Coronavirus

The pandemic’s delayed impact on the trademark landscape

2020 was a record-breaking year, but opposite trends are taking place in 2021

The pandemic’s delayed impact on the trademark landscape
Covid and counterfeits: how brand owners are fighting back against pandemic opportunists
21 Oct 2021

Covid and counterfeits: how brand owners are fighting back against pandemic opportunists

In an exclusive guest post, experts at Gowling look at how brand owners have tackled a significant rise in counterfeit goods during the covid-19 pandemic.

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis
21 Oct 2021

Live updates: IP offices implement measures in wake of coronavirus crisis

As the novel coronavirus epidemic continues to spread across the globe, WTR provides an updated look at measures that national IP offices have launched in response.

Latest

View all
10 Oct 2021

Nigeria’s counterfeiting epidemic; UKIPO filing boom; brand valuation explained; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

3 Oct 2021

Amazon influencer settlement; Facebook ruling concerns; brand value Special Report; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

26 Sep 2021

WIPO global innovation reactions; Dogecoin lessons; CIPO exclusive; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

19 Sep 2021

Microsoft named most intangible company; Emma Raducanu brand issues revealed; USPTO fraudster sentenced; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

News

View all
12 Sep 2021

Ford interview exclusive; PAVIS-Novagraaf acquisition; how to build a firm brand; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

5 Sep 2021

China moves to increase platform liability; brand owners embrace BIMI; Trussardi addresses “the counterfeiting paradox”; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

29 Aug 2021

WTR Industry Award winners; Trademark Terminal crackdown; Starbucks trademark strategy; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

27 Aug 2021

Delta Airlines’ delta variant dilemma; Amazon launches IP Accelerator in Singapore; EUIPO e-sports webinar– news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Walmart announcing a new initiative to help brand advertising, a Ferrero Rocher counterfeiter being found guilty of infringement despite handling authentic goods, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
3 Jun 2021

Mass counterfeit litigation continues steep upward curve, but overall US trademark case filings slump to 10-year low

While trademark litigation filings at US federal district court level hit a 10-year low in 2020, mass counterfeiting cases have continued to spike. Read more

7 May 2021

Trademark filings keep climbing as world edges towards normalcy

The numbers are well above last year’s figures, but the growth may not be sustained. Read more

1 May 2021

As large trademark events pivot to hybrid models, they are setting down foundations for future growth and opportunity

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on a week in which INTA announced its Annual Meeting would be a ‘virtual+’ event and MARQUES expanded on its plans for a hybrid annual conference. Read more

29 Apr 2021

Exclusive roundtable – IP offices reveal how covid-19 could shape future operations

The Long Read: As remote working has become du jour for many, WTR asks the IP offices of Canada, the European Union, Singapore, South Korea and the United Kingdom to reflect on the ups and downs of operating during a global pandemic – and what might remain of the systems developed over the past year. Read more

Research

View all
8 Jan 2021

Early trademark data reveals 2020 to be a record year despite the covid-19 pandemic

Despite the impact of the covid-19 pandemic across the globe last year, trademark filings recovered from an initial downturn and actually grew significantly in the second half of 2020. Read more

30 Oct 2020

Incoming trademark data indicates we are on track for a record year

This week we provide our regular update on the extent of the coronavirus’ impact on the trademark ecosystem. Read more

28 Aug 2020

Economies are battered but many major offices set for record trademark numbers

As the data continues to be updated, we are able to get a better understanding of the extent of the coronavirus’ impact on the trademark ecosystem. Read more

8 May 2020

Trademark applications will drop during the coronavirus crisis, but globalisation offers hope of a speedy recovery

A new report from TrademarkNow explores the impact of two major recessions on USPTO filings, giving insight into what is to come. Hint: it’s not all doom and gloom. Read more

Insight

View all
23 Jun 2021

Five core technologies every IP practice can rely on

A rundown of the core technologies keeping the IP practices of WTR’s Global Leaders operating at full pace. Read more

11 May 2021

The life of a brandprotection professional during the pandemic

Counterfeiting continues to spread globally like a plague. In recent years, with the expansion of the Internet, brand-protection teams have had to battle with counterfeiters online, usually with limited resources to tackle these illicit traders. Read more

6 Jul 2020

How to take counterfeiters down (cheaply) during a pandemic

The economic crisis following covid-19 has pushed rights enforcement down company agendas, while unwary online consumers in lockdown make easy prey for counterfeiters. With litigation slow, costly and unlikely to succeed, there are quick and easy ways to thwart the fakers. Read more

6 Jul 2020

Challenging times: anti-counterfeiting in the age of covid-19

Locked-down consumers with heightened health worries could be easy prey for fast-acting counterfeiters. Legal authorities have foreseen some of the risks, but is the European Union sufficiently prepared for an influx of fake medicines and equipment? Read more