Law Firms

How Canada’s new cannabis regime will impact a range of brands and law firms

With Canada set to legalise recreational cannabis, our latest opinion column looks at why trademark counsel should watch this development closely.

How Canada’s new cannabis regime will impact a range of brands and law firms
9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more.

5 Oct 2018

Kavanaugh testimony sparks beer trademark, Canada Goose admits fakes are beneficial, and UK food fraud concern: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Colombia’s national IP office launching an accelerated trademark form for commercial brands, Toys-R-Us cancelling its brand auction, and much more.

Latest

View all
2 Oct 2018

“The EUIPO should lead on enforcement” – trademark community reacts to Archambeau appointment

National IP offices within the European Union, key trademark associations and leading filing law firms in the EU react to the appointment of Christian Archambeau as the new executive director of the EUIPO. Read more

28 Sep 2018

Worldwide spread of plain packaging revealed, TMview expands, and brake pads made of grass: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study into the accidental purchases of fakes, the Fiji government stepping into a trademark dispute, Kyrgyzpatent warning about use of unregistered marks, two ‘.brands’ calling it quits, and much more. Read more

18 Sep 2018

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands

In this week’s opinion column, we consider how law firms can future-proof their trademark practices. Read more

17 Sep 2018

Trademark litigation remains flat in 2018 as Central District of California continues to be ‘go-to’ venue

Lex Machina has reported that 2,745 trademark litigation cases have been filed in the US so far this year. Therefore, the projected total for year-end  indicates that filings will remain flat after a near-decade of decline. Read more

News

View all
14 Sep 2018

Saudi Arabia to adopt plain packaging, T-ara resolve trademark dispute, and ICANN needs your feedback on RPMs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the US brands with the most loyal customers, 7-Eleven taking a menswear brand to court for alleged trademark infringement, and much more. Read more

7 Sep 2018

Wine Spectator versus Weed Spectator, Trump slams Nike, and an ode to trademark attorneys: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at trade associations calling for more clarify over rules of origin, CEO of a US cheese company slamming the EU’s GI regime, how Nike’s new ad campaign may have damaged the brand, and much more. Read more

31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

28 Aug 2018

Registrations double in Cayman Islands, Peppa Pig victory in China, and Aldi most trusted brand in Australia: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at China and Indonesia giving up the plain packaging fight, a Colin Kaepernick trademark application generating media buzz, why US colleges have been accused of trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
7 Sep 2018

The fall of the own-name defence

The ability to raise the own-name defence in Europe is about to come to an end. This article examines the consequences of recent own-name legislative changes for businesses in Europe. Read more

24 Aug 2018

A-Z of EU trademark court practice and performance: Netherlands to Slovenia

In the fourth of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the past two years. Read more

24 Aug 2018

“It’s not a silver bullet – there are trade-offs”: new perspectives on the use of blockchain against counterfeiters

Blockchain could play a significant role in the fight against fakes further down the line, and has been the focus of much attention in IP circles. Read more

17 Aug 2018

Chile punches well above its weight from a trademark and branding perspective: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, we examine the major trademark trends in the Chilean market. We show that both domestic and foreign filings are stable, reveal the most valuable brands in the country, and analyse the key trademark classes used for both inbound and outbound applications.   Read more

Research

View all
27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: France

Any natural person or legal entity can apply for a French trademark before the French Institut National de la Propriété Industrielle (INPI). The application can be filed by the owner itself or its representative. Read more

13 Mar 2018

Managing a pharmaceutical trademark portfolio with the assistance of outside counsel

Responsibility for a company’s portfolio is frequently placed in the hands of a few specialists. Often, this is not the only task carried out within the department. However, the legal protection of trademarks requires a high degree of specialisation. Read more

Find an expert