Anti-Counterfeiting

Concerns raised over India IPAB abolition; Trademark Express dispute finally ends; Florida State unveils new student-athlete NIL programme; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week.

Concerns raised over India IPAB abolition; Trademark Express dispute finally ends; Florida State unveils new student-athlete NIL programme; and much more
Fight or flight? Study finds litigation can be an effective deterrent to future counterfeiting activity
13 Apr 2021

Fight or flight? Study finds litigation can be an effective deterrent to future counterfeiting activity

A new study has looked at whether trademark litigation is an effective strategy against counterfeiters, with one of the authors telling WTR that “the legal costs of today’s litigation should be weighed against future infringement”.

We have a problem – influencers endorsing counterfeits (op-ed)
12 Apr 2021

We have a problem – influencers endorsing counterfeits (op-ed)

Kimiya Shams, legal counsel at technology company DEVIALET, reflects on the concerning trend of influencers endorsing counterfeit products.

Latest

View all
11 Apr 2021

INFORM Consumers Act row; strategic takeaways from Brand Strategy India; new WTR Special Report; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

9 Apr 2021

New measures to improve IP rights protection system - key points highlighted

A resolution issued by the Uzbek president earlier this year has introduced numerous changes in the IP field. Most importantly, all legal entities and individuals are now entitled to register trademarks and service marks. Read more

8 Apr 2021

Seven strategic takeaways from Brand Strategy India 2021

Over the past two days, WTR has hosted a number of ‘Brand Strategy India’ sessions at the IPBC India virtual event. These discussions  have offered a range of critical takeaways for rights holders. Read more

6 Apr 2021

Burger King trolls McDonald’s; INTA weighs in with EUIPO amicus brief; Mondelez and Grenade tie-up – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the CCFN welcoming the USTR’s stance on geographical indications, Brand Finance marking its silver anniversary, the Philippines taking over the ASEAN IP cooperation group, and much more. Read more

News

View all
4 Apr 2021

ICANN 70 takeaways; Nike ‘Satan Shoes’ spat; tips for well-known status in China; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

30 Mar 2021

France victorious in ‘france.com’ dispute; USPTO issues credential warning; EUIPO gets Green Apple award – news digest

In our latest round-up, we look at the UKIPO welcoming its position on the US Chamber 2021 Global IP Index, a CBD trademark spat resolving, the Chilean IP Office updating its trademark renewal system, and much more. Read more

29 Mar 2021

A Brexit headache? How changes to the UK customs recordals process impacts anti-counterfeiting strategies

In an exclusive guest post, experts at IP law firm Marks & Clerk set out trends in counterfeit seizures since Britain’s exit from the EU, and offer advice on managing applications for enforcement action. Read more

28 Mar 2021

Alibaba anti-counterfeiting success; the power of green brands; US attorney solicitation email concerns; and much more

Everything we covered on WTR over the past seven days – and all you need to know from the world of trademarks to set yourself up for the start of another busy week. Read more

Analysis

View all
5 Apr 2021

“Lawmakers shouldn’t be fooled”: war of words breaks out after e-commerce coalition opposes proposed marketplace legislation

A war of words has broken out over the INFORM Consumers Act after a new coalition of online marketplaces came out in opposition of the legislation. Read more

3 Apr 2021

Following in the footsteps of Michael Jordan, New Balance, Peppa Pig and Puma, expect more high-profile trademark decisions in China in the coming months

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we look at recent policy announcements and big decisions in China. Read more

1 Apr 2021

Practice tips for combatting counterfeiters: an action plan for brands, manufacturers and retailers

The long read: Anti-counterfeiting cannot be a spectator sport – it needs players all through the supply chain. Robert Masters, Lisa Martens and Katy Carlyle at Sheppard Mullin have drawn up a clear strategy for both first and second-line defence in the US market. Read more

27 Mar 2021

While the ‘mandatory versus voluntary’ debate continues, legislation on platform action over fake goods looms ever closer

In our latest Saturday opinion column, we reflect on the reintroduction of the US INFORM Consumers Act. Read more

Research

View all
4 Sep 2020

The TikTok brand has gone global, which is a great feat, but now it faces a reckoning in the US

The video-sharing app is a highly attractive brand for its resonance with the Gen-Z demographic, but its relationship with China and status as a social media giant will create risks for whoever takes it on. Read more

6 Apr 2020

China’s rapid expansion: a lasting impact on the trademark landscape

Chinese filing data reveals that while trademark output may be slowing down, local IP owners are just getting started as brand values skyrocket and focus turns to foreign registers. Read more

25 Mar 2020

While ‘Tokyo 2020’ will now take place in 2021, brands will get their time to shine

The Olympics is a world-renowned brand which lends its powerful reputation to its partners and sponsors. Given its reach and reputation, the IOC does not play around with its trademark protections. Read more

21 Feb 2020

Football: a game where every brand wins

Football teams and corporates are cashing in on brand value, but a changing industry means clubs need to use new methods to continue strengthening their presence and engagement levels. Read more

Insight

View all
6 Jul 2020

How to take counterfeiters down (cheaply) during a pandemic

The economic crisis following covid-19 has pushed rights enforcement down company agendas, while unwary online consumers in lockdown make easy prey for counterfeiters. With litigation slow, costly and unlikely to succeed, there are quick and easy ways to thwart the fakers. Read more

6 Jul 2020

Challenging times: anti-counterfeiting in the age of covid-19

Locked-down consumers with heightened health worries could be easy prey for fast-acting counterfeiters. Legal authorities have foreseen some of the risks, but is the European Union sufficiently prepared for an influx of fake medicines and equipment? Read more

6 Jul 2020

Supreme People’s Court opinion directs judges to protect owners’ rights

A wide-ranging opinion recently issued by the Supreme People’s Court provides guidance on how the courts can better protect IP owners’ rights and promises to support trademark owners’ anti-counterfeiting actions. Read more

6 Jul 2020

Can we overcome counterfeiting without tackling the mindset behind it?

Trademark owners have a mountain to climb if they want local judges to grant orders to seize counterfeit goods in Turkey. Things are better at the border, but changes to judicial processes are required. Read more