Opinion

While the ‘mandatory versus voluntary’ debate continues, legislation on platform action over fake goods looms ever closer

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the reintroduction of the US INFORM Consumers Act.

27 March 2021

Now the genie is out the bottle, expect IP enforcement to remain high on government agendas

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on recent collaborations between enforcement authorities, IP offices and rights holders.

20 March 2021

Virgin brand value spat shows that reputation matters; now is the time for trademark professionals to make themselves part of the discussion

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on a high-profile licensing dispute between Virgin and Brightline, which highlights the growing interest in brand valuations.

13 March 2021

Filings from China won't slow any time soon, but IP offices have to plan for a future that looks even more different

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we argue that high levels of filing activity by Chinese applicants are unlikely to end any time soon.

06 March 2021

App takedowns are the new cease and desist dilemma, and require careful strategising

In our Saturday opinion piece, we consider recent backlashes against app marketplace takedown actions – and the resulting media coverage.

27 February 2021

Consolidation continues in IP services sector but further tech innovation expected (not least from law firms)

In our Saturday opinion piece, we consider recent activity in the non-legal IP services market.

20 February 2021

Coca-Cola voices frustration over lack of diversity in legal field, expect more companies to follow suit

Coca-Cola has become the latest company to publicly detail the diversity, inclusion and belonging commitments that it expects of law firms in its external network.

13 February 2021

Efforts to help SMEs acquire and use trademarks are great, but more needs to be done to protect them from scammers

While efforts to help more SMEs benefit from IP ownership are to be applauded, there also needs to be a relentless industry focus on keeping them safe from the fraudsters and scammers.

06 February 2021

Recalibrating the work-life balance will be one of the biggest challenges facing trademark professionals in 2021 (and beyond)

In our latest opinion column we reflect on the findings of the latest WTR Trademark Elite Expert Panel report.

30 January 2021

Under-resourced and under-appreciated: now is the time for trademark teams to raise their corporate profile

In the first of a series of Saturday opinion columns we consider what 2021 will look like for corporate trademark professionals, and how they should respond.

16 January 2021

Get unlimited access to all WTR content