Building on success: IPONZ 2018 in review

Already a leader in terms of online offerings, the IP Office of New Zealand is now seeking to maximise business IP awareness in order to allow companies to make the most of their intellectual property.

Building on success: IPONZ 2018 in review
17 Dec 2018

Building for the future

Trademark practices of the future will be very different to those of today. We take a look at what law firms can – and should – do to ensure that they stay ahead of the game.

14 Dec 2018

Amazon, Brexit, Christian Louboutin, Gleissner, WHOIS: our 2018 most-read list

With the year drawing to a close, it is time to take a look back at the stories which received the most reads over the past 12 months. Our top 20 list serves as a reminder of the big challenges trademark counsel faced in 2018. 

Featured

14 Dec
2018

Vietnam’s industrial property-related procedures further clarified

Circular 16 was implemented in Vietnam in January 2018. Almost one year later, the Vietnam IP Office has issued two notifications, which provide further guidance on industrial property-related procedures. The notifications aim to clarify uncertainties in the circular, in particular the procedures for applications filed pre-Circular 16 and the signing date for powers of attorney. Read more

14 Dec
2018

General Court annuls two EUIPO decisions in Louis Vuitton cases

In Louis Vuitton Malletier v EUIPO, the General Court has annulled the EUIPO Fourth Board of Appeal’s decisions in two cases on the grounds that they violated Articles 8(5) and 75 of the EU Trademark Regulation. Read more

14 Dec
2018

A small step and a giant leap for the Latvian Patent Office

Over the past year, creating a new legislative reality and increasing quality have been core focuses for the Latvian Patent Office. Read more

News

View all
14 Dec 2018

Samsung teams up with fake Supreme, new US Army IP policy, and EUIPO removes TMview contact details: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at how the US government is seeking to confiscate a biker gang’s trademarks, how most intellectual property in Africa is “unregistered”, and much more. Read more

11 Dec 2018

UAE counterfeit seizures, Brazil predicted for 2019 Madrid accession, and Lacoste scores big win: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at new gTLDs on the rise, consumer trust in big brands, a General Court decision involving TMview, considering a trademark audit, and much more. Read more

10 Dec 2018

Final chance to make nominations for the WTR Industry Awards 2019

The nomination window for the WTR Industry Awards and WTR 300 closes on Tuesday 11 December. Act now to let us know who you regard as the world's leading in-house trademark professionals.  Read more

7 Dec 2018

Turkey plain packaging, WIPO praises Pakistan IPO and '.amazon' up in the air: news round-up

In our latest round-up, we look at a tussle over BRENT marks in Singapore, a "worrying trend" of retail fakes in Papua New Guinea, a new UK IP minister, and much more. Read more

Analysis

View all
14 Dec 2018

Brands in the Nordics embrace change as filings remain steady: exclusive data analysis 

In our latest data report, we look at Sweden, Norway, Denmark and Finland, and reveal how the leading brands in each country are having to adapt their business tactics to maintain a competitive edge in a changing market. Read more

13 Dec 2018

“Sometimes you need a firm that will shoot from the hip”: insights from 7-Eleven’s Allison McDade

In an exclusive interview, Allison McDade shared her approach to tackling imitation convenience stores in Asia and explained the challenges stemming from the company’s expansion. Read more

13 Dec 2018

Into the grey: fighting unauthorised imports

The grey market is a worldwide phenomenon. While trademark law offers remedies, there need to be material differences between grey-market and authorised goods – which is not always the case. Read more

12 Dec 2018

The brokers are coming: why you will hear more about IP insurance in the coming year

In our latest opinion column, we turned our attention to IP insurance and risk management, which has been grabbing headlines in recent weeks. While much of the coverage has focused on patent-related offerings, we argued that brands will be a future battlefield for brokers seeking new customer bases. Read more

Legal updates

13 Dec 2018

SAPI takes controversial action to tackle trademark backlog

The Venezuelan IP Agency (SAPI) has published an official request that trademark owners and applicants with pending trademark decisions confirm their interest in continuing proceedings. The move aims to tackle the backlog of cases awaiting a decision. Read more

13 Dec 2018

Sweden aligns Trademarks Act with EU regulations

The Riksdag has voted in favour of modernising the Swedish Trademarks Act, basing amendments on EU trademark laws. The changes cover many aspects of trademark legislation from presenting a mark, filing dates and counterfeit goods to requirements on genuine use of a mark. Read more

12 Dec 2018

The EUIPO Boards of Appeal go ‘exxtra deep’ in crisp manufacturer case

The General Court has annulled a decision from the EUIPO Fourth Board of Appeal to dismiss an appeal over the mark EXXTRA DEEP. The court held that the board erred in failing to conclude that the contested mark had descriptive character for vegetable and potato products for snacks in Class 29. Read more

12 Dec 2018

Modifications in Chilean industrial property law

The Chilean government has filed a bill in Congress that amends important chapters of the Industrial Property Law. While these changes still need revising they will help to bring Chile into line with international treaties and modern legislation. Read more

11 Dec 2018

CJEU judgment on ALCOLOCK case rejects Brexit stay argument

The Court of Justice of the European Union has handed down judgment in an appeal brought by Alcohol Countermeasure Systems Inc. The decision dealt with genuine use of a trademark but also considered the impact of Brexit on EU proceedings where one party relies on a UK registered trademark only. Read more

Insight

12 Sep 2018

The future of trademarks

Global brand owners face increasing challenges in protecting, managing and enforcing their IP rights. These include challenges arising from new technologies, new business models and new markets. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Japan

 The Examination Guidelines for Trademarks also play an important role in the examination of trademark applications at the Japan Patent Office (JPO). The most recent revisions to the examination guidelines took place in April 2017, which include clarifying the criteria for judging the similarities between trademarks. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Italy

Italy has a first-to-file system, therefore unregistered trademarks enjoy a lesser degree of protection than registered trademarks. Only in exceptional circumstances can an unregistered trademark prevail over a later registered trademark. Read more

12 Sep 2018

Trademark procedures and strategies: Israel

While the Trademark Ordinance predominantly provides protection for registered trademarks, it also protects unregistered well-known trademarks. Read more

Events

View all
3 Dec
2018
Latest

Brand Strategy China 2018

Building on the huge success of the events in 2016 and 2017, World Trademark Review is proud to announce the return of Brand Strategy China to the Ritz-Carlton Hotel Shanghai, Pudong.

2-4 Dec
2018
Latest

IPBC Asia 2018

The Asia-Pacific region is cementing its position as the focus point for the international IP market as its rapid development drives deal making, IP investment and litigation trends. Against this background, IAM is pleased to be returning to Shanghai for the sixth IPBC Asia, hosted at the Ritz-Carlton Pudong on December 2 to 4 2018.

28 Jan
2019
Latest

Managing Trademark Assets Europe 2019

As brands grow, new markets open up, the online world expands and social media presence is enhanced, both opportunities and infringement result. But while responsibilities grow, for many resources and budgets do not. World Trademark Review’s Managing Trademark Assets Europe will provide insights and best practice for cost-effectively managing trademark portfolios.

Data centre

Research projects tracking the latest market trends for trademark professionals.

Thought leadership

World Trademark Review offers an extensive range of special reports.

Why subscribe?

Our unique and timely intelligence service informs commercial trademark decision making in boardrooms globally by translating trademark law into business sense.