Jack Ellis

It’s that time of year when our sister title IAM invites the global IP community to make its nominations for the IP Hall of Fame’s annual intake. The latest members, selected from your nominees, will be formally inducted at IPBC Global 2017 in Ottawa, Canada, this June.

The IP Hall of Fame was launched by IAM in 2006 to honour those individuals who have made a lasting difference and have well and truly left their mark on the world of IP. Past inductees come from diverse backgrounds, and include lawyers, judges, business executives, dealmakers, inventors, educators, politicians and campaigners. Last year, the IP Hall of Fame welcomed principal director of patent law and multilateral affairs at the European Patent Office Margot Fröhlinger, the China State IP Office’s first and longest-serving commissioner Gao Lulin, and trade secrets expert and former WIPO deputy director general James Pooley as its newest members.

A number of the trademark world’s brightest and best have made it into the IP Hall of Fame. In 2015, INTA past president and former Richemont chief IP counsel Frederick Mostert was inducted; the previous year saw the initiation of Canadian trademark law doyen Daniel Bereskin. Former INTA executive director Alan Drewsen – widely credited with being instrumental in growing the organisation from a national trade association into a global one – was inducted in 2012, alongside then-USPTO director David Kappos and veteran trademark jurist J Thomas McCarthy. Famed trademark lawyers to have made the grade include Dolores Hanna, Miles Alexander, Stephen Ladas and Peter Dirk Siemsen

If you have anyone in mind who you think could and should join the likes of the above in the IP Hall of Fame this year, then you can nominate them here. Nominees can work in any field, in any area of IP, and can be living or deceased. You can make as many nominations as you wish (self-nominations, or those deemed to be purely promotional in nature, will not be accepted).

Once the nomination period closes on Sunday, March 12, all valid submissions will be sent to the IP Hall of Fame Academy – which is made up of past inductees and several other acknowledged global IP thought leaders – for consideration. Based on the nominations it receives, the Academy will then name its 2017 inductees for the IP Hall of Fame.

If you experience any technical difficulties while attempting to submit your nominations, or if you have any other queries, please contact IAM senior reporter Sara-Jayne Clover at sclover@GlobeBMG.com.


Please log in or register to leave a comment.

There are no comments on this article

Share this article