Online

Alibaba avoids inclusion on European Commission's new notorious markets list

The European Commission published its Counterfeit and Piracy Watch List, identifying both online and physical marketplaces that are reported to engage in or facilitate counterfeiting and piracy.

Alibaba avoids inclusion on European Commission's new notorious markets list
7 Dec 2018

Turkey plain packaging, WIPO praises Pakistan IPO and '.amazon' up in the air: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a tussle over BRENT marks in Singapore, a "worrying trend" of retail fakes in Papua New Guinea, a new UK IP minister, and much more.

4 Dec 2018

Angola brand deadline looms, France and Peru sign IP action plan, and new Chile trademark guidelines: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the United Kingdom’s IP minister seat being vacant once again, question marks over affiliate links on Instagram, puns being encouraged at the Philippines IP office, and much more.

Latest

View all
30 Nov 2018

China launches new online trademark system; expert calls for focus on examination quality

China’s National Intellectual Property Administration has launched its new online trademark services system, with one local expert telling WTR that the next task should be “to retain – or arguably regain – the quality of examination”. Read more

27 Nov 2018

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more. Read more

26 Nov 2018

Dolce & Gabbana backlash in China: a reputational, financial and political perfect storm

We take a deep-dive into the brand backlash against Dolce & Gabbana in China, after an advertising campaign was deemed racist and insensitive. Read more

23 Nov 2018

IPOPHL celebrates record haul, Rospatent promotes benefits of GIs, and emoji-tions run high in China: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at $7 million worth of counterfeit condoms being seized in China, Canada Goose opening an additional office in Beijing, and much more. Read more

News

View all
20 Nov 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more. Read more

13 Nov 2018

Kylie Minogue's trademark dispute regret, licensing case heads to Supreme Court and INTA launches podcast: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we report on INTA's new podcast, Apple's new partnership with Amazon, Kylie Minogue's regrets over her dispute with Kylie Jenner, and much more. Read more

9 Nov 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more. Read more

6 Nov 2018

US Navy donates trademark licensing money, Lego prevails, and Pinduoduo attracts brands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion designer ‘naming and shaming’ buyers of counterfeits, Japan banning trademark registrations for era names, Georgia celebrating its 100,000th trademark application, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
23 Nov 2018

Victory for Louboutin as Delhi High Court clarifies responsibilities of online intermediaries

In Christian Louboutin SAS v Nakul, the Delhi High Court has ruled in favour of Louboutin, stating that the safe harbour protection under Section 79 of the Information Technology Act is not absolute. Read more

23 Nov 2018

"We are not optimistic": future of WHOIS access remains uncertain after report release

ICANN's expedited policy development process team has published its initial WHOIS data report; one industry expert tells WTR that “there is little to please trademark owners" with respect to WHOIS access. Read more

22 Nov 2018

Warning: UDRP proceedings are not a "Plan B"

In a recent decision under the UDRP, a panel has refused to order the transfer of a domain name that exactly matched the complainant's mark and made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking, stating that the proceedings constituted the complainant’s "Plan B". Read more

16 Nov 2018

Flying dog flew away – UDRP panel denies domain name transfer and makes RDNH finding

In a recent decision under the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, a panel has denied the transfer of a domain name and made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking due to the complainant's intentional misrepresentations. Read more

Research

View all
5 Apr 2018

The online enforcement burden rises as new challenges emerge

This year’s Global Trademark Benchmarking Survey reveals that the online policing burden is intensifying, with new threats adding to the headache experienced by brand protection professionals. Read more

15 Feb 2018

Logan Paul fiasco shows risk for brands on YouTube; research reveals more YouTubers seeking trademark protection

Recent incidents have demonstrated why brands must be careful when advertising on YouTube. New research also reveals that YouTube's content creators are increasingly obtaining registered trademark protection. Read more

8 Dec 2017

US retail brands are teeming with life despite the so-called 'retail apocalypse': exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review takes an in-depth look at the retail sector. As one of the most dynamic branding environments of any industry sector, we analyse how the top brands in this field have performed. Read more

13 Oct 2017

As remarkable growth of sports industry continues, exclusive data analysis reveals the key trademark trends

From today, World Trademark Review will be producing a new series of industry-specific data reports. We start with a deep dive into sports and sporting goods. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

The future of trademarks

Global brand owners face increasing challenges in protecting, managing and enforcing their IP rights. These include challenges arising from new technologies, new business models and new markets. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: France

Any natural person or legal entity can apply for a French trademark before the French Institut National de la Propriété Industrielle (INPI). The application can be filed by the owner itself or its representative. Read more

12 Sep 2018

IP infringement on social networks: landscape analysis of trends and threats

The counterfeit industry is one of a kind: it makes a fortune out of fake goods, while free-riding on the reputation of well-known brands.  Read more

11 Sep 2018

INTA: a truly international association

INTA’s advocacy and engagement activities have continued to accelerate in response to the growing effect of the globalisation of trade, the emergence of the Internet and advances in communication technology.  Read more