Food and Beverage

Starbucks’ brand manual is something smaller companies should aspire to

The coffee chain sets a strong example for the benefits of having clear branding guidelines

Starbucks’ brand manual is something smaller companies should aspire to
Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest
23 Jul 2021

Puma settles ‘Roar’ logo dispute; UKIPO warns about priority filings; ECTA creates SME task force – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Philadelphia customs officials seizing counterfeit auto parts, a US Senator introducing a resolution commemorating increased anti-counterfeiting efforts, and much more.

Lil Nas X spoofs trademark dispute trial; ICANN72 goes virtual; Joe Exotic brand-building venture – news digest
20 Jul 2021

Lil Nas X spoofs trademark dispute trial; ICANN72 goes virtual; Joe Exotic brand-building venture – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Cincinnati Customs seizing fake Apple AirPods, warnings over counterfeit cannabis, Ermenegildo Zegna Group going public, and much more.

Latest

View all
19 Jul 2021

Monopoly, Red Bull and Swatch feature in European Legal Updates you may have missed

WTR’s Legal Updates are written by a select panel of over 160 leading experts who analyse the latest trademark-related developments and decisions in more than 60 jurisdictions. Read more

19 Jul 2021

Russian Champagne - a real Sham(panskoye)? New Russian law redefines Champagne and causes a lot of fuss over fizz

This update looks at the implications of the shock announcement from Russia concerning changes to the legal definitions of ‘Champagne’ and ‘Cognac’ in the country. Read more

17 Jul 2021

Sugar and salt tax today, brand restrictions tomorrow? The evidence would suggest so

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we consider calls for a £3 billion sugar and salt tax in the United Kingdom and whether this could be the start of renewed momentum towards brand restrictions. Read more

16 Jul 2021

Gmail offers authenticated brand logos; UKIPO launches bulk renewal service; L’Occitane wins in China – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at INTA opening registrations for its Annual Meeting, Clarivate integrating its trademark solutions, Honduras joining TMclass, and much more. Read more

News

View all
13 Jul 2021

Cointreau sues cannabis company; Amazon TLDs go live; Malta joins IP Register in Blockchain – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Australia reflecting on a decade of plain packaging, Shamrock eyeing an entertainment IP move, Amul’s first foreign ruling leading to Canadian registration, and much more. Read more

9 Jul 2021

North Korea counterfeit crackdown; Banksy trademarks criticised; MARQUES annual meeting update – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at a court ordering Lotus Health Group to sell trademarks, the Georgian IP office establishing a GI commission, Invest Europe and EUIPO teaming up to support SMEs, and much more. Read more

7 Jul 2021

Latest WTR report identifies top portfolio builders and presents thought leadership from in-house leaders

Titled “Inside in-house operations: how to build world-class trademark functions and portfolios”, the report takes a deep dive into portfolio, brand and in-house team management. Read more

6 Jul 2021

Tokyo police step up Olympic counterfeit enforcement; Chinese fraud on the USPTO register; Ralph & Russo sold – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Verizon selling the Yahoo! brand in Japan, the IP Office of the Philippines calling on better policies to tackle counterfeiting, a counterfeit haul destroyed in Jamaica, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
13 Jul 2021

Tech brands soar in latest WTR Brand Elite results; Target shows that sustainability pays

The WTR Brand Elite project tracks how a defined set of brand-focused companies with industry-leading trademark teams perform against stock market indices. Read more

7 Jul 2021

L’Oréal boasts largest European and US active trademark portfolios, as key prosecution trends emerge

For our new report – published today – we teamed up with CompuMark to calculate which companies own the largest trademark portfolios in China, Europe and the United States. Read more

7 Jul 2021

The China Trademark 50

Tencent owns the largest number of active Chinese trademarks with a portfolio of 37,205 applications. This is nearly 15,000 more than second-place Beijing Jingdong Triple Bai Lu Pick Up of E-commerce Limited. Read more

7 Jul 2021

The US Trademark 50

The owners of the 50 largest US trademark portfolios collectively held 58,811 active assets in 2020. Together these entities filed 5,557 applications over the course of the year, down 4% from the previous year. Read more

Research

View all
7 Jul 2021

The Europe Trademark 50

The top 50 owners of the largest active European trademark portfolios together filed 15% fewer marks last year than they did the year before, dropping from 11,427 applications down to 9,902. Read more

30 Apr 2021

Cannabis retailers have their work cut out for them in terms of trademark and brand strategy

Legal uncertainty is keeping brand owners on their toes, requiring businesses to be flexible and forward-thinking with their approach to IP. Read more

29 Mar 2021

Nestlé scours for attractive brands to keep itself on top of the market

The Swiss multinational has an arsenal of iconic brands and local favourites, which it keeps up to date by adding and dropping businesses in line with evolving consumer tastes. Read more

18 Sep 2020

As bankruptcy numbers rise so does the availability of, sometimes discounted, intellectual property

In this week’s exclusive data analysis we take a look at the trademark portfolios that have either recently changed hands or are owned by companies that have filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy – revealing the two key features that make intangibles attractive to buyers. Read more

Insight

View all
6 Jul 2020

High Court cans counterfeit beer importer’s weak defence

Malaysian court’s recent ruling in favour of a brewer follows established case law on registration but notes sound public health reasons for cracking down on fake alcoholic beverages. Read more

16 Jan 2020

Online brand protection takeaways: tales from the trenches

Throughout 2019 WTR hosted a number of events that provided practical, strategic brand protection takeaways. Below are some of the key action points and insights. Read more

1 May 2018

Recent and developing trends in false advertising disputes

A group of senior trademark and brand professionals convened in New York in January to discuss recent and developing trends in false advertising law. This special report details some of the key points and presents essential takeaways. Read more

1 Nov 2017

Italy: Salumi shows how innovative packaging can be crucial for food and beverage sector

Rights holders’ innovative use of design demonstrates that in the modern market, food packaging is a vital advertising tool which is also eligible for IP rights protection. Read more