Africa & Middle East

Final chance to share your insights on private investigators and brand protection

There’s just a couple of days left for WTR readers to share their perspective on how private investigators are assisting their brand protection work, and the challenges currently being faced when working with third-party investigators.

Final chance to share your insights on private investigators and brand protection
Digital receptions: how law firms are approaching networking for INTA’s virtual 2020 Annual Meeting
27 May 2020

Digital receptions: how law firms are approaching networking for INTA’s virtual 2020 Annual Meeting

With the INTA confirming that its 2020 Annual Meeting will be a virtual event, law firms and service providers must now decide whether to host a networking reception in a digital environment.

Manchester United targets <em>Football Manager</em>; Alibaba cooperation call; new gTLD use rising – news digest
26 May 2020

Manchester United targets Football Manager; Alibaba cooperation call; new gTLD use rising – news digest

In our latest edition, we look at China hitting back at covid-19 infringers, Off-White continuing to seek a red zip-tie trademark, IP complaints going digital in Bahrain, and much more.

Latest

View all
28 May 2020

Mozambique joins the Banjul Protocol on trademarks

On 15 May 2020 the Mozambique government deposited its instrument of accession to the Banjul Protocol at the African Regional Intellectual Property Organisation (ARIPO). This is excellent news for future applicants as ARIPO is a much more cost-effective choice when it comes to filing applications in multiple jurisdictions. Read more

22 May 2020

IP Hall of Fame 2020 inductees revealed; Anaqua and Clarivate team up; Mozambique acedes to Banjul Protocol – news digest

In our latest edition, we look at the Eddie Stobart trademark being sold for £10 million, how a reluctance to seek medical help is leading to a rise in counterfeit goods, and much more. Read more

20 May 2020

How do private investigators assist in brand protection cases?

WTR readers have a last chance to share their perspective on how private investigators are assisting their brand protection work, and the challenges currently being faced when working with PIs. Read more

18 May 2020

“Information is our most effective weapon” – insights from the frontline of scambaiting

Talking to WTR, the content creator behind the popular Atomic Shrimp channel reveals the changing nature of scam emails and outlines what major brands can do to more effectively combat this long-time foe. Read more

Anti-Counterfeiting

View all
12 May 2020

A new normal: trademark community on life during and after the coronavirus pandemic – exclusive survey results

New research from WTR reveals the brand protection challenges being faced by trademark professionals during the covid-19 crisis, finding practitioners facing significant salary cuts, increased infringement and the spectre of budgets being slashed. Read more

11 May 2020

Counterfeit hotspots in Egypt that brand owners must be aware of

In the latest instalment in our regular series on marketplaces around the globe that are reportedly notorious for being counterfeit havens, we head to the African nation of Egypt. Read more

6 May 2020

Private investigators and brand protection: have your say

WTR is inviting trademark industry professionals to share their perspective on how private investigators (PIs) are assisting with brand protection work, and the challenges currently being faced when finding and working with PIs. Read more

5 May 2020

Snapdeal snaps at USTR; Anheuser-Busch prevails; Ghana raises trademark fees – news digest

In our latest edition, we look at the South Africa Supreme Court of Appeals confirming it will hear a Swiss watch trademark suit, Partnerize acquiring BrandVerity, law firms delaying partner promotions due to covid-19, and much more. Read more

Brand management

View all
15 May 2020

What the Virgin Media and O2 deal tells us about the branding struggles of telecom providers

The industry’s major players do a poor job of building consumer loyalty, and there is the constant risk of smaller, more flexible companies disrupting the market. Read more

1 May 2020

Star Wars hashtag controversy; Puma and Nike spar over FOOTWARE; EU geographical indications denounced – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Amazon verifying sellers using online video, fashion brands taking a community angle, exhausting the covid-19 price gougers, a joint message from the USPTO and EPO, and much more. Read more

29 Apr 2020

How has the coronavirus impacted your brand protection efforts?

WTR is inviting trademark professionals to share their perspective on the issues that have arisen in recent weeks – and there’s only a few more days to let us know. Read more

21 Apr 2020

Coronavirus and its impact on trademark practice: have your say

WTR is inviting trademark professionals to share their perspective on how the ongoing covid-19 pandemic is impacting brand protection efforts, and what the future may look like. Read more

Enforcement and Litigation

View all
14 May 2020

SUGARLESS v SUGARLEAN: Supreme Court of Appeal explores fundamental issues of IP law

In Quad Africa Energy (Pty) Ltd v The Sugarless Company (Pty) Ltd, South Africa’s Supreme Court of Appeal has considered the fine balance which must be found between the monopoly granted by IP rights and fair trade and competition. Read more

13 May 2020

Dubai International Financial Centre introduces encouraging new IP law

The new Dubai International Financial Centre IP Law introduces a number of common law and best practice concepts to the wider UAE IP landscape. Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Israel

Customs is authorised to seize suspected goods (whether as a result of a complaint submitted by the rights holder or as a result of a random examination of shipments arriving in Israel). Read more

23 Apr 2020

Procedures and strategies for anti-counterfeiting: Saudi Arabia

Any rights holder whose trademark has been infringed is entitled to file a civil action against the infringer before the competent commercial court in order to claim compensation. Read more

Government/Policy

View all
14 Apr 2020

INTA’s donation drive and trademark community efforts to step up the covid-19 response

In our latest opinion piece we consider INTA’s recently established covid-19 donation drive. Read more

14 Apr 2020

Verizon recovers infringing covid-19 domain names; Michael Jordan ends long-running dispute; Syria fee changes – news digest

In our latest edition, we look at Tom Brady’s trademark filing spree, a law firm offering pro bono covid-19 patent protection representation, how voice commerce will be a “game-changer” for brands, and much more. Read more

6 Apr 2020

Where Sharia meets intellectual property: brand protection in GCC states

For brand owners that need to protect and enforce their intellectual property in the Persian Gulf, understanding the impact of Sharia law can help to ensure their actions are more effective. Read more

6 Mar 2020

Daren Tang and US react to WIPO win; Cypriot Halloumi victorious; Virginia is non-lactose milk intolerant – news digest

In our latest roundup, we look at a Chinese event promising to keep to its June date, Brooks Brothers continued trademark spat, Hugo Boss’s reply to Hugo Boss, and much more. Read more

Law Firms

View all
6 Apr 2020

Managing finite filing budgets; the looming brand value crisis; Intel on diversity: new edition of WTR is now live

The Spring 2020 edition of WTR is now available online to subscribers, offering the latest litigation tips, insight into IP office innovation, wellbeing considerations, and much more. Read more

12 Mar 2020

Law firms respond to coronavirus emergency as situation worsens

In our latest opinion column, we look at how law firms are – and should be – responding to the novel coronavirus epidemic. Read more

3 Mar 2020

US House fakes bill; MARQUES Spring Meeting cancelled; rise of counterfeits on TikTok – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP Office of New Zealand warnings of fraudulent invoices, a Chinese government news outlet pushing back against anti-IP sentiment, African Intellectual Property Organisation meeting the prime minister of Mauritania, and much more. Read more

12 Feb 2020

Less than a week left to contribute to major trademark industry survey

There is not long left to participate in WTR’s annual Global Trademark Benchmarking Survey; all participants to the short survey will be entered into a draw to win one of five free places at their choice of an upcoming WTR event. Read more

IP Offices

View all
28 Apr 2020

Impact of covid-19 lockdown on trademark practice in Nigeria

Nigeria’s main cities have been in lockdown due to the covid-19 pandemic since 30 March 2020. The registry’s lack of action is creating uncertainties for trademark owners and applicants, and is likely to result in additional backlog once the lockdown is lifted. Read more

23 Apr 2020

UAE Trademark Office reduces official fees

In a welcome development for trademark owners, the UAE Trademark Office has reduced the majority of its official fees by up to 30%, including for searching, filing, registration, renewal and oppositions. Read more

6 Apr 2020

Innovation domination: the IP offices breaking through boundaries

In the 2020 edition of our exclusive research project into the most innovative IP offices in the world, we found significant improvements in non-core tools and services – although gaps remain. Read more

13 Mar 2020

Trademarks Office now accepting trademark applications – but caution is still advised

Since the overthrow of the Somali government in 1991, it had not been possible to obtain registered trademark protection in the country. It now appears that the Trademarks Office is accepting applications, but there is no publication procedure or opposition period in place. Read more

Online

View all
25 Mar 2020

While ‘Tokyo 2020’ will now take place in 2021, brands will get their time to shine

The Olympics is a world-renowned brand which lends its powerful reputation to its partners and sponsors. Given its reach and reputation, the IOC does not play around with its trademark protections. Read more

13 Nov 2019

Lagging behind? Trademark issues revealed as substantial risk for esports industry

A major new survey finds IP and licensing are the most significant legal issues facing the esports industry. The findings reveal an opportunity for law firms across the world in the fledgling esports space. Read more

1 Oct 2019

New editions of WTR and Pharmaceutical Trademarks: A Global Guide now available

The Autumn 2019 edition of WTR, revealing the top filers at key registries across Asia, and the eighth edition of Pharmaceutical Trademarks: A Global Guide are now published. Read more

13 Sep 2019

Extinction Rebellion trademark, Egypt fee rise, and Crocs Gloves in art gallery: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at Māori uproar over a New Zealand trademark application, WIPO in Hungary, MARQUES addressing long goods and services lists at the EUIPO, and much more. Read more

Portfolio Management

View all
6 Apr 2020

Brand creation and protection: out with the old

Trademark experts from across the globe offer critical insight into brand creation best practice and guidance on pitfalls to avoid. Read more

6 Apr 2020

WTR Industry Awards 2020: the shortlist revealed

The WTR Industry Awards 2020 honour leading trademark teams and individuals across a range of sectors. Here we unveil the shortlist. Read more

27 Mar 2020

Twitter: the land of risk and opportunity

The social media giant has found its voice, and is helping others to build and differentiate their own brands Read more

6 Mar 2020

How Microsoft’s calculated efforts at forging emotional connections have reinforced its brand strength

The company re-evaluated its brand strategy years ago, and since then has been consistently working to refine its image. Read more

Trademark law

View all
10 Feb 2020

Searching industrial designs: how AI is changing the game

In this guest post, Dr Robert Stutz, partner at Beutler Künzi Stutz, explores how AI technology is powering new ways to search industrial designs faster, more effectively, and at a lower cost. Read more

2 Jan 2020

Around the world in 18 predictions

As a new decade dawns, World Trademark Review asks practitioners around the world for their top takeaways from 2019 and their predictions for the year ahead. Read more

9 Dec 2019

Confusion over non-use and assignment of associated marks in East Africa

Rights holders in Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda are reaping the benefits of associated trademarks. However, a lack of relevant case law means that legal provisions concerning non-use and assignment of such marks are leaving many scratching their heads. Read more

1 Oct 2019

Trademark licensing in Africa: an A-Z whistle-stop tour

With Africa proving to be a particularly lucrative region for brands seeking licensing opportunities, we examine what rights holders need to know about trademark licences from a swathe of nations across the continent. Read more

Find an expert