affect trademark doctrine – with the academic behind the study claiming that “trademarks may become less important in the future”. Read more

26 Jun 2020

How the virtual boutique finds the middle ground between law firm models

IP attorney Julia Anne Matheson explains why the Potomac Law Group has developed a business model that could shape the future of the trademark industry. Read more

24 Jun 2020

Brand protection challenges of domain management: 83% of companies at risk of hijacking, report shows

An alarming number of major organisations do not have sufficiently protected domains, says a new report, and such risk has significant brand protection implications. Read more

19 Jun 2020

Kenya trademark removal risk; warning over “egregious” scam email; ‘.brands’ scrap heap – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at AT&T considering the sale of Warner Bros Interactive, a sushi trademark dispute, ICANN and Global Cyber Alliance partnering up, and much more. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
8 Jul 2020

Enforcement in Africa: key qualities of a continent-wide brand protection strategy

WTR traverses the whole of Africa to provide brand owners with a comprehensive guide to brand protection across the region. Read more

3 Jul 2020

Trademark strategy is an early focus of the world’s top disruptors

Analysis of this year’s disruptor list reveals that these start-ups defy the typical IP filing process. Read more

2 Jul 2020

Are non-legal trademark services suppliers delivering what you need? WTR wants to know

WTR is polling law firm and corporate trademark professionals for their thoughts on how the trademark services sector is matching up to expectations. Read more

30 Jun 2020

Kenya’s journey towards a harmonised IP legal regime

The Intellectual Property Bill 2020 represents a significant step towards the strengthening of IP rights in Kenya. However, the bill contains gaps that threaten the practicality of the legislation. Read more

Trademark law

View all
13 May 2020

Dubai International Financial Centre introduces encouraging new IP law

The new Dubai International Financial Centre IP Law introduces a number of common law and best practice concepts to the wider UAE IP landscape. Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Israel

Customs is authorised to seize suspected goods (whether as a result of a complaint submitted by the rights holder or as a result of a random examination of shipments arriving in Israel). Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Saudi Arabia

Any rights holder whose trademark has been infringed is entitled to file a civil action against the infringer before the competent commercial court in order to claim compensation. Read more

6 Apr 2020

Managing finite filing budgets; the looming brand value crisis; Intel on diversity: new edition of WTR is now live

The Spring 2020 edition of WTR is now available online to subscribers, offering the latest litigation tips, insight into IP office innovation, wellbeing considerations, and much more. Read more

Find an expert