Analysis: Market

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands

In this week’s opinion column, we consider how law firms can future-proof their trademark practices.

How the evolution of ‘trademark counsel’ to ‘brand professionals’ will significantly impact service demands
17 Sep 2018

Trademark litigation remains flat in 2018 as Central District of California continues to be ‘go-to’ venue

Lex Machina has reported that 2,745 trademark litigation cases have been filed in the US so far this year. Therefore, the projected total for year-end  indicates that filings will remain flat after a near-decade of decline.

14 Sep 2018

“There is no one-size-fits-all approach to enforcement” – exclusive interview with Mars Inc’s Sophie Anger

In an in-depth discussion with Sophie Anger, associate general counsel of marketing properties for the global petcare unit of Mars Incorporated, she offers enforcement tips, explains how efficiency is her guiding principle, and much more.

Latest

View all
6 Sep 2018

Burberry scraps anti-counterfeiting product destruction; will more brands follow suit?

Fashion giant Burberry announced today that it will stop the practice of “destroying unsaleable products” with immediate effect. Could the move lead to other brands in the luxury sector to cease the practice of product destruction? Read more

3 Sep 2018

“Negative for business and consumers” – GI association slams Brexit negotiations and possible no-deal scenario

oriGIn has released a strongly-worded statement calling for Brexit negotiators on both sides to preserve GIs as part of the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union. Read more

3 Sep 2018

Plain packaging in India moves closer following Supreme Court decision and upcoming amendments

In the coming days, new governmental amendment rules in India are set to take effect that, according to one expert, suggest that a move towards full plain packaging in the country is only a matter of time. Read more

30 Aug 2018

New leadership, new challenges? Industry insights on EUIPO operations

With the EUIPO looking towards a future under new leadership, we asked practitioners for their take on the office’s current operations and activities, and the challenges that the new management will face. Read more

24 Aug 2018

A-Z guide of EU trademark court practice and performance: Ireland to Lithuania

In the third of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the last two years. Read more

23 Aug 2018

Making the right choice: an A-Z of EU trademark court practice and performance

In the first of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the past two years. Read more

17 Aug 2018

Chile punches well above its weight from a trademark and branding perspective: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s country data report, we examine the major trademark trends in the Chilean market. We show that both domestic and foreign filings are stable, reveal the most valuable brands in the country, and analyse the key trademark classes used for both inbound and outbound applications.   Read more

17 Aug 2018

A-Z guide of EU trademark court practice and performance: Spain to UK

In the final part of our series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the last two years. Read more

17 Aug 2018

A-Z guide of EU trademark court practice and performance: Finland to Hungary

In the second of our five-part series, trademark counsel from law firms across Europe provide an overview of the performance of their countries’ EU trademark courts over the last two years. Read more

16 Aug 2018

“What I saw in China 8 years ago, I am now seeing in Brazil”: insights from New Balance’s brand protection lead

We speak to Daniel McKinnon, head of global brand protection at New Balance, about his approach to trademark enforcement, “paltry” damages awarded in China, the problems of “parasite brands”, and much more. Read more

15 Aug 2018

Reputational risks on free speech social network Gab; research reveals scale of brand misuse

Research from World Trademark Review has found that many major brand names have been registered on "free speech social network" Gab, with related pages sometimes featuring homophobic and racist content. Read more

10 Aug 2018

Food delivery marks on the rise, as Starbucks leads the way in restaurant brand filings: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report we look at the food service industry. We reveal that Starbucks has the most robust trademark portfolio in the industry, the rise in 'food delivery' applications, and more. Read more

8 Aug 2018

AI boosts counterfeit seizures in Hong Kong; expert claims focus should be on small package detection

​​​​​​Customs authorities in Hong Kong have managed to increase the seizure rate of fake goods by one-third in the first half of 2018 thanks to the use of artificial intelligence. Read more

4 Aug 2018

Spanish filers look to the EUIPO over China, as local trademark market shows signs of stagnancy: exclusive data analysis

In our latest country data report, we turn our spotlight to Spain. We reveal that smaller brands may have an especially tough time flourishing there, analyse key filing trends both domestically and abroad, and much more. Read more

2 Aug 2018

Parallel imports remain a grey area for IP rights in East Africa

Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda each have different legal approaches to the treatment of parallel imports, making generalisations dangerous for trademark owners and importers alike. Read more

27 Jul 2018

Outstanding improvement in aerospace brands despite a fall in application numbers: exclusive data analysis

In our latest data report, we examine the top brands, industry trends, and filing data in the aerospace and defence sector - revealing a marked shift from vehicle-related applications to software and research. Read more

17 Jul 2018

Next steps for brand protection in a post-GDPR world: trademark takeaways from ICANN 62

The recent ICANN meeting in Panama saw the impact of the GDPR on WHOIS access take centre stage. In this exclusive guest post, Brian J Winterfeldt, president of ICANN’s Intellectual Property Constituency, discusses the key takeaways for trademark owners. Read more

13 Jul 2018

Madrid System fails to have an impact for local filers: an analysis of the Indonesian trademark market

In this country data report, we hone in on the fast-growing Indonesian trademark market, revealing that the country’s recent accession to the Madrid Protocol has had little impact on local filers, while US applicants have been making the most of the new filing option. Read more

12 Jul 2018

Corruption and weak IP legislation identified as main drivers of counterfeit trade

​​​​​​​The main drivers that determine the likelihood of a country being involved in the trade of counterfeit goods have been identified by a new report from the European Union Intellectual Property Office. Read more

11 Jul 2018

Cristiano Ronaldo to Juventus, LeBron James to LA Lakers: the brand perspective on major sporting moves

​​​​​​​The last week has seen NBA legend LeBron James and football superstar Cristiano Ronaldo signing lucrative new deals. Experts say that the strong commercial brand of both players will justify the big dollars being spent. Read more

10 Jul 2018

Time for non-tobacco brands to take the threat of plain packaging more seriously

In the first of a new regular opinion column, the onward march of plain packaging is examined. In the face of seemingly unstoppable momentum, now is the time to consider whether brands will remain on the sidelines or make their voices heard. Read more

6 Jul 2018

Google and Amazon eye hospitality sector as hotel brands diversify their filing strategies: exclusive data analysis

In our latest industry-focused data report, we put the spotlight on the hospitality market, honing in on the hotel sector in particular. We reveal the top hotel brands, how the industry is diversifying, and much more. Read more

26 Jun 2018

Riding the tidal wave: USPTO faces 10% rise in trademark applications

With a 10% rise in trademark applications mostly spurred by Chinese filings flooding the USPTO in 2017, questions have been raised about whether the office can cope with this influx – both now and in the future. Read more

25 Jun 2018

From obscure speciality to breaking news: GIs under the spotlight

Geographical indications have hit the headlines in recent months, with mainstream debate grappling the extent of their protection – but why have they become such a hot political issue? Read more

22 Jun 2018

Rising sales, healthy filings and new opportunities in the dynamic cosmetics sector: exclusive data analysis

In this week’s industry data report, we provide a rundown of the cosmetics market from a branding perspective. We take a big picture look at sales growth and key trends and reveal that technology trademark filings are on the rise among major brands. Read more

21 Jun 2018

Bitcoin, CNN and Elon Musk under attack: how scammers are stepping up their game

​​​​​​​An investigation from World Trademark Review has explored the evolving tactics of misleading and often malicious websites that pose as articles from well-known news outlets, with common trends including the use of cryptocurrency and Elon Musk to lure in users. Read more

21 Jun 2018

ICANN unveils framework for future WHOIS access; cost and compliance uncertainty remains

Last night, ICANN kicked off its effort to minimise the impact of the GDPR on those with a legitimate interest in accessing WHOIS data – but questions remain, not least over likely costs. Read more

View all

Find an expert