The 2020 WTR Industry Awards have been revealed: time to nominate for the 2021 edition

Earlier this week we announced the winners of the 2020 WTR Industry Awards. As the celebrations continue, we now have one eye on the 2021 event and are already seeking nominations. Act now to ensure that the important work undertaken by corporate trademark professionals does not go unrecognised.

This week the winners of the WTR Industry Awards 2020 were announced via a series of online ceremonies, with winners including the trademark teams at 3M,, Daimler, Entertainment One, MF Brands Group, Tommy Hilfiger, Unilever, Verizon and Western Digital. This year’s In-house Leader of the Year was Ali Buttars, head of trademarks at Netflix. Meanwhile, the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award was Mary Boney Denison, who retired from her position as USPTO commissioner for trademarks at the end of 2019.

WTR is now once again seeking details of the corporate counsel deemed to be industry leaders, performing trademark-related duties to the highest standards, adding true value to their organisations and exemplifying the qualities that other counsel should aspire to. The nominations will be used to facilitate two projects.

First, they will form the basis of the fourth edition of WTR 300: The World’s Leading Corporate Trademark Professionals, which identifies and profiles counsel that the wider trademark community have singled out as the industry’s strategic leaders (the current edition is available here).

Second, the nominations will be used as the first step towards compiling the WTR Industry Awards 2021 shortlist. Once the nomination window is closed, WTR’s editorial team will undertake additional research and the shortlist will be revealed in Spring 2021. The winners will then be announced at an exclusive presentation ceremony.

Nominations will be held in the strictest confidence and will not be disclosed to any third parties. Recommendations must be for in-house teams and individuals – any nominations for private practice/law firm professionals will be disregarded.

The nominations window is open until 11 December 2020. Click here to access our short survey form and ensure that your peers and colleagues receive the recognition that they deserve.

Unlock unlimited access to all WTR content