WTR Industry Awards 2021 shortlist revealed

We are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2021 WTR Industry Awards, with winners to be unveiled next week.

Now in their 15th year, the WTR Industry Awards recognise the vitally important work carried out by in-house trademark counsel and identify those teams and individuals that are performing their functions to the highest possible standards.

The winners reveal usually takes place after an exclusive champagne reception at the INTA Annual Meeting but, inevitably, the covid-19 pandemic has required us to pivot. Last year we hosted a series of virtual awards ceremonies online. These were timed to better enable the shortlisted teams to attend. However, as an awards scheme that commends excellence from all corners of the world, it inevitably meant that not every team could join us to celebrate their achievements.

This year, we have decided to run the awards via the WTR platform, with the 2021 shortlist focusing on four regional awards and the In-House Leader of the Year Award. As part of our 15th anniversary celebrations, over the coming week we will be running a series of awards-focused articles, reflecting on the history of the awards and looking forward to the future of the industry. Each day next week we will announce the winner of one of the below categories. Each winner will then be invited to join us at the 2022 awards celebration, where we plan to be back in person and bigger than ever.

For now, I invite you to raise a (virtual) glass to this year’s shortlist. Against a volatile and uncertain backdrop, with the pandemic continuing to create challenges for brand professionals around the world, the work being undertaken by trademark teams at a time when brands matter like never before has been nothing less than stellar.

The 2021 WTR Industry Awards shortlist is:

Asia-Pacific Team of the Year

  • Havells
  • Hindustan Unilever
  • Nike
  • Spalding Sporting Goods
  • Treasury Wine Estates

Europe, Middle East and Africa Team of the Year

  • AB InBev
  • Daniel Wellington
  • MTN Nigeria Comms
  • PUMA
  • Virgin Enterprises

Latin America Team of the Year

  • Carnot Laboratorios
  • Globo Comunicação e Participações
  • Grupo Bimbo
  • Grupo Televisa
  • The LEGO group

North America Team of the Year

  • 3M
  • 7/11
  • Apple 
  • Chapter 4/Corp
  • Johnson & Johnson

In-House Leader of the Year

  • Bill Budd, Virgin 
  • Andy Chua, Lazada Group
  • Ayala Deutsch, NBA Properties Inc
  • Colette Durst, 3M
  • Renee Kraft, Target

Get unlimited access to all WTR content