IP Offices

Louis Vuitton takedown spree, Poundland relaunches Twin Peaks bar, and a proposal for next round of ‘.brand’ TLDs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Malaysian minister promoting the Madrid Protocol, food conglomerates moving to revamp their portfolios, and more.

Louis Vuitton takedown spree, Poundland relaunches Twin Peaks bar, and a proposal for next round of ‘.brand’ TLDs: news round-up
15 Oct 2018

“A good move for the development of IP on the African continent” – ARIPO, OAPI and WIPO pledge more cooperation

The three organisations have signed an agreement pledging increased technical cooperation, and is a continuation of rising IP collaboration in Africa.

12 Oct 2018

Coca-Cola dispute sparks censorship debate, Alfred Dunhill scores big in China, and Belt and Road IP cooperation: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how brands should share bad news, why Chinese companies have been accused of “poor branding”, Silk Road member states strengthening IP cooperation, and more.

Latest

View all
9 Oct 2018

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more. Read more

5 Oct 2018

Kavanaugh testimony sparks beer trademark, Canada Goose admits fakes are beneficial, and UK food fraud concern: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Colombia’s national IP office launching an accelerated trademark form for commercial brands, Toys-R-Us cancelling its brand auction, and much more. Read more

5 Oct 2018

Why brand owners hold the key to tackling IP misreporting and misrepresentation

In our latest opinion column, we consider how the trademark industry can meaningfully tackle media misperceptions of IP protection and enforcement. Read more

2 Oct 2018

Philippines IP Office to begin mandatory mediation, Donuts adds rights protection feature, and KFC versus KKFC: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO collaborating with Saudi IP authorities, a reported rise in fake Irish whiskey, the Kenyan government blaming border countries for its fakes problem, and much more. Read more

News

View all
2 Oct 2018

“The EUIPO should lead on enforcement” – trademark community reacts to Archambeau appointment

National IP offices within the European Union, key trademark associations and leading filing law firms in the EU react to the appointment of Christian Archambeau as the new executive director of the EUIPO. Read more

1 Oct 2018

Christian Archambeau officially appointed executive director of EU Intellectual Property Office

The EUIPO has confirmed that Christian Archambeau will take the reins permanently as executive director. His appointment comes at a time of turbulence at the EUIPO, with question marks still hanging over what Brexit could mean for EU trademark holders. Read more

28 Sep 2018

Worldwide spread of plain packaging revealed, TMview expands, and brake pads made of grass: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a study into the accidental purchases of fakes, the Fiji government stepping into a trademark dispute, Kyrgyzpatent warning about use of unregistered marks, two ‘.brands’ calling it quits, and much more. Read more

25 Sep 2018

USPTO director talks trademark clutter, Uber declares itself a verb, and beware sketchy Chinese licences: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at Ecuador joining TMClass, ICANN postponing its data privacy webinar, IP Australia undergoing a “technology upgrade”, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
2 Oct 2018

“The INPI facilitates the life of companies” – exclusive interview with new director general of French IP office

Pascal Faure, the new director general of INPI, reveals his immediate priorities in the role, including the introduction of new measures that will “strengthen the examination of trademarks” in France. Read more

27 Sep 2018

“IPOs can be at the forefront of digital transformation in governments” – interview with INAPI’s outgoing director

Maximiliano Santa-Cruz is leaving his role as national director of Chile’s National Institute of Industrial Property (INAPI). In an exclusive interview with WTR, he tells us that the role of IP offices must evolve to meet the challenges of the modern world. Read more

26 Sep 2018

New industrial property elements and changes in trademark prosecution – key points explained

Legislative Decree 1397, which was published on 7 September 2018, introduces important changes in the field of trademark prosecution in Peru. Read more

25 Sep 2018

New study finds low IP awareness among students, teachers and scholars in India

Research has found that a significant portion of people studying and teaching at higher educational institutions in India have no awareness of intellectual property rights.  Read more

Research

View all
29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

18 May 2018

India’s revitalised trademark landscape fails to boost leading brands: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s exclusive country data report, we provide a rundown of India’s trademark landscape. We explore the surge in registrations at the Indian IP office, reveal the top filers, and inspect the widespread fall in value of the country’s top brands. Read more

6 May 2018

UK trademark scene post-Brexit: a world-class IP office dealing with uncertainty in a volatile brand environment

We provide a breakdown of the UK trademark market – examining how Brexit has affected filing strategies, inspecting brand value trends, and analysing the stellar performance of the UK IP Office. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Japan

 The Examination Guidelines for Trademarks also play an important role in the examination of trademark applications at the Japan Patent Office (JPO). The most recent revisions to the examination guidelines took place in April 2017, which include clarifying the criteria for judging the similarities between trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Italy

Italy has a first-to-file system, therefore unregistered trademarks enjoy a lesser degree of protection than registered trademarks. Only in exceptional circumstances can an unregistered trademark prevail over a later registered trademark. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Israel

While the Trademark Ordinance predominantly provides protection for registered trademarks, it also protects unregistered well-known trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: India

The Indian courts have taken the lead in issuing landmark decisions on several issues, including recognition of trans-border reputation and goodwill, trademark violations in respect of unrelated goods, online counterfeiting and protection of celebrity rights. Read more

Find an expert

Sophie Davies
Associate
George Town, Cayman Islands
HSM IP