Government/Policy

Vietnam to bolster GIs, US shutdown threatens IP, and Ethiopia launches online filing system: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a Japanese delegation visiting the French IPO, the Austrian Patent Office introducing animated marks, Rihanna taking her father to court, and much more.

Vietnam to bolster GIs, US shutdown threatens IP, and Ethiopia launches online filing system: news digest
17 Jan 2019

What the future holds in store for brand professionals: exclusive insights from the 2019 INTA president

David Lossignol, the new president of INTA, outlines the association’s priorities for the coming year and calls on the trademark community to facilitate positive change in the brand ecosystem.

16 Jan 2019

What the UK government’s Brexit deal defeat means for trademark owners

The UK government suffered a catastrophic defeat on Tuesday night after the House of Commons firmly rejected its Brexit deal. We take a look at what the result means for trademark owners, including a claim that rights holders are “back at square one".

Latest

View all
11 Jan 2019

MysteryBrand denies selling fakes, T-ara dispute concludes, and Slovakia IPO ditches fax: news digest

In our latest news digest, we look at the USPTO hiring a deputy general counsel, how domain name management is “just as important” as brand protection, the Paraguay IPO pledging more counterfeit enforcement in 2019, and much more. Read more

9 Jan 2019

Why the resiliency of tobacco brands could encourage the spread of plain packaging

In our latest opinion column, we observe that plain packaging is not a death knell for tobacco companies – a fact that could embolden legislators to extend plain packaging to other industries. Read more

7 Jan 2019

Reports of PIPCU’s demise greatly exaggerated as UKIPO commits to future funding

Over the weekend, a national media outlet reported that plans to fund the City of London Police’s Intellectual Property Crime Unit beyond June 2019 have “fallen through”. However, WTR can reveal that the unit is planning for the future. Read more

7 Jan 2019

Turkish government introduces restrictions on use of trademarks on tobacco products

The control of tobacco consumption has long been one of the top priorities of the Turkish government. In November 2018 Law No 7151 entered into force, introducing new regulations regarding the packaging of tobacco products. Read more

News

View all
2 Jan 2019

The trademark stories to follow in 2019

As we enter 2019, we take a detailed look into the issues and trends that trademark professionals can expect to make headlines in the coming 12 months. Read more

14 Dec 2018

Amazon, Brexit, Christian Louboutin, Gleissner, WHOIS: our 2018 most-read list

Taking a look back at the stories which received the most reads over the past 12 months, our top 20 list serves as a reminder of the big challenges trademark counsel faced in 2018.  Read more

14 Dec 2018

Samsung teams up with fake Supreme, new US Army IP policy, and EUIPO removes TMview contact details: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how the US government is seeking to confiscate a biker gang’s trademarks, how most intellectual property in Africa is “unregistered”, and much more. Read more

7 Dec 2018

Turkey plain packaging, WIPO praises Pakistan IPO and '.amazon' up in the air: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a tussle over BRENT marks in Singapore, a "worrying trend" of retail fakes in Papua New Guinea, a new UK IP minister, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
4 Jan 2019

Singapore Treaty enters into force in Peru

The Singapore Treaty on the Law of Trademarks has entered into force in Peru. This update highlights four areas of change resulting from the coming into force of the treaty. Read more

4 Jan 2019

Trolls on the rise, Brexit disruption and China’s domination: data trends of 2018

Having just rung in the new year, it is the perfect time to look at the trends which have characterised the trademark landscape in 2018, and discuss what is to come in 2019. Read more

2 Jan 2019

Brexit in focus: end-of-year review from the UKIPO

While Brexit has been the primary focus of many practitioners in the United Kingdom, the UK Intellectual Property Office witnessed various other changes and developments in 2018. Read more

19 Dec 2018

An anniversary, a reshuffle and an EU directive: evolution and change in Sweden

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of the relocation of the design and trademark department, the Swedish Patent and Registration Office looks back on a busy year. Read more

Research

View all
26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

3 Jun 2018

Japan’s filing trends are distorted by a single applicant, while brands plummet in value: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, we highlight Japan’s unusual distribution of applications by trademark class, analyse the volatile values of the leading Japanese brands, and much more. Read more

6 May 2018

UK trademark scene post-Brexit: a world-class IP office dealing with uncertainty in a volatile brand environment

We provide a breakdown of the UK trademark market – examining how Brexit has affected filing strategies, inspecting brand value trends, and analysing the stellar performance of the UK IP Office. Read more

20 Apr 2018

With a fast-improving IP office and flourishing brands, Italy’s outlook is bright: exclusive data analysis

Our latest country data report focuses on the branding landscape of Italy. We explore key filing data and the performance of the leading Italian brands, revealing that their total brand value has increased at a quicker rate than that of the top global players. Read more

Insight

View all
31 Dec 2018

Weeding out trademark infringers

For years the marijuana industry was an underground business, posing little threat to trademarks. But the recent ‘green explosion’ means that trademark owners must enforce their rights or risk their reputations. Read more

28 Dec 2018

IP India report reveals that Trademarks Registry has more work to do

The Trademarks Registry has made substantial progress to clear the backlog of opposition cases. Nevertheless, with fierce competition among emerging economies, there is more to be done. Read more

27 Dec 2018

Mexican trademark registrations under Madrid System – convenient solution, but no guarantee

The Madrid System can be used as a simple solution for registering trademarks worldwide. However, it does not guarantee that a trademark will be accepted in all designated countries. Read more

26 Dec 2018

The intersection between trademarks and labelling laws: as illustrated by the Canadian food and cannabis industries

There are many Canadian trademark laws, regulations and statutes regarding selection, labelling and advertising in the food and recreational cannabis industries – all of  which affect long-term branding rights and enforcement. Read more

Find an expert