Internet and Online

Activision strikes back with Warzone lawsuit; France.com fight continues; Leason Ellis brand refresh – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP Office of New Zealand launching a new hearings initiative, Canopy Growth acquiring a leading marijuana brand, and much more.

Activision strikes back with Warzone lawsuit; France.com fight continues; Leason Ellis brand refresh – news digest
Trademarks after death – study urges IP practitioners to consider posthumous registration issues
12 Apr 2021

Trademarks after death – study urges IP practitioners to consider posthumous registration issues

A new study has taken a deep-dive into posthumous intellectual property and endorsement rights, and proposes a legal rethink to ensure fairness and accuracy to the departed.

FIFA licensing boon; former USPTO director rejoins law firm; INAPI hosts first gender roundtable – news digest
9 Apr 2021

FIFA licensing boon; former USPTO director rejoins law firm; INAPI hosts first gender roundtable – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at GoDaddy increasing its TLD portfolio, Timberland’s trade dress getting the boot, the Peruvian IP office warning political parties to respect IP, and much more.

Latest

View all
16 Apr 2021

Changes to ‘.au’ domain name rules: implications for Australian trademark owners

New eligibility rules for holding a ‘.au’ domain name came into effect on 12 April 2021. It is particularly important for foreign entities holding ‘.au’ domain names to assess whether they will remain eligible. Read more

12 Apr 2021

Does the buck(eye) stop here? Sixth Circuit reinstates Ohio state trademark claims

This decision of the US Court of Appeals for Sixth Circuit marks a key development in determining liability of virtual retailers, elaborating on when an online marketplace forgoes immunity from trademark infringement claims. Read more

6 Apr 2021

Burger King trolls McDonald’s; INTA weighs in with EUIPO amicus brief; Mondelez and Grenade tie-up – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the CCFN welcoming the USTR’s stance on geographical indications, Brand Finance marking its silver anniversary, the Philippines taking over the ASEAN IP cooperation group, and much more. Read more

3 Apr 2021

Following in the footsteps of Michael Jordan, New Balance, Peppa Pig and Puma, expect more high-profile trademark decisions in China in the coming months

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we look at recent policy announcements and big decisions in China. Read more

News

View all
2 Apr 2021

MSCHF teases Nike with trademark lawsuit shirt; VW rebrand backfires; ICANN meeting update – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the UKIPO tracking illegal online content consumption, US senators urging President Biden to prioritise intellectual property, the USPTO getting back to basics, and much more. Read more

26 Mar 2021

Taylor Swift settles Evermore dispute; Facebook partners with UKIPO; All Gas No Brakes brand ownership – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Burberry partnering with a video game developer, the EUIPO winning an award, the Peruvian IP Office auctioning off property owned by IP infringers, and much more. Read more

26 Mar 2021

Alibaba releases 2020 IP protection statistics as engagement with anti-counterfeiting alliance grows

Alibaba has released statistics from its 2020 IP Rights Protection Report, revealing that 96% of suspected infringing listings were proactively detected and removed after posting, before a sale could be made. Read more

23 Mar 2021

Apple counterfeits takedown blitz; Chile moves closer to Madrid Protocol; fake 3M mask warning – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a new anti-counterfeiting label being developed, Everlast inking a deal with SportLife Brands, the Mongolian IP Office joining a gender campaign, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
18 Mar 2021

Estee Lauder and Walt Disney big performers as WTR Brand Elite stocks continue upward momentum

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

27 Feb 2021

App takedowns are the new cease and desist dilemma, and require careful strategising

In our Saturday opinion piece, we consider recent backlashes against app marketplace takedown actions – and the resulting media coverage. Read more

17 Feb 2021

Lenovo’s record-breaking revenue drives growth as WTR Brand Elite stocks hit new high

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

8 Feb 2021

Handbag resale appraisal app could “create more opportunities for counterfeiters” warn experts

The potential rollout of evaluation software to mass consumers could be an avenue for collaboration between brand protection professionals and the resale app. Read more

Research

View all
11 Sep 2020

Russia exhibits strong filings growth on the back of changes to its intellectual property system

Back-end work continues to improve the registry and trademark landscape. Subsequently, there has been a noticeable uptick in local brands pushing for the protection of their rights. Read more

4 Sep 2020

The TikTok brand has gone global, which is a great feat, but now it faces a reckoning in the US

The video-sharing app is a highly attractive brand for its resonance with the Gen-Z demographic, but its relationship with China and status as a social media giant will create risks for whoever takes it on. Read more

28 Aug 2020

Economies are battered but many major offices set for record trademark numbers

As the data continues to be updated, we are able to get a better understanding of the extent of the coronavirus’ impact on the trademark ecosystem. Read more

31 Jul 2020

Revealed: Jonathan Morton, Nyall Engfield and Benjamin Becker are top China representatives at USPTO

A year on from the USPTO's domicile rule change, new data shows the leading China-based representatives on trademark applications at the agency. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Dec 2020

EU image rights: when the product is us

In the absence of a harmonised EU law on image rights, individuals are forced to rely on a combination of copyright and human rights claims to protect their most unique asset online – their own image. Read more

12 Dec 2020

Social media and the right of publicity: what advertisers need to know

With no US federal right of publicity and the distinction between celebrities and non-celebrities becoming increasingly arbitrary, companies looking to advertise their products through the likenesses of individuals must be up to date with the latest case law in order to get a clear picture of the risks involved. Read more

23 Apr 2020

Protecting electronics and consumables across the globe

As new technology constantly changes how counterfeiters interact with consumers the global nature of the crime has made it especially challenging for brand owners to track distribution channels. Read more

16 Jan 2020

Online brand protection takeaways: tales from the trenches

Throughout 2019 WTR hosted a number of events that provided practical, strategic brand protection takeaways. Below are some of the key action points and insights. Read more