Brand management

UDRP misuse warning, non-traditional tips, and the danger from subtle copies: insights from MARQUES 2018

This week’s MARQUES Annual Conference in Paris draws to a close today. We present some of the key insights from the event, including insight into the standoff around WHOIS data access, the one Brexit-related question you need to be asking, and more.

UDRP misuse warning, non-traditional tips, and the danger from subtle copies: insights from MARQUES 2018
19 Sep 2018

Creative trademark strategies are essential for brands venturing into newly-legalised US marijuana markets

Both Coca-Cola and musician Jimmy Buffett have been linked with marijuana brand partnerships over the past week. Such deals pose significant trademark difficulties, but there may be workaround strategies available. 

18 Sep 2018

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands

In this week’s opinion column, we consider how law firms can future-proof their trademark practices.

Latest

View all
18 Sep 2018

Most relevant brands in China, OAPI hosts IP celebration, and Trademark Licensing Protection Act in the spotlight: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the IP office of Chile extending deadlines for Japanese applicants, the WHOIS reform group at loggerheads, Indonesia stepping up anti-piracy efforts, and much more. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Get the inside track on cost-effectively managing trademark portfolios

WTR is pleased to announce that Managing Trademark Assets Europe will be heading to London on 28 January 2019. The event will present cutting-edge strategies for the creation, protection and monetisation of strong brands. Read more

18 Sep 2018

Crazy or canny? Tesco trademark ‘misstep’ may actually be a conscious commercial decision

Supermarket chain Tesco has been the focus of media coverage due to the lack of registered trademark protection for its new discount store brand Jack's, a move described as “absolute madness”. However, the reality is a more nuanced. Read more

14 Sep 2018

Saudi Arabia to adopt plain packaging, T-ara resolve trademark dispute, and ICANN needs your feedback on RPMs: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at the US brands with the most loyal customers, 7-Eleven taking a menswear brand to court for alleged trademark infringement, and much more. Read more

News

View all
11 Sep 2018

More #MeToo trademark applications, USPTO scandalous marks fight, and FIFA thanks Rospatent for World Cup help: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at more trademark applications related to the #MeToo movement, the Swedish IP Office warning against fake election posters, a US court having its say on trademark bullying, and much more. Read more

7 Sep 2018

Wine Spectator versus Weed Spectator, Trump slams Nike, and an ode to trademark attorneys: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at trade associations calling for more clarify over rules of origin, CEO of a US cheese company slamming the EU’s GI regime, how Nike’s new ad campaign may have damaged the brand, and much more. Read more

4 Sep 2018

Nike in political firestorm, Lego blocks Chinese infringer, and Ghana steps up fight against fakes: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a fashion brand in a dispute with two NFL teams, the New York Times shining the spotlight on illicit vendors in Barcelona, Nike facing a brand boycott due to its new Colin Kaepernick ad campaign, and much more. Read more

31 Aug 2018

Fake Warren Buffett fools thousands, Monsta mashes Monster, and Starbucks and Sardarbuksh dispute brews: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a Canadian coalition urging that cigar companies be exempt from proposed plain packaging regulations, the Chinese government promising stricter IP protections, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
14 Sep 2018

“There is no one-size-fits-all approach to enforcement” – exclusive interview with Mars Inc’s Sophie Anger

In an in-depth discussion with Sophie Anger, associate general counsel of marketing properties for the global petcare unit of Mars Incorporated, she offers enforcement tips, explains how efficiency is her guiding principle, and much more. Read more

11 Sep 2018

Don’t underestimate the rise of Chinese brands (and the impact for all rights holders)

In our latest opinion piece, we reflect on the scale of the Chinese government's brand incubation drive, and how this ambitious project is one that will have consequence for all rights holders - no matter where in the world they are located. Read more

10 Sep 2018

Where did it all go wrong in the WTO plain-packaging dispute?

The World Trade Organisation’s panel report in the cases brought against Australia’s plain-packaging regime is difficult reading – and some of its key arguments are without merit. Read more

7 Sep 2018

“GDPR has made brand rights enforcement online much more difficult” – exclusive interview with ESPN’s Allison Cantor

World Trademark Review speaks with Allison Cantor, principal counsel at ESPN, about how she balances her role as the company’s sole in-house trademark counsel with her other commitments, the difficulties posed by the implementation of GDPR, and much more. Read more

Research

View all
10 Aug 2018

Food delivery marks on the rise, as Starbucks leads the way in restaurant brand filings: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report we look at the food service industry. We reveal that Starbucks has the most robust trademark portfolio in the industry, the rise in 'food delivery' applications, and more. Read more

4 Aug 2018

Spanish filers look to the EUIPO over China, as local trademark market shows signs of stagnancy: exclusive data analysis

In our latest country data report, we turn our spotlight to Spain. We reveal that smaller brands may have an especially tough time flourishing there, analyse key filing trends both domestically and abroad, and much more. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

Insight

View all
12 Sep 2018

The future of trademarks

Global brand owners face increasing challenges in protecting, managing and enforcing their IP rights. These include challenges arising from new technologies, new business models and new markets. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Japan

 The Examination Guidelines for Trademarks also play an important role in the examination of trademark applications at the Japan Patent Office (JPO). The most recent revisions to the examination guidelines took place in April 2017, which include clarifying the criteria for judging the similarities between trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Italy

Italy has a first-to-file system, therefore unregistered trademarks enjoy a lesser degree of protection than registered trademarks. Only in exceptional circumstances can an unregistered trademark prevail over a later registered trademark. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Israel

While the Trademark Ordinance predominantly provides protection for registered trademarks, it also protects unregistered well-known trademarks. Read more