Anti-Counterfeiting

“Pioneering at a global level” – China approves amendments to tackle bad faith filings

China’s legislature has approved amendments to the country’s trademark law, which includes a raft of changes, including empowering administrative authorities to reject malicious applications and impose fines against bad faith filers and their agents.

“Pioneering at a global level” – China approves amendments to tackle bad faith filings
24 Apr 2019

How to effectively measure return on investment in online brand protection – upcoming webinar

On Thursday 2 May, WTR will be hosting a free-to-access webinar focused on measuring the return on investment of online brand protection. Crucially, the exploration will highlight why traditional approaches may not resonate with the C-suite.

23 Apr 2019

Turkey trademark uplift, INPI announces Africa IP adviser, and China counterfeit crackdown: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at INTA and the National Trade Foundation for Education partnering up to spread the anti-counterfeiting message, a study highlights how brands need to showcase their authenticity, and much more.

Latest

View all
19 Apr 2019

Trump riffs on Game of Thrones (again), INTA gives back, and rise of heritage brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at how a slew of fake Amazon reviews are boosting brands, the Martha Stewart brand selling, KIPO assisting in IP crime enforcement, EU judges getting darknet training, and much more. Read more

18 Apr 2019

Latest free-to-view intelligence on protecting brands in the online environment now available

WTR has published the sixth edition of Online Brand Enforcement: Protecting Your Trademarks in the Electronic Environment. Available now, the free-to-view publication offers the latest guidance on brand management best practice. Read more

16 Apr 2019

Trump rebrand advice, INTA to offer free trademark legal services, and P&G sells two brands: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the USPTO unveiling details of its World IP Day event, the IP Office of the Philippines seeking to amend the country’s IP code, a ranking of most relevant brands, and much more. Read more

12 Apr 2019

Italy implements EU Trademarks Directive and further strengthens trademark protection

Legislative Decree 15/2019, which implements the EU Trademarks Directive (2015/2436), entered into force on 23 March 2019. This update reviews the main novelties that mark owners and practitioners should be aware of. Read more

News

View all
12 Apr 2019

Fake Tequila auction, ICANN to decide fate of ‘.amazon’, and EUIPO releases short movie: news digest

In our latest edition, we look at a Wine Label IP Directory being launched, AB InBev being sued by a clothing brand for trademark infringement, The PCT Network going global, and much more. Read more

9 Apr 2019

IPONZ fee changes, Estonia new online trademark system, and Game of Thrones at INTA Annual Meeting: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at Stella McCartney prevailing in a trademark dispute, Lego being named the United Kingdom’s favourite brand, the Mexican Industrial Property Office announcing a new electronic notification service, and much more. Read more

5 Apr 2019

China data to TMview this year, Brazil moves closer to Madrid, and Beckham versus Inter Milan: news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at luxury brands focused on Chinese e-commerce platforms, IP Australia opening a public consultation on fees, Red Points receiving funding injection, and much more. Read more

3 Apr 2019

 “You can’t sleep or you will fall behind”: exclusive look inside Alibaba’s fight against fakes

We sit down with Alibaba Group’s vice president and head of global intellectual property enforcement, Matthew Bassiur, to discuss Alibaba’s anti-counterfeiting activities and how it changed industry perception of its enforcement efforts. Read more

Analysis

View all
10 Apr 2019

Vietnam goes further in process to implement CPTPP requirements

In order to comply with the requirements of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership, a draft law amending certain provisions of Vietnam’s IP Law has been prepared and released for public comments.   Read more

5 Apr 2019

“Chinese superstars also dress in replicas” – perspectives from a counterfeiter in China

In a bid to shed light on the mindset of counterfeit sellers, WTR has spoken to a seller of replica goods in China about their background, motivation and strategies, offering a rare insider glimpse into this often shadowy industry.  Read more

4 Apr 2019

Trump administration has e-commerce platforms in its sights as report into counterfeiting commissioned

US President Donald Trump has issued a ‘Memorandum on Combating Trafficking in Counterfeit and Pirated Goods’, which has been characterised as a “shot across the bow” of online marketplaces.  Read more

28 Mar 2019

How Signify’s IP team undertook its global rebrand from Philips Lighting: exclusive interview

Senior IP counsel Joeri Mombers provides a detailed insider’s view of lighting giant Signify's "once in a lifetime" trademark project. Read more

Research

View all
29 Jun 2018

How brands should prepare for the big changes coming to Canada’s trademark market: exclusive data analysis

In our latest report, we delve into Canada’s trademark landscape. We examine how a major overhaul of its trademark laws may lead to a clogged up register, take a look at filing and litigation trends, and much more. Read more

11 Apr 2018

Customs concerns: counsel identify significant room for improvement in India, Iran and Turkey

Trademark counsel have had their say on the efficiency of customs authorities across the globe – with some of the largest importers of counterfeit goods giving cause for continued concern. Read more

5 Apr 2018

The online enforcement burden rises as new challenges emerge

This year’s Global Trademark Benchmarking Survey reveals that the online policing burden is intensifying, with new threats adding to the headache experienced by brand protection professionals. Read more

17 Mar 2018

Argentina’s emergency trademark law amendments and reassuring filing figures; exclusive data analysis

World Trademark Review examines the IP profile of Argentina, exploring the potential impact of the new emergency decree on trademark law, while providing a thorough breakdown on filings at the Argentine register. Read more

Insight

View all
14 Mar 2019

Online brand protection strategies for the Russian market

New challenges in a digital world dictate the necessity of adapting brand protection strategies. In the past, it was enough to deal with infringements on a case-by-case basis. However, today it is impossible to handle thousands of online infringements manually and more efficient tools (online brand protection solutions) are required. Read more

14 Mar 2019

Online brand enforcement in Italy: urgent remedies, ISP liability and arbitration

Online trademark infringement disputes in Italy are handled by the specialised judges of the IP courts, which are based in all Italian regions with the exception of Valle d’Aosta. The specialised IP courts are highly efficient, particularly in Milan and Turin, and generally allow trademark owners to obtain sound protection in a matter of a few weeks. Read more

14 Mar 2019

China’s new E-commerce Law

China’s new E-commerce Law (which entered into effect on 1 January 2019) regulates a wide array of matters, including antitrust, data protection, consumer protection, payment and delivery services, among others. However, the law’s provisions on IP protection seem to have attracted the most attention – both positive and negative. Read more

13 Nov 2018

Litigating design disputes

Designs are relevant to a wide range of products belonging to industry, fashion and crafts. As a result, counterfeiting no longer affects only trademarks, but is now increasingly affecting designs as well. Read more

Find an expert

Peter J Riebling
Partner
Washington, DC, United States
Riebling IP, PLLC