Trevor Little

Last night, taking a short break from the kind hospitality of others to play host ourselves, WTR celebrated the good work being carried out by in-house counsel. Following the champagne reception  and presentations at the stunning Belo Mansion, we can now reveal the winners for this year’s WTR Industry Awards.

Among those honoured were teams from The Association of American Medical Colleges, GlaxoSmithKline, Grupo Televisa, Christian Louboutin, Jack Daniel’s Properties, Merck & Co, Inc and Twitter.

The lifetime achievement award was handed to Shell Oil Company’s Kimbley L Muller by last year’s winner, INTA’s Alan Drewsen. A past president of the International Trademark Association (and recipient of INTA President’s Award in 2008), Muller has also served as president of the Houston Intellectual Property Law Association and chair of the Patent, Trademark and Copyright Section of State Bar of Texas.

Apple’s Thomas La Perle picked up the award for in-house counsel of the year.

Pictures from the ceremony are available on WTR’s dedicated Flickr page. The winners in full are:

Asia-Pacific Team of the Year
Billabong International

Europe, Middle East & Africa Team of the Year

Latin America Team of the Year
Grupo Televisa

North America Team of the Year
Beam Inc

Fashion, Cosmetics & Luxury Goods Team of the Year
Christian Louboutin

Financial & Professional Services Team of the Year

Food, Beverages & Tobacco Team of the Year
Jack Daniel’s Properties

Healthcare & Life Sciences Team of the Year
Merck & Co, Inc

Household & Consumer Goods Team of the Year
Inter IKEA Holding Services SA

Internet & Telecommunications Team of the Year

Not-for-profit Team of the Year
Association of American Medical Colleges

Software & Online Services Team of the Year

Sport, Entertainment & Media Team of the Year

Technology & Consumer Electronics Team of the Year
Honeywell International

Travel & Leisure Team of the Year
Starwood Hotels and Resorts

Vehicles & Transport Team of the Year
Ford Global Technologies LLC

In-house Counsel of the Year
Thomas La Perle - Apple

Lifetime Achievement Award
Kimbley L Muller


Please log in or register to leave a comment.

There are no comments on this article

Share this article