Opinion

‘.brand’ withdrawals approach the 100 milestone but don’t write off the project

We reflect on the ’.brand’ project and what conclusions to draw from recent termination requests in our latest Saturday opinion column.

07 August 2021

The billionaire space race tells us more about personal brands than orbital spaceflight

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the contrasting coverage surrounding Jeff Bezos and Richard Branson’s race to space.

31 July 2021

Headlines suggest Toyota is shying away from Olympics, but reality is very different

In this week’s opinion column, we reflect on the news that Toyota is scaling back its promotional activity around the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

24 July 2021

Sugar and salt tax today, brand restrictions tomorrow? The evidence would suggest so

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider calls for a £3 billion sugar and salt tax in the United Kingdom and whether this could be the start of renewed momentum towards brand restrictions.

17 July 2021

INTA’s Iceland case amicus brief throws the spotlight on the registrability of country names as trademarks

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we scrutinise the amicus brief submitted by INTA on the registrability of country names as trademarks.

10 July 2021

In the wake of the NCAA’s new approach to image rights, student-athlete brand building is about to step up like never before

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider the implications of the National Collegiate Athletic Association’s adoption of an interim name, image and likeness policy.

03 July 2021

Why the view of brand valuation needs to change for environmental groups to achieve full potential

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we ask why more environmental organisations are not engaging in brand valuation.

26 June 2021

Cristiano Ronaldo’s Coca-Cola snub is a reminder of the power of personality and how sponsor-player relationships are changing for good

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the relationship between brands and sports stars.

19 June 2021

Why the UK could be flooded with cheap imported branded products if post-Brexit exhaustion of rights regime is changed

In this week’s opinion piece, Lee Curtis and Rebecca Field from HGF explain why it is crucially important for brand owners to have their say as part of the UK government's post-Brexit exhaustion of IP rights consultation.

12 June 2021

Someone needs to step up to tackle spurious trademark filing platforms, but who will take the initiative?

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the rise of low-cost trademark filing websites and what can be done to tackle those that offer terrible service or, in some instances, are set up to scam users.

05 June 2021

The trademark workplace has changed and organisations must adapt or risk losing talent

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we explore what the newest WTR expert panel report reveals about the future of the trademark workplace – and why employees may have reached their breaking point.

29 May 2021

Facebook releases new enforcement data as legislators ramp up pressure over platform liability

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we scrutinise Facebook’s latest Intellectual Property Transparency Report, which was published the day before legislators reintroduced the SHOP SAFE Act.

22 May 2021

The brand ecosystem is finite, so it is time data providers start thinking bigger

In our latest Saturday opinion column we consider the potential for data providers to tweak their platforms to target those in the investment and finance space.

15 May 2021

Mars Wrigley’s lawsuit against cannabis companies illustrates the need for brands to police this fast-maturing industry

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider the news that Mars Wrigley has launched legal action in both the United States and Canada against companies operating in the cannabis industry.

08 May 2021

As large trademark events pivot to hybrid models, they are setting down foundations for future growth and opportunity

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on a week in which INTA announced its Annual Meeting would be a ‘virtual+’ event and MARQUES expanded on its plans for a hybrid annual conference.

01 May 2021

There’s no day like World IP Day to prove US innovation is a priority: op-ed

In our latest Saturday opinion column, ahead of World IP Day, Christina Mitropoulos calls on the Biden administration to seize the moment and send a clear message that it will prioritise and protect US creativity and innovation.

24 April 2021

What is notable about the Colin the Caterpillar spat is not the dispute itself

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider the media frenzy surrounding the news that Colin the Caterpillar and his nemesis Cuthbert are locked in a legal dispute.

17 April 2021

Satan Shoes settlement is a good result for both parties, but some will lament the fact the case was not heard

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we examine how the dispute between Nike and MSCHF’s Satan Shoes played out.

10 April 2021

Following in the footsteps of Michael Jordan, New Balance, Peppa Pig and Puma, expect more high-profile trademark decisions in China in the coming months

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we look at recent policy announcements and big decisions in China.

03 April 2021

While the ‘mandatory versus voluntary’ debate continues, legislation on platform action over fake goods looms ever closer

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the reintroduction of the US INFORM Consumers Act.

27 March 2021

Unlock unlimited access to all WTR content