Internet and Online

Trump riffs on Game of Thrones (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how a slew of fake Amazon reviews are boosting brands, the Martha Stewart brand selling, KIPO assisting in IP crime enforcement, EU judges getting darknet training, and much more.

Trump riffs on <em>Game of Thrones</em> (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest
19 Apr 2019

‘.inc’ TLD prepares for general availability with high price point, as details emerge of brand registrations

The ‘.inc’ new gTLD is currently in sunrise with a $2,499 annual retail price, a price point that may deter cybersquatters, but a number of large brands – including Apple, BMW, Google and Marriott – have moved to protect brand-related terms.

18 Apr 2019

Notre Dame misinformation highlights brand protection challenge for media organisations

There have been numerous reports of fake media accounts spreading conspiracy theories around the Notre Dame Cathedral fire. Such activity around major events is a reminder of the significant challenge that IP practitioners face. 

Latest

View all
18 Apr 2019

Alma Capital decision reflects nuanced approach to UDRP

In a recent decision under the UDRP, the panel has refused to order the transfer of a domain name consisting of the complainant's registered trademark in its entirety as the leading element of the disputed domain name.  Read more

18 Apr 2019

Federal Circuit clarifies commercial use evidence requirements at USPTO’s request

The court last week made precedential a January 2019 opinion it issued on the type of website specimens required to prove commercial use. The move follows a request by the US Patent and Trademark Office, which argued that it would provide clarity and reduce the chances of future litigation. Read more

18 Apr 2019

Latest free-to-view intelligence on protecting brands in the online environment now available

WTR has published the sixth edition of Online Brand Enforcement: Protecting Your Trademarks in the Electronic Environment. Available now, the free-to-view publication offers the latest guidance on brand management best practice. Read more

16 Apr 2019

Trump rebrand advice, INTA to offer free trademark legal services, and P&G sells two brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO unveiling details of its World IP Day event, the IP Office of the Philippines seeking to amend the country’s IP code, a ranking of most relevant brands, and much more. Read more

News

View all
5 Apr 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more. Read more

2 Apr 2019

Sudan dissolves Appeal Committee, WIPO AI image search, and most admired Canadian brand: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at energy drink giant Monster issuing a statement as the VPX spat escalates, a Harry Potter trademark being rejected by the USPTO, a victory for Swatch, and much more. Read more

2 Apr 2019

WTR Industry Awards: the 2019 shortlisted teams and individuals unveiled

WTR is pleased to reveal the shortlist for the 2019 WTR Industry Awards. Among the corporate teams featured on this year’s shortlist are those from Audi, Groupon, John Deere, Netflix, Pfizer, Treasury Wine Estates and Under Armour. Read more

28 Mar 2019

Alibaba Anti-Counterfeiting Alliance seized $536.2 million in fake goods last year: WTR exclusive

WTR can exclusively reveal that in 2018, criminal investigations led by Alibaba and the member brands of its anti-counterfeiting alliance resulted in the arrest of 1,277 suspects and counterfeit seizures that totalled $536.2 million. Read more

Analysis

View all
11 Apr 2019

Video game industry may face digital overhaul, but Nintendo can always call upon Mario

Big Tech has dipped its toes into the industry, posing a risk to traditional manufacturers. We take a deep dive into one of the market’s biggest players, Nintendo, to understand how its brands have helped the company sustain its success. Read more

11 Apr 2019

The Ueda Files: the world’s most prolific trademark filer and a conundrum for brands

An incredibly prolific trademark filer in Japan, Ikuhiro Ueda, is causing headaches for brands, according to experts. In an exclusive investigation from WTR, we reveal the staggering scope of this portfolio-building exercise. Read more

10 Apr 2019

BOOKING.COM is not generic: Fourth Circuit addresses protection for ‘.com’ trademarks

In Booking.com BV v USPTO, the US Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit has weighed in on the somewhat controversial issue of the genericness of a mark that contains a TLD such as ‘.com’. Read more

8 Apr 2019

Constitutional Court weighs trademark rights against freedom of expression

Following an application by an individual, the Turkish Constitutional Court has considered whether the freedom of expression is violated by an order blocking the access to a website for an indefinite period of time.  Read more

Research

View all
5 Apr 2019

How South Africa’s predicted economic upswing will create opportunities for brands and their advisors

The country is seeing increased interest from international entities - particularly from the US; this will likely grow in scale as not only the South African economy develops, but as other emerging markets on the African continent grow.  Read more

22 Feb 2019

Time to place your bets? Casino gaming companies dominate EU and US trademark registers

Online gaming has driven significant growth in the gambling industry and key players are capitalising on intellectual property to protect their innovations. Read more

13 Oct 2017

As remarkable growth of sports industry continues, exclusive data analysis reveals the key trademark trends

From today, World Trademark Review will be producing a new series of industry-specific data reports. We start with a deep dive into sports and sporting goods. Read more

Insight

View all
28 Feb 2018

Navigating the evolving landscape of social media

Although it is a hard truth that we must learn from our mistakes, it is also equally true that we can learn from the mistakes of others. Thus, it is essential for brands to learn from the failures and successes of the approaches adopted by their competitors in tackling online abuse in the social media environment. Read more

28 Feb 2018

The evolution of internet service provider and host liability

The sheer scope of online counterfeiting and the anonymity that the Internet provides counterfeiters necessitate that brand owners look to internet service providers – whose roles in the world of e-commerce are essential – for assistance in blocking or preventing counterfeiters from using their services.  Read more

1 Jul 2017

Software & Online Services Team of the Year: Twitter

Read more