Research

Food delivery marks on the rise, as Starbucks leads the way in restaurant brand filings: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report we look at the food service industry. We reveal that Starbucks has the most robust trademark portfolio in the industry, the rise in 'food delivery' applications, and more.

Food delivery marks on the rise, as Starbucks leads the way in restaurant brand filings: exclusive data analysis
4 Aug 2018

Spanish filers look to the EUIPO over China, as local trademark market shows signs of stagnancy: exclusive data analysis

In our latest country data report, we turn our spotlight to Spain. We reveal that smaller brands may have an especially tough time flourishing there, analyse key filing trends both domestically and abroad, and much more.

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research.

Latest

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

6 Jul 2018

Google and Amazon eye hospitality sector as hotel brands diversify their filing strategies: exclusive data analysis

In our latest industry-focused data report, we put the spotlight on the hospitality market, honing in on the hotel sector in particular. We reveal the top hotel brands, how the industry is diversifying, and much more. Read more

29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

22 Jun 2018

Rising sales, healthy filings and new opportunities in the dynamic cosmetics sector: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report, we provide a rundown of the cosmetics market from a branding perspective. We take a big picture look at sales growth and key trends and reveal that technology trademark filings are on the rise among major brands. Read more

15 Jun 2018

Despite the potential of the Middle East, excessive fees are leading to a shrinking trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s data report, we examine the state of the trademark market in the Middle East, taking an in-depth look at filing trends in Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE in particular. Read more

8 Jun 2018

Growth of food and drink brands remains flat, but Chinese register sees explosion in filings: exclusive data analysis

In our latest industry data report, we inspect the food and beverage sector, finding that brand growth has been limited in this dynamic and challenging market. We also take a close look at overarching application trends. Read more

3 Jun 2018

Japan’s filing trends are distorted by a single applicant, while brands plummet in value: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, we highlight Japan’s unusual distribution of applications by trademark class, analyse the volatile values of the leading Japanese brands, and much more. Read more

25 May 2018

Tech trademark filings are falling but brand values continue to explode: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we analyse the vibrant technology landscape, and provide a full rundown of the filing patterns in this field and gauge the performances of the leading tech brands in the world. Read more

18 May 2018

India’s revitalised trademark landscape fails to boost leading brands: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s exclusive country data report, we provide a rundown of India’s trademark landscape. We explore the surge in registrations at the Indian IP office, reveal the top filers, and inspect the widespread fall in value of the country’s top brands. Read more

11 May 2018

Chinese players fail to make the cut in the fashion world as major brands prove resilient: exclusive analysis

Examining the apparel sector, we show that the leading brands have remained robust, analyse how filing patterns have changed, and reveal that Chinese brands have failed to make the cut in the list of the world’s leading fashion brands. Read more

6 May 2018

UK trademark scene post-Brexit: a world-class IP office dealing with uncertainty in a volatile brand environment

We provide a breakdown of the UK trademark market – examining how Brexit has affected filing strategies, inspecting brand value trends, and analysing the stellar performance of the UK IP Office. Read more

27 Apr 2018

Telecom brands experience fall in filings and values as industry approaches tipping point: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report, we dig into the telecommunications sector, providing an overview on the industry, revealing the trademark filing trends of telecom carriers, and exploring the fluctuations in brand value. Read more

20 Apr 2018

With a fast-improving IP office and flourishing brands, Italy’s outlook is bright: exclusive data analysis

Our latest country data report focuses on the branding landscape of Italy. We explore key filing data and the performance of the leading Italian brands, revealing that their total brand value has increased at a quicker rate than that of the top global players. Read more

15 Apr 2018

Trademark activity dwindles as values rise in the engineering and construction industry: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report, World Trademark Review analyses the engineering and construction sector. We examine key trademark-related data and explore the positions of the leading brands in this space. Read more

12 Apr 2018

United States slides, Germany continues to rule: counsel rate court systems across the globe

Despite being key litigation battlegrounds, counsel confidence in the court systems of China and the United States remains shaky.  Read more

11 Apr 2018

Customs concerns: counsel identify significant room for improvement in India, Iran and Turkey

Trademark counsel have had their say on the efficiency of customs authorities across the globe – with some of the largest importers of counterfeit goods giving cause for continued concern. Read more

6 Apr 2018

Trademark offices prepare for the future as users give poor performance grades

The performance levels of the Chinese, Brazilian and Indian trademark offices have clear room for improvement but change could be afoot. Read more

5 Apr 2018

The online enforcement burden rises as new challenges emerge

This year’s Global Trademark Benchmarking Survey reveals that the online policing burden is intensifying, with new threats adding to the headache experienced by brand protection professionals. Read more

1 Apr 2018

China’s remarkable trademark journey as records are broken at every turn: exclusive data analysis

We explore the vivacious Chinese branding market, which has enjoyed record-breaking trademark application numbers and dramatic changes occurring on the legal and administrative fronts that are affecting brand owners. Read more

25 Mar 2018

Shifting markets and brand positions in a transforming auto industry: exclusive data analysis

We take a deep dive into the trademark landscape of the automotive sector. While Germany remains the home of the most valuable auto brands, Chinese companies are quickly catching up. Read more

17 Mar 2018

Argentina’s emergency trademark law amendments and reassuring filing figures; exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review examines the IP profile of Argentina, exploring the potential impact of the new emergency decree on trademark law, while providing a thorough breakdown on filings at the Argentine register. Read more

11 Mar 2018

Oil and gas sector emerges from downturn but brands continue to struggle: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s data report, World Trademark Review takes a look at the oil and gas sector through a trademark lens. In addition to providing an overview of key industry trends, we reveal the top filing classes and the rise of Chinese brands. Read more

2 Mar 2018

Singapore’s timid local trademark scene belies its branding strength: exclusive data analysis

This week’s country data report looks at the small but mighty trademark profile of Singapore. As well as exploring its nation brand strength, we identify its most important trademark-intensive industries and reveal the leading brand owners, both in value and portfolio size. Read more

23 Feb 2018

Media brands yet to capitalise on trademarks for new technologies: exclusive data analysis

While digital content currently offers media brands the best prospect of navigating a challenging economic environment, we reveal that filings for new technology remains low. Read more

19 Feb 2018

France’s burgeoning tech sector could overtake UK, but filings remain flat: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, World Trademark Review inspects the trademark landscape in France. We delve into the country’s filing trends and analyse how its leading brands have performed in recent years. Read more

15 Feb 2018

Logan Paul fiasco shows risk for brands on YouTube; research reveals more YouTubers seeking trademark protection

Recent incidents have demonstrated why brands must be careful when advertising on YouTube. New research also reveals that YouTube's content creators are increasingly obtaining registered trademark protection. Read more