Anti-Counterfeiting

Amazon launches IP Accelerator in Europe as commission reiterates plan to clarify platform obligations

The European Commission has published an IP action plan, signalling its intention to review EU legislation on design protection, strengthen the protection of GIs and oblige platforms to act on illegal content and goods.

Amazon launches IP Accelerator in Europe as commission reiterates plan to clarify platform obligations
INTA Annual Meeting highlights; IP office think tank report; USPTO fee changes; and much more
22 Nov 2020

INTA Annual Meeting highlights; IP office think tank report; USPTO fee changes; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

From the <em>WTR</em> archive: e-commerce and social media platforms expand on IP protection efforts
21 Nov 2020

From the WTR archive: e-commerce and social media platforms expand on IP protection efforts

For our latest delve into WTR’s unrivalled archive of trademark content, we present updates that take readers inside the IP protection efforts of e-commerce and social media platforms.

Latest

View all
20 Nov 2020

ARIPO elects new director general; INTA elects 2021 president; Mars acquires Kind brand – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at João Negrão being appointed president of the Boards of Appeal at the EUIPO, GoDaddy launching a new IP tool, and much more. Read more

19 Nov 2020

Inclusion in the IP profession; removing formalities requirements; UKIPO on Brexit – INTA 2020 update

As the INTA 2020 Annual Meeting draws to a close, WTR presents observations from the numerous sessions that have taken place over the past few days. Read more

17 Nov 2020

Embracing change; global blockchain trademark register; approaching brand valuation – INTA 2020 update

Over 3,000 IP professionals from across the globe are this week attending this year’s virtual INTA Annual Meeting, and WTR presents some highlights from the opening few days of the event. Read more

15 Nov 2020

Pfizer vaccine brand implications; US platforms in Notorious Markets crosshairs; Amazon influencer action; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

News

View all
14 Nov 2020

From the WTR archive: inside pharmaceutical brands

For our latest delve into WTR’s unrivalled archive of trademark content, we present a selection of articles focused on the IP issues faced by pharmaceutical companies. Read more

13 Nov 2020

EUIPO ditches fax; Century 21 brand for sale; impersonation on the rise – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at US Customs and Brand Protection intercepting a large shipment of counterfeits, Fieldfisher launching a Brexit docketing tool, the USPTO appointing a new counsel, and much more. Read more

10 Nov 2020

Supreme brand sold; Oatly trademark rejected; Panasonic launches anti-counterfeiting campaign – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Saturday Night Live riffing on the retirement of brand mascots, the American Retirement Association prevailing in an acronym dispute, and much more. Read more

8 Nov 2020

Trademark policy under Trump; sustainable brands; Asia customs strategies; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

Analysis

View all
13 Nov 2020

Amazon sues influencers over fakes, renews call for social media companies to step up

Amazon has filed a lawsuit against 13 individuals and businesses for promoting and facilitating the sale of counterfeit luxury goods in its store. Read more

11 Nov 2020

Trump’s final IP strategic plan may be non-partisan enough for Biden to keep

Legal experts argue that, in terms of IP strategy, it could be a case of ‘policy business as usual’ once Biden is ensconced in the Oval Office. Read more

10 Nov 2020

Amazon and Facebook in crosshairs as USTR submissions highlight US platforms

A number of submissions to the Office of the US Trade Representative have identified US platforms for possible inclusion in the next Notorious Markets List. Read more

4 Nov 2020

Surge in counterfeit imports into Southeast Asia: crucial customs strategies for brand owners

Exports of counterfeit goods from China are increasingly heading to Southeast Asia. This guest analysis explores the strategies that rights holders should employ. Read more

Research

View all
4 Sep 2020

The TikTok brand has gone global, which is a great feat, but now it faces a reckoning in the US

The video-sharing app is a highly attractive brand for its resonance with the Gen-Z demographic, but its relationship with China and status as a social media giant will create risks for whoever takes it on. Read more

6 Apr 2020

China’s rapid expansion: a lasting impact on the trademark landscape

Chinese filing data reveals that while trademark output may be slowing down, local IP owners are just getting started as brand values skyrocket and focus turns to foreign registers. Read more

25 Mar 2020

While ‘Tokyo 2020’ will now take place in 2021, brands will get their time to shine

The Olympics is a world-renowned brand which lends its powerful reputation to its partners and sponsors. Given its reach and reputation, the IOC does not play around with its trademark protections. Read more

21 Feb 2020

Football: a game where every brand wins

Football teams and corporates are cashing in on brand value, but a changing industry means clubs need to use new methods to continue strengthening their presence and engagement levels. Read more

Insight

View all
6 Jul 2020

How to take counterfeiters down (cheaply) during a pandemic

The economic crisis following covid-19 has pushed rights enforcement down company agendas, while unwary online consumers in lockdown make easy prey for counterfeiters. With litigation slow, costly and unlikely to succeed, there are quick and easy ways to thwart the fakers. Read more

6 Jul 2020

Challenging times: anti-counterfeiting in the age of covid-19

Locked-down consumers with heightened health worries could be easy prey for fast-acting counterfeiters. Legal authorities have foreseen some of the risks, but is the European Union sufficiently prepared for an influx of fake medicines and equipment? Read more

6 Jul 2020

Supreme People’s Court opinion directs judges to protect owners’ rights

A wide-ranging opinion recently issued by the Supreme People’s Court provides guidance on how the courts can better protect IP owners’ rights and promises to support trademark owners’ anti-counterfeiting actions. Read more

6 Jul 2020

Can we overcome counterfeiting without tackling the mindset behind it?

Trademark owners have a mountain to climb if they want local judges to grant orders to seize counterfeit goods in Turkey. Things are better at the border, but changes to judicial processes are required. Read more

Find an expert