Trevor Little

Following last night's exclusive champagne reception and presentations at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Barcelona, World Trademark Review is delighted to reveal the winners at this year’s WTR Industry Awards. Among those honoured were teams and professionals from BMW, Intel, Marriott International, Nike, PepsiCo, Specsavers, the National Association of Realtors and Twitter.

Now in their eleventh year, the awards recognise the vitally important work carried out by in-house trademark counsel, and identify those teams and individuals that are performing their functions to the highest possible standards. In addition to the team based awards, two awards are bestowed on individuals. You can view photos from the evening here.

J Scott Evans, associate general counsel at Adobe, picked up the award for in-house counsel of the year. In addition to his daily role at Adobe, and having completed his duties as 2015 president of the International Trademark Association, Evans remained an ever-present presence on the trademark scene last year, engaging in a number of speaking opportunities and continuing to advocate for rights holders at the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement recipient was presented to Anne Gundelfinger. Currently vice president, global intellectual property at Swarovski AG in Switzerland, Gundelfinger has an extensive in-house background, having built and managed the trademark function at Sun Microsystems, before doing the same at Intel Corporation. A past president of the International Trademark Association, she has also served as chair of the Coalition for Intellectual Property Rights and was one of the authors of the US Trademark Dilution Revision Act, 2006. She was presented the award by last year’s recipient, Frederick Mostert, a past president of the International Trademark Association and former chief IP counsel of luxury group Richemont.

World Trademark Review congratulates both the award winners and the shortlisted teams and individuals. Thanks also to our sponsors for all their assistance in hosting such a memorable event.

For photos and reactions from the event, search for the hashtag #WTRAwards on Twitter.

The winners in full are:

Asia-Pacific Team of the Year

Burberry Asia

Europe, Middle East and Africa Team of the Year


Latin America Team of the Year

Sky International

North America Team of the Year

World Wrestling Entertainment

Fashion, Cosmetics & Luxury Goods Team of the Year

Maus Frères

Financial & Professional Services Team of the Year

American International Group

Food, Beverages & Tobacco Team of the Year


Healthcare & Life Sciences Team of the Year

Novartis Pharma

Household & Consumer Goods Team of the Year

Inter IKEA Holding Services

Internet & Telecommunications Team of the Year


Not-for-Profit Organisation Team of the Year

The National Association of Realtors

Software & Online Services Team of the Year


Sports, Entertainment & Media Team of the Year


Technology & Consumer Electronics Team of the Year

Western Digital

Travel & Leisure Team of the Year

Marriott International

Vehicles & Transport Team of the Year


In-house Counsel of the Year

J Scott Evans, Adobe Systems

Lifetime Achievement

Anne Gundelfinger


Please log in or register to leave a comment.

There are no comments on this article

Share this article