Brand management

Global trademark growth slowing as China continues to dominate – breaking down the WIPO Indicators 2019 report

WIPO has published World Intellectual Property Indicators 2019, charting the growth of global IP filing for 2018. WTR presents key takeaways from the trademark data.

Global trademark growth slowing as China continues to dominate – breaking down the WIPO Indicators 2019 report
16 Oct 2019

Amazon hits back at AAFA notorious markets submission with rare public rebuttal

Amazon has issued a strongly worded response to the American Apparel & Footwear Association’s call for a number of its non-US platforms to be included in the next Office of the US Trade Representative's Notorious Markets List.

15 Oct 2019

KIPO warns of Brexit damage, fake water filters, and call for fast-food packaging regulations: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Saks partnering with Authentic Brands to acquire Barneys, the Consortium for Common Food Names being granted observer status at WIPO, the UKIPO publishing advice on IP rights after Brexit, and much more.

Latest

View all
15 Oct 2019

Alibaba commended, PIPCU needs you, RPMs review update: takeaways from Brand Protection Online Europe

WTR held its inaugural Brand Protection Online Europe in London yesterday, which featured speakers from brands including Alibaba, PayPal, Superdry and Tommy Hilfiger. We share a variety of takeaways from the day. Read more

14 Oct 2019

Eight counterfeit hotspots in Argentina that brand owners should be aware of

In the latest edition of our regular series on marketplaces around the world that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to Argentina. Read more

13 Oct 2019

NBA backlash over Hong Kong tweet; associations target WeChat; crowd-shipping counterfeits threat; plus much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the last seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

11 Oct 2019

Prince estate hits out at Trump, warning for IP event vendors, and Riot dispute: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Elon Musk’s IP pledge, the UKIPO unveiling a new campaign, Duke’s Mayonnaise claiming infringement, the origin of pharma names, and much more. Read more

News

View all
8 Oct 2019

Egypt registry delays trademark fee increase, Slayer brand, and Joker licence controversy: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at CPA Global unveiling the latest version of its IP system, food brands being targeted by hackers, Metallica celebrating a trademark dispute win, and much more. Read more

7 Oct 2019

Time running out to nominate the world's best corporate trademark professionals

Have your say as part of the nomination process for the WTR Industry Awards 2020 and next edition of WTR 300: The World’s Leading Corporate Trademark Professionals. Read more

6 Oct 2019

TGI Fridays exclusive; new Amazon IP initiative; inside the McDonald’s brand portfolio; counterfeiting hotspots; plus much more.

Everything we covered on WTR over the last seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

4 Oct 2019

CN Tower trademark dispute, Madrid System begins in Brazil, and AAFA Amazon criticism: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at how surnames are now registrable in Saudi Arabia, controversy following a trademark being refused registration by the UKIPO, brands being urged to encourage voter registration, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
11 Oct 2019

Online betting heats up in the US with string of M&A activity

Flutter Entertainment’s acquisition of The Stars Group would show that, despite uncertainty, major players in the gambling industry see the newly liberated US as a high-growth market. Read more

10 Oct 2019

Brexit, trade wars and political turmoil: what dominated the 2019 Nation Brand report

Brand Finance has released its annual Nation Brand report, which sees notable movement from developing countries – highlighting the economic shift powered by innovation in the Middle East, Africa, Asia and Latin America. Read more

10 Oct 2019

Counterfeit hotspots in Malta that brand owners should have on their enforcement radar

In the next part of our regular series on marketplaces around the world that reportedly engage in the trade of counterfeit goods, we head to the Mediterranean island of Malta. Read more

9 Oct 2019

NBA crisis highlights the China conundrum for all brands

We speak with IP and PR experts on what brand owners must learn from the NBA's ongoing crisis in China, with one claiming that this is “the biggest trademark story of the year”. Read more

Research

View all
4 Oct 2019

As rivals take aim, McDonald’s eyes big tech to drive growth

The fast-food powerhouse has turned to machine learning tech in a bid to personalise the brand experience - however, its rivals have demonstrated that personality is as powerful as technology. Read more

27 Sep 2019

DC Comics’ day one appreciation of characters sets it up for sustained success

Age-old brands prove yet again to be a key asset as streaming wars heat up, but Batman is bigger than the digital era. Read more

21 Sep 2019

New Zealand thrives where others have failed – and it is all down to brand

The small island country has boosted its tourism by turning itself into a brand; the jurisdiction is increasingly attractive for multinational brands and it makes its presence known on the world stage. Read more

13 Sep 2019

The brand battles rage on between legacy airlines and low-cost carriers

The evolution of the air travel industry has blurred the line between premium and cost-conscious brands. There are problems for both on the horizon as social media puts reputations at risk and consumers call for more environmentally friendly modes of transportation. Read more

Insight

View all
30 Sep 2019

ECJ case law displays nuanced understanding of comparative advertising

A case from the European Court of Justice offers invaluable guidance for what is acceptable in comparative advertising, especially when it comes to comparing the prices of goods sold in different types and sizes of outlet. Read more

30 Sep 2019

China's Anti-unfair Competition Law: cracking down on malicious infringement in advertising

Recent amendments to China’s Anti-unfair Competition Law have seen legal compensation rise from Rmb3 million to Rmb5 million, which goes some way to addressing the significant cost of stopping infringement. Read more

30 Sep 2019

Building an effective enforcement strategy to fight unfair competition in advertising

In the fight against unfair marketing practices, businesses operating in Russia would be well advised to understand the correlation between unfair advertising and unfair competition and to take account of the relevant legal provisions so as to build up an effective enforcement strategy. Read more

30 Sep 2019

Unfair competition in Mexico: how to play by the rules in advertising’s commercial battles

Competitive advertising strategies should prompt healthy commercial battles and bring out the best in advertising, yet some still use advertising to confuse and mislead customers. Mexico’s unfair competition legislation defends the rights of victims to dubious advertising practices. Read more

Find an expert