Africa & Middle East

Thomas Cook brand relaunched; ‘rip off’ Teddy Fresh clash; Lady A legal fight continues – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at industry groups teaming up to fight pirates, call for fake pharmaceutical stories, IP Australia announcing a new indigenous knowledge initiative, and much more.

Thomas Cook brand relaunched; ‘rip off’ Teddy Fresh clash; Lady A legal fight continues – news digest
“Beirut will rise again” – exclusive interview with head of Lebanon IP office
15 Sep 2020

“Beirut will rise again” – exclusive interview with head of Lebanon IP office

In an exclusive guest post, representatives from Alyafi IP Group speak with the head of the IP Unit at Lebanon’s Ministry of Economy about recovery efforts at the agency following the recent devastating explosion in Beirut.

Trump trademark approved in Argentina; Beijing IP Court update; Gucci ‘fake not’ collection – news digest
8 Sep 2020

Trump trademark approved in Argentina; Beijing IP Court update; Gucci ‘fake not’ collection – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at outrage over a WWE order about names and likenesses, Bumble announcing plans to go public, how counterfeiting remains a problem on Taobao, and much more.

Latest

View all
17 Sep 2020

EUIPO launch of AfrIPI aims to shake up trademark registration in Africa

The launch of a new EUIPO project focusing on intellectual property in Africa will see a number of tools for trademark and design registrations made available to IP offices across the continent – creating an exciting opportunity for European business looking to expand into Africa and vice versa. Read more

10 Sep 2020

A guide to OAPI: what you need to know

A comprehensive overview of trademark registration procedures at the African Intellectual Property Organisation provides registrants with the know-how to file a successful application, as well as offering realistic time frames and guidance on what to expect. Read more

3 Sep 2020

Covid-19 prompts applicant-friendly requirements in Cape Verde

Although Cape Verde currently has a stringent and inflexible trademark application process, temporary measures necessitated by covid-19 could be the first moves towards a more modernised system Read more

3 Sep 2020

Sino-US Economic and Trade Agreement: IP and the pharma industry

The Economic and Trade Agreement between China and the United States was signed on 15 January 2020. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
1 Sep 2020

Lebanon IP Office to reopen; GIs return to Brexit forefront; Mel Gibson brand dispute – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at TikTok hosting its first shoppable live-stream, Nestlé finding a buyer for its water business, a counterfeit Nintendo Switch entering the market, and much more. Read more

14 Aug 2020

Ben & Jerry’s gets political; Brazil to decide on iPhone mark; another Amazon anti-counterfeiting measure – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the Saudi Authority for Intellectual Property looking to regulate its IP industry, Instagram’s new Reels brand facing a trademark lawsuit, and much more. Read more

11 Aug 2020

Amazon extends Project Zero’s geographical footprint: 10,000 brands now enrolled in the programme

Amazon has announced the expansion of its Project Zero initiative to seven new countries - the latest in a series of anti-counterfeiting announcements made by the e-commerce giant. Read more

4 Aug 2020

Royal Family trademark feud; Uganda joins TMclass; counterfeits seized in Zhejiang – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how Microsoft’s bid for TikTok is still on the table, Victoria Beckham launching on Tmall Global, Kappa Japan (and associated IP assets) being sold, Monster Energy in a dispute with Bang Energy, and much more. Read more

Brand management

View all
28 Aug 2020

Coronil trademark twist; IPOS unveils new partnerships; Banjul marks in Mozambique  – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Glossier securing protection for its pink pouch, Pakistan promoting the use of GIs, China issuing opinions for destroying infringing and counterfeit goods, and much more. Read more

20 Aug 2020

As Apple hits $2 trillion in market value, tech companies in the WTR Brand Elite continue upward march

The WTR Brand elite project aims to track how companies that invest in their brands and are supported by market-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

31 Jul 2020

Jeff Bezos on fake goods; Dyson counterfeiters jailed; trademarks at risk in Kenya – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA’s Unreal Campaign going virtual, how counterfeiting is on the rise in India, Romania upgrading its e-filing system, and much more. Read more

30 Jul 2020

Counterfeit hotspots in Mauritius that brand owners must be aware of

In the latest instalment in our regular series on marketplaces around the globe that are reportedly notorious for being counterfeit havens, we head to the Indian Ocean and the island nation of Mauritius. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
8 Jul 2020

Enforcement in Africa: key qualities of a continent-wide brand protection strategy

WTR traverses the whole of Africa to provide brand owners with a comprehensive guide to brand protection across the region. Read more

8 Jul 2020

EUIPO top filers, China litigation data, diversity in trademarks, and much more: WTR’s summer edition now available

The summer issue of WTR is now available to subscribers; and includes an exploration of how private investigators are being employed by rights holders, analysis on the IP effects of the covid-19 pandemic, and much more. Read more

7 Jul 2020

Counterfeit hotspots in Madagascar that brand owners must be aware of

In the latest instalment in our regular series on marketplaces around the globe that are reportedly notorious for being counterfeit havens, we head to the island nation of Madagascar. Read more

2 Jul 2020

Are non-legal trademark services suppliers delivering what you need? WTR wants to know

WTR is polling law firm and corporate trademark professionals for their thoughts on how the trademark services sector is matching up to expectations. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
30 Jun 2020

Kenya’s journey towards a harmonised IP legal regime

The Intellectual Property Bill 2020 represents a significant step towards the strengthening of IP rights in Kenya. However, the bill contains gaps that threaten the practicality of the legislation. Read more

26 Jun 2020

Rise of the activist consumer: relationship between activism and brand loyalty revealed

A new report examines the links between activism and consumer behaviour, finding an increasing number of US consumers are making spending choices based on their social and political values. Read more

18 May 2020

“Information is our most effective weapon” – insights from the frontline of scambaiting

Talking to WTR, the content creator behind the popular Atomic Shrimp channel reveals the changing nature of scam emails and outlines what major brands can do to more effectively combat this long-time foe. Read more

1 May 2020

Star Wars hashtag controversy; Puma and Nike spar over FOOTWARE; EU geographical indications denounced – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Amazon verifying sellers using online video, fashion brands taking a community angle, exhausting the covid-19 price gougers, a joint message from the USPTO and EPO, and much more. Read more

Law Firms

View all
29 Jul 2020

Time is running out to have your say on whether non-legal trademark services suppliers are delivering what you need

WTR needs your views on trademark search, watch and portfolio management services. Read more

27 Jul 2020

Dyson, Jack Daniels, Walmart and more join expert roster for WTR Connect

WTR can now reveal more speakers to our upcoming WTR Connect event, including experts from Amazon, ASOS, Dyson, Gilead, Jack Daniels, SuperDry and Walmart. Read more

14 Jul 2020

Experts from Amazon, GSK, Hugo Boss, Sony, Target and Disney among first confirmed participants for WTR Connect

WTR can now reveal the first confirmed participants to our upcoming WTR Connect event, including David Gooder, USPTO commissioner of trademarks, and experts from companies including Burberry, Starbucks and Under Armour. Read more

26 Jun 2020

How the virtual boutique finds the middle ground between law firm models

IP attorney Julia Anne Matheson explains why the Potomac Law Group has developed a business model that could shape the future of the trademark industry. Read more

IP Offices

View all
25 Aug 2020

Renewal of overdue trademarks in Kenya – what you need to know

Within the context of an initiative to rid its Trademark Register of all unwanted trademark registrations, the Kenya Industrial Property Institute has published a Special Industrial Property Journal listing some 2,000 lapsed registrations. Read more

24 Jun 2020

New Trademarks Journal published amid covid-19 lockdown

Following the easing of the lockdown restrictions in certain parts of Nigeria, the Trademarks Registry published its latest Trademarks Journal on 29 May 2020. Despite this achievement, the covid-19 pandemic has underscored the urgency of fully embracing the electronic system. Read more

19 Jun 2020

Kenya trademark removal risk; warning over “egregious” scam email; ‘.brands’ scrap heap – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at AT&T considering the sale of Warner Bros Interactive, a sushi trademark dispute, ICANN and Global Cyber Alliance partnering up, and much more. Read more

26 May 2020

Manchester United targets Football Manager; Alibaba cooperation call; new gTLD use rising – news digest

In our latest edition, we look at China hitting back at covid-19 infringers, Off-White continuing to seek a red zip-tie trademark, IP complaints going digital in Bahrain, and much more. Read more

Online

View all
21 Jul 2020

“The death of trademark” – study finds that AI could adversely affect brand usage

A new research paper has looked at how improvements in AI could affect trademark doctrine – with the academic behind the study claiming that “trademarks may become less important in the future”. Read more

24 Jun 2020

Brand protection challenges of domain management: 83% of companies at risk of hijacking, report shows

An alarming number of major organisations do not have sufficiently protected domains, says a new report, and such risk has significant brand protection implications. Read more

4 Jun 2020

Google victorious in Iranian domain name dispute

Google has obtained the transfer of the domain names ‘iran-google.ir’ and ‘iran-google.com’, which had been registered by the same individual. Read more

28 May 2020

Final chance to share your insights on private investigators and brand protection

There’s just a couple of days left for WTR readers to share their perspective on how private investigators are assisting their brand protection work, and the challenges currently being faced when working with third-party investigators. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
3 Jul 2020

Trademark strategy is an early focus of the world’s top disruptors

Analysis of this year’s disruptor list reveals that these start-ups defy the typical IP filing process. Read more

19 Jun 2020

3D mark for Rubik’s Cube shape struck off register

In Extreme Toys Ltd v Seven Towns SA, the Israeli registrar of trademarks has held that the shape of the Rubik’s Cube was functional and was thus ineligible for registration as a 3D mark. Read more

15 May 2020

What the Virgin Media and O2 deal tells us about the branding struggles of telecom providers

The industry’s major players do a poor job of building consumer loyalty, and there is the constant risk of smaller, more flexible companies disrupting the market. Read more

14 May 2020

SUGARLESS v SUGARLEAN: Supreme Court of Appeal explores fundamental issues of IP law

In Quad Africa Energy (Pty) Ltd v The Sugarless Company (Pty) Ltd, South Africa’s Supreme Court of Appeal has considered the fine balance which must be found between the monopoly granted by IP rights and fair trade and competition. Read more

Trademark law

View all
13 May 2020

Dubai International Financial Centre introduces encouraging new IP law

The new Dubai International Financial Centre IP Law introduces a number of common law and best practice concepts to the wider UAE IP landscape. Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Israel

Customs is authorised to seize suspected goods (whether as a result of a complaint submitted by the rights holder or as a result of a random examination of shipments arriving in Israel). Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Saudi Arabia

Any rights holder whose trademark has been infringed is entitled to file a civil action against the infringer before the competent commercial court in order to claim compensation. Read more

6 Apr 2020

Managing finite filing budgets; the looming brand value crisis; Intel on diversity: new edition of WTR is now live

The Spring 2020 edition of WTR is now available online to subscribers, offering the latest litigation tips, insight into IP office innovation, wellbeing considerations, and much more. Read more

Find an expert