IP Offices

Servicing the global flow of innovation and ideas: the IP Office of Singapore year in review

The recent boom in economic activity across Asia has been reflected by a significant increase in the number of IP applications filed in the region – and the IP Office of Singapore is leading the way in innovation.

Servicing the global flow of innovation and ideas: the IP Office of Singapore year in review
10 Dec 2018

How INTA is helping to shape the trademark environment in Africa and the Middle East

This week, INTA is hosting its 2018 Middle East and Africa Conference. As the event kicked off, we spoke with an INTA representative to look at recent developments and why an annual meeting in the region is “a natural step”.

7 Dec 2018

Turkey plain packaging, WIPO praises Pakistan IPO and '.amazon' up in the air: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a tussle over BRENT marks in Singapore, a "worrying trend" of retail fakes in Papua New Guinea, a new UK IP minister, and much more.

Latest

View all
7 Dec 2018

Nine takeaways from Brand Strategy China

This week, WTR hosted the third annual Brand Strategy China in Shanghai, and we present best practice takeaways from the attending senior brand protection experts from the corporate and legal worlds. Read more

5 Dec 2018

“A significant blow for Cadbury” – UK Court of Appeal decision puts purple trademark at risk

According to experts, the decision at the UK Court of Appeal leaves Cadbury's purple trademark “vulnerable” and could spur competitor Nestlé to consider options in terms of cancelling the registration. Read more

4 Dec 2018

Angola brand deadline looms, France and Peru sign IP action plan, and new Chile trademark guidelines: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the United Kingdom’s IP minister seat being vacant once again, question marks over affiliate links on Instagram, puns being encouraged at the Philippines IP office, and much more. Read more

4 Dec 2018

AI examinations and a new manual: the JPO end of year review

It has been another busy year for the trademark division at the Japan Patent Office, especially in the development of examinations. Read more

News

View all
30 Nov 2018

Finnish IP office launches chatbot, Lazada signs MOU and JPO fakes campaign: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands avoiding Black Friday discounts, Edible Arrangements filing a trademark lawsuit, a huge counterfeit haul in Paraguay, and much more. Read more

27 Nov 2018

Hugo Boss accused of bullying, Mexico IPO enters logo debate and fake shopping apps discovered: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a brand owner claiming the IPO “made a mistake” in granting their mark, an Indian shopping site launching a new anti-counterfeiting programme, and much more. Read more

23 Nov 2018

IPOPHL celebrates record haul, Rospatent promotes benefits of GIs, and emoji-tions run high in China: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at $7 million worth of counterfeit condoms being seized in China, Canada Goose opening an additional office in Beijing, and much more. Read more

20 Nov 2018

Russian president on fakes, Google trademark win, and tale of the counterfeit-catching brothers: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Pakistan stepping up its fight against fakes, the Finnish IP office reminding users about an impending trademark change, IP Australia seeking user input, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
4 Dec 2018

USPTO report pledges to sustain quality amid rising applications – but are fraud issues glossed over?

The USPTO has published its latest strategic plan, which focuses on the need to be equipped to handle the ever-increasing number of trademark filings, with little mention of ongoing fraud issues. Read more

4 Dec 2018

China drives global trademark registrations to new heights; challenges persist for brands

Newly released statistics from WIPO have revealed that 2017 was a record-breaking year in terms of trademark applications, spurred by massive growth in China – which is set to break the 8 million application barrier. Read more

30 Nov 2018

China launches new online trademark system; expert calls for focus on examination quality

China’s National Intellectual Property Administration has launched its new online trademark services system, with one local expert telling WTR that the next task should be “to retain – or arguably regain – the quality of examination”. Read more

28 Nov 2018

Regulations clarify role of new agencies following China's IP institutional reform

China’s State Commission Office for Public Sector Reform has released two regulations which clarify the role and functions of the agencies created by the country’s recent institutional reform. Read more

Research

View all
29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

18 May 2018

India’s revitalised trademark landscape fails to boost leading brands: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s exclusive country data report, we provide a rundown of India’s trademark landscape. We explore the surge in registrations at the Indian IP office, reveal the top filers, and inspect the widespread fall in value of the country’s top brands. Read more

6 May 2018

UK trademark scene post-Brexit: a world-class IP office dealing with uncertainty in a volatile brand environment

We provide a breakdown of the UK trademark market – examining how Brexit has affected filing strategies, inspecting brand value trends, and analysing the stellar performance of the UK IP Office. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Japan

 The Examination Guidelines for Trademarks also play an important role in the examination of trademark applications at the Japan Patent Office (JPO). The most recent revisions to the examination guidelines took place in April 2017, which include clarifying the criteria for judging the similarities between trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Italy

Italy has a first-to-file system, therefore unregistered trademarks enjoy a lesser degree of protection than registered trademarks. Only in exceptional circumstances can an unregistered trademark prevail over a later registered trademark. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Israel

While the Trademark Ordinance predominantly provides protection for registered trademarks, it also protects unregistered well-known trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: India

The Indian courts have taken the lead in issuing landmark decisions on several issues, including recognition of trans-border reputation and goodwill, trademark violations in respect of unrelated goods, online counterfeiting and protection of celebrity rights. Read more

Find an expert