Internet and Online

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the EUIPO celebrating design rights, MaxxOil hitting back against “baseless” media reports, the Saudi IP office pledging more international cooperation, and much more.

Victory for Chanel, Samoa moves closer to Madrid, and how Google+ shutdown could affect brand owners: news round-up
21 Sep 2018

Deep dive into Apple counterfeit fight, Skripal poison pair trademark, and most valuable UK brands: news round-up

In our latest edition, we look at China and Singapore partnering up for an IP initiative, another trademark scam highlighted, a German court dealing a blow to ICANN, and much more.

20 Sep 2018

Calling all brand owners: act quickly if you want to help shape the future of online enforcement

In this guest post, Brian J Winterfeldt, president of ICANN’s Intellectual Property Constituency, outlines why it is critical that rights holders contribute to an ICANN survey about online enforcement, which closes at the end of next week.

Latest

View all
15 Oct 2018

UDRP complainants beware: personal names must be trademarks to benefit from UDRP

A recent decision involving the domain name ‘marypfaffko.com’ highlights that the UDRP was simply intended to provide relief to trademark holders, not to address matters such as defamation or other torts. Read more

12 Oct 2018

China's Supreme People's Court releases regulations on Internet Courts – key points highlighted

China's Supreme People's Court has promulgated regulations clarifying the jurisdiction of the Beijing, Guangzhou and Hangzhou Internet Courts, as well as various procedural matters pertinent to the adjudication of cases by these courts. Read more

11 Oct 2018

Beating head against the wall - UDRP panel finds reverse domain name hijacking of ‘deskwall.com’

In a recent decision under the UDRP, a WIPO panel has made a finding of reverse domain name hijacking, finding that the complainant's claim was artificial and untethered to facts or the plain wording of the UDRP. Read more

5 Oct 2018

Seven "dirty words" now acceptable in ‘.us’

The registry operator of the ‘.us’ domain name and the National Telecommunications and Information Administration have lifted a prohibition on the so-called "seven dirty words" in '.us' domain name registrations. Read more

News

View all
18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more. Read more

7 Aug 2018

Audi launches anti-counterfeiting campaign, YouTube brand safety fiasco and TMview expands: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the expansion of the EUIPO’s TMview search platform, Scotch Whisky attaining GI protection in South Africa, Chinese trademarks continuing rapid growth rate, and much more. Read more

15 Jun 2018

ICANN steps up GDPR clarity bid, Squire Patton Boggs resolves China dispute, and insights from ECTA 2018: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at various insights from ECTA’s 37th annual conference, how domain registrations for sports betting are on the rise, the Financial Times prevails in trademark dispute, and much more. Read more

8 Jun 2018

Keep calm and carry on: tips for online enforcement and advocacy after GDPR

In this guest blog, Brian J Winterfeldt, principal of the Winterfeldt IP Group and president of ICANN’s Intellectual Property Constituency, and Phil Marano, senior associate at the Winterfeldt IP Group, identify five tools that can be utilised in the absence of public WHOIS data.  Read more

Analysis

View all
4 Oct 2018

Descriptive explanation narrowly wins: L’Oréal fails to obtain transfer of ‘urbandecay.com.au’

In a recent decision under the ‘.au’ Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy, a panel has refused to order the transfer of the domain name ‘urbandecay.com.au’ to L’Oréal, the owner of numerous URBAN DECAY marks. Read more

5 Sep 2018

Promoting global IP enforcement reforms should be a “top trade priority” for the United States: new study

Brands fare worse in countries with weaker IP enforcement regimes, and a new study vindicates US government attempts to pressure nations with poor trademark protection and enforcement mechanisms to provide a better environment for brands. Read more

15 Aug 2018

Reputational risks on free speech social network Gab; research reveals scale of brand misuse

Research from World Trademark Review has found that many major brand names have been registered on "free speech social network" Gab, with related pages sometimes featuring homophobic and racist content. Read more

20 Jul 2018

“E-commerce platforms make huge efforts to protect brands’ rights”: exclusive interview with Groupon’s Pablo Rodriguez

Pablo Amat Rodriguez talks to us about his IP work at e-commerce brand Groupon. He reveals how he meets the distinctive IP challenges the trademark department faces, working with law firms, and much more. Read more

Research

View all
13 Oct 2017

As remarkable growth of sports industry continues, exclusive data analysis reveals the key trademark trends

From today, World Trademark Review will be producing a new series of industry-specific data reports. We start with a deep dive into sports and sporting goods. Read more

Insight

View all
28 Feb 2018

Navigating the evolving landscape of social media

Although it is a hard truth that we must learn from our mistakes, it is also equally true that we can learn from the mistakes of others. Thus, it is essential for brands to learn from the failures and successes of the approaches adopted by their competitors in tackling online abuse in the social media environment. Read more

28 Feb 2018

The evolution of internet service provider and host liability

The sheer scope of online counterfeiting and the anonymity that the Internet provides counterfeiters necessitate that brand owners look to internet service providers – whose roles in the world of e-commerce are essential – for assistance in blocking or preventing counterfeiters from using their services.  Read more

1 Jul 2017

Software & Online Services Team of the Year: Twitter

Read more