Law Firms

Democratising trademark surveys – academic calls for step-change in distinctiveness evidence gathering

New study calls for a revolution in trademark survey evidence, with an expert telling us he hopes that brand owners will start embracing lower-cost survey alternatives.

Democratising trademark surveys – academic calls for step-change in distinctiveness evidence gathering
23 Nov 2018

IPOPHL celebrates record haul, Rospatent promotes benefits of GIs, and emoji-tions run high in China: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at $7 million worth of counterfeit condoms being seized in China, Canada Goose opening an additional office in Beijing, and much more.

22 Nov 2018

Artificial intelligence: a legal apocalypse or business ‘almost as usual’?

In our latest column, we cut through concerns about how the development of AI technology could impact legal, and specifically trademark, practice.

Latest

View all
21 Nov 2018

Baker McKenzie tops European law firm brand index; non-traditional firms “gaining credibility”

Baker McKenzie has topped a new ranking of the leading law firm brands in mainland Europe, with “global firms beating out Euro-centric firms” according to market analysis firm Acritas.  Read more

20 Nov 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more. Read more

15 Nov 2018

WTR 1000 2019 rankings now available to subscribers

The 2019 rankings tables for the WTR 1000 – The World’s Leading Trademark Professionals are now available online. This first look at our latest research findings, two months before public release, is exclusive to WTR subscribers. Read more

13 Nov 2018

Kylie Minogue's trademark dispute regret, licensing case heads to Supreme Court and INTA launches podcast: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we report on INTA's new podcast, Apple's new partnership with Amazon, Kylie Minogue's regrets over her dispute with Kylie Jenner, and much more. Read more

News

View all
9 Nov 2018

Sweden to modernise trademark rules, new USPTO deputy director, and Benelux fee changes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study showing the scale of illicit alcohol, a Counterfeit Mini ad being lauded, luxury brands' increasing use of sound design in their products, and much more. Read more

2 Nov 2018

Azerbaijan pledges IP reforms, plain packaging in Singapore, and Ecuador plans mediation center: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the JPO offering a souvenir certificate for long-time rights holders, fashion brands stepping up their tech game, a new director at the Tunisian IP Office, and much more. Read more

23 Oct 2018

Trademarks matter – but not at all costs

We reflect on the flurry of media reports related to law firm workloads and pressure, and look at how the trademark industry must work together to recognise, mitigate and support those affected by workplace stress. Read more

9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
7 Nov 2018

Compulsory conundrum: debate surrounds mandatory mediation for IP disputes

The introduction of mandatory mediation in Greece has faced criticism which eventually led to its suspension; a move that has left question marks over whether wider adoption of such a model is viable. Read more

16 Oct 2018

How Canada’s new cannabis regime will impact a range of brands and law firms

With Canada set to legalise recreational cannabis, our latest opinion column looks at why trademark counsel should watch this development closely. Read more

18 Sep 2018

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands

In this week’s opinion column, we consider how law firms can future-proof their trademark practices. Read more

17 Sep 2018

Trademark litigation remains flat in 2018 as Central District of California continues to be ‘go-to’ venue

Lex Machina has reported that 2,745 trademark litigation cases have been filed in the US so far this year. Therefore, the projected total for year-end  indicates that filings will remain flat after a near-decade of decline. Read more

Research

View all
27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: France

Any natural person or legal entity can apply for a French trademark before the French Institut National de la Propriété Industrielle (INPI). The application can be filed by the owner itself or its representative. Read more

13 Mar 2018

Managing a pharmaceutical trademark portfolio with the assistance of outside counsel

Responsibility for a company’s portfolio is frequently placed in the hands of a few specialists. Often, this is not the only task carried out within the department. However, the legal protection of trademarks requires a high degree of specialisation. Read more

Find an expert